We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably will stop there again”
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Staunton
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We needed a pet friendly place to stop for the night. This was a good place to get some rest on our journey. The room was acceptably clean. The breakfast was good; the staff was friendly. Because we generally travel with a pet, our choices of places to stay are limited.... but this was a good place for us.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bettyjunekauffman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid_AtlanticMichele, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us. It is our pleasure to be a pet-friendly hotel. We understand how important it is for folks to be able to travel with their pets and find good quality lodging. After all, pets are part of the family! We are so pleased to hear that your room was clean, our staff was friendly and you enjoyed the complimentary breakfast in the morning. These are three of our top priorities.

We appreciate you sharing your experience with others on TripAdvisor. We look forward to welcoming you back again the next time you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (294)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 294 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2013

and it seems the quality of the hotel has gone a bit downhill. We had two rooms and my room was fine but the other room had a bathroom so small that you had to sit on the toilet to close the bathroom door. Also there was something on the rug which turned the bottom of their socks very dark. Not sure what that was. It's still a good stay for the price (senior rate) and I would stay there again. Internet connection is great! Breakfast area needs to be reconfigured because it's very small and congested. Grandson loved the pool, no bugs and the popcorn was great!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Stormy, the breakfast hostess, greeted me with a big smile and warm welcome immediately when I entered the breakfast room. She is an outstandingly friendly person and attentively looked after the area. Her attitude defines "hospitality" and she can go as far as she wants in this industry.

Room Tip: Clip the coupon from the state hotels booklet for a great value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joannen569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid_AtlanticMichele, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at our hotel. We are so pleased to read that you received such a warm and hospitable welcome from our breakfast hostess! Welcoming our guests as if they were a guest in our own home is one of our top priorities! Thank you so much for taking the time to compliment Stormy...we are thrilled to hear that she got your morning off to such a great start! We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

This place was one of the only hotels in the area with a room available. I'm not normally one to stay at any of the Choice Hotels (I'm more of a Hampton Inn/Holiday Inn or classier kind of person). The staff was friendly. The hotel was sort of clean.
Our room, even though it was non-smoking, smelled of smoke--particularly the bathroom. The hotel overall did not smell very good.
As we were leaving to go to eat, a very creepy guy who looked stoned came walking down the hall.
The breakfast, however was good. It did not have a huge selection, but there was a selection of warm foods (waffles, bagels, eggs, etc.).
I do not believe that I will be back to a Comfort Inn any time soon.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ACee1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

My family and I stayed here for one night on our way home from Williamsburg. After coming from a less-than-stellar hotel the previous two nights, this place was a welcome improvement. The location was decent, the room was a bit more spacious than usual, everything seemed clean, and they offered free popcorn in the lobby in the evening! My only complaint was that the breakfast could have been just a little bit better (I should clarify that; the breakfast wasn't bad at all, it just would have been better if they had offered real scrambled eggs instead of those little egg circles; other than that, it was just fine).

If you're looking for a decent place to spend a night, this just might be your spot.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CentralIllinoisGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid_AtlanticMichele, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback about your recent stay at our hotel. We are pleased to hear that you found your room to be spacious and clean. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the freshly popped popcorn in the lobby - this is a special treat that many of our guests enjoy! We appreciate your feedback regarding the eggs on our breakfast buffet. Providing a great complimentary breakfast for our guests in the morning is one of our top priorities.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your positive experience with others on TripAdvisor. We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Great stop-over location but could use a little more attention from management. Clean, friendly, reasonable rates. But, 5th floor storage room had broken door knob hanging off door. Toilet seat in room was mismatched; extra long seat on a round bowl. Cleaning staff failed to fully close doors to two vacant rooms after cleaning.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChrisR11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

I stayed here in April for a short getaway to Staunton and I would stay here again in a heart beat. The staff was courteous and attentive, and at 9:30 am, the breakfast selection was still good. Its not walkable to downtown Staunton, but its right off I-81 and about a 5 minute drive to downtown. I slept well - great bedding and I did not hear the interstate It was very busy when I was there in April - so it is advisable to make reservations first if you know you will be staying in Staunton.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claudia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid_AtlanticMichele, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Thanks so much for taking a moment to give us feedback about your stay with us in April. We are so happy to hear that our staff was so courteous and attentive and that you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast buffet in the morning. Great to hear that you had a restful night's sleep - that is so important after a long day on the road. We are thrilled to hear that you would stay with us again in a hear beat - what a great compliment! We are looking forward to your next visit! Thanks so much for taking the time to share your positive experience with others on TripAdvisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Staunton hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Staunton Inn
Best Western Staunton Inn
#3 of 14 in Staunton
925 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sleep Inn Staunton
Sleep Inn Staunton
#4 of 14 in Staunton
394 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#6 of 14 in Staunton
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Staunton Conference Center
2.2 mi away
Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center
2.5 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn Staunton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 1302 Richmond Ave, Staunton, VA 24401-9100
Location: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Staunton
Price Range: $97 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the Shenandoah Valley on Interstate 81, the Comfort Inn® hotel in Staunton is surrounded by the majestic Blue Ridge Mountains. This Virginia hotel is near Frontier Culture Museum, Mary Baldwin College, Woodrow Wilson Presidential Library and Blue Ridge Parkway scenic drive. Additional points of interest near the Staunton Comfort Inninclude Blackfriars Playhouse, Skyline Drive, Natural Chimneys and Grand Caverns, P. Buckley Moss Museum, and James Madison University.Local businesses minutes from the hotel include DuPont,Genicom, Hershey's Chocolate, McKee Foods and the Virginia Military Institute. While in Staunton, be sure to visit the quaint antique shops, local restaurants and lounges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Staunton
Comfort Inn Staunton
Staunton Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing