We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“nice place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Comfort Inn
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Staunton
tewksbury. nj.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“nice place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

stayed here last week after sandy visted new jersey. after being without heat water or power for more then a week this was a great treat. we stayed over on our way to our florida home. a soft warm bed and a luxury shower was a real thrill. friendly front desk and a good included breakfast made this a welcome stop. great motel.

Room Tip: dont order from dominos, but every pizza lover probably knows this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bifrank13g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    79
    45
    28
    15
See reviews for
85
81
25
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chesapeake, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
74 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

Cynthia the breakfast hostess was very attentive and did all she could to assure a delicious morning experience. The food was well prepared, hot and fresh. All in all, a great breakfast to start the day.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid_AtlanticMichele, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you for posting a review about your recent Comfort Inn Staunton stay. So nice to hear that Cynthia, our complimentary hot breakfast buffet hostess, was able to take such good care of you in both attentiveness and with "well prepared, hot and fresh" food. Our guests do enjoy the abundance of choices and it is indeed a great breakfast to start the day. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian Trail, North Carolina
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

From the staff that regestered us, to everyone that helped us or greeted us. It was a very nice experience. At breakfast (Cynthia the hostess) was so nice and was doing a wonderful job of keeping every thing clean, fresh and with a cheerful attitude. We will surely be staying with you
again. We always stay at Comfort Inns when they available.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mattie724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid_AtlanticMichele, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you for sharing with us your lovely comments about your recent stay at the Comfort Inn Staunton. It is so nice to hear that our staff was able to "wow" you with their service during your stay. Our goal is that all of our guests feel like they are in a home away from home and we enjoyed sharing with the staff your overall comment that your "stay was excellent" as well as your compliments specifically to Cynthia as she took care of the complimentary hot breakfast buffet and that in general the whole team seemed to take great care of you. Thank you again and we hope that you are able to visit again, soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

Convenient location, older building needs an update and New Matresses. The matresses are very uncomfortable,as the springs can be felt when sitting or lying on the beds . No anti slip mat in bathtub. Shower handle needs replacement as it is difficult to control the shower water temperature Dead insects on window sill.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greyscale99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid_AtlanticMichele, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. We would like to apologize that your guest room did not meet your expectations. We have high standards for cleanliness and preventative maintenance of our guest rooms and the public areas of the hotel. Unfortunately, we seem to have really missed the mark with your stay with us. We have shared your feedback with our housekeeping and maintenance staff. Our staff and management team take all guest feedback very seriously and we will be reviewing our room inspection procedures to ensure that future guests do not encounter these types of concerns.
We have been pleased with recently completed upgrades to our hotel including carpeting and bedding, etc., and will continue to take guest comments such as yours into consideration as we annually review ways to enhance our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beattyville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
155 reviews
152 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

When I made my reservation online a few days before my planned stay, I got the next to the last room available here. Most of the hotels in the Staunton area were full or nearing capacity, and prices were higher than what I would expect. I chose to cash in a free Choice Privileges night and stay here. I am glad I did. I don't know where the people writing negative reviews stayed, because the hotel they are describing does not describe the place I stayed.

When I arrived the desk clerk was busy, checking in guests, answering the phone and turning away walk-ins because they were full. The combination of home James Madison and UVa football games, contractors, two wedding parties and fall foliage season had filled up everything in the area. My room was already assigned and they had honored my request for a first-floor room.

The room was clean, beds were comfortable and the wi-fi worked great. The refrigerator also worked well. I was unable to test out the water pressure because I had to depart early the next morning and opted not to shower. I also did not have time to eat breakfast, but it looked good. (Biscuits & gravy, yummy).

One problem, but it really didn't bother me. Sometime during the night, the breaker which controlled the bathroom and front entrance light blew. The lights would not turn on, but that was no big deal because I was able to see well enough to brush my teeth and wash my face the next morning. When I checked out the clerk said the room next door had needed a breaker reset, so it's quite possible my lights would have come on after that.

One person griping on Foursquare claimed they had bedbugs, but I saw absolutely no evidence of this.

I get the feeling this is an older hotel that's undergone a substantial remodeling, inside and out.

There's a Waffle House next door (24-hour food) and plenty of other shopping and dining options nearby (Walmart, Chili's, Sheetz, Five Guys and others), and this hotel is right off I-81.

Depending on the price, I would definitely consider staying here again. I probably wouldn't pay event-weekend prices here but would use a free night, or would pay regular prices on a non-event weekend. I didn't have the problems the two most recent reviewers before me had. I'd definitely recommend this place to anyone staying in Staunton.

Room Tip: Reserve a room early if you plan to stay here. They go quickly!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank millenniumhwy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid_AtlanticMichele, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed and complimentary review of your recent stay at the Comfort Inn Staunton. While we appreciate all guest feedback, even when difficult to hear, it is especially gratifying to hear when a guest has enjoyed their stay and that you would "definitely recommend this place to anyone staying in Staunton". That is perhaps the highest of compliments! Thank you for your compliment to housekeeping and bed comfort and our high speed internet service. It is a shame that you were unable to partake of the complimentary hot breakfast buffet - perhaps on your next visit! As you noted, we have undergone substantial property upgrades and are committed to annually reviewing opportunities for more enhancements at the hotel. The hotel location is great - just off I-81 - and in addition to the restaurants you mentioned, we are privileged to have many fine dining restaurants located further downtown. Thank you again for your wonderful review - it has been shared with our staff as an encouragement to keep on keeping on! Please visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

This is a tired facility. It is moldy and unclean. The bedding is old-fashioned and poor. The wi-fi doesn't work and the HVAC is lame. The television selections do not include CNN.

The woman at the front desk is friendly, pleasant and helpful but the facility itself leaves much to be desired.

Would not recommend!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CrazyAboutWalking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Stayed at the Comfort Inn this weekend. The floors in the lobby were dirty with popcorn. When we checked in there was only one employee in the hotel - the front desk clerk. Her job was to take care of anything wrong in the hotel. The phone was ringing at the front desk when we arrived and Alex ( front desk clerk) told us she does not have the time to answer the phone when we suggested she answer it. Our room was musty smelling, and the wall AC unit was in need of replacement. Parts for the AC unit were lying on the floor. The window is designed to be opened however; they caulk it shut for some reason. A poor repair job was done on the ceiling - you could see the drywall joint form one side of the room to the other. The toilet in order to flush required the handle be held down until the water went down. Really thought any waste was going to wind up on the bathroom floor. No or poor ventilation in the bathroom. Black mold on the ceiling above the tub, Handicap bar in the shower was loose. I would only stay at this hotel again if nothing else was available in the area. Based on the condition of the hotel the price was not worth the value.

Room Tip: Try someplace else first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank palelae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Staunton hotels
0.6 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#4 of 16 in Staunton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
0.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Staunton
Red Roof Inn Staunton
#6 of 16 in Staunton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#5 of 16 in Staunton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Staunton
Hampton Inn Staunton
#1 of 16 in Staunton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn
BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn
#3 of 16 in Staunton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
2.2 mi away
Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Property: Comfort Inn
Address: 1302 Richmond Ave, Staunton, VA 24401-9100
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Staunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the Shenandoah Valley on Interstate 81, the Comfort Inn® hotel in Staunton is surrounded by the majestic Blue Ridge Mountains. This Virginia hotel is near Frontier Culture Museum, Mary Baldwin College, Woodrow Wilson Presidential Library and Blue Ridge Parkway scenic drive. Additional points of interest near the Staunton Comfort Inninclude Blackfriars Playhouse, Skyline Drive, Natural Chimneys and Grand Caverns, P. Buckley Moss Museum, and James Madison University.Local businesses minutes from the hotel include DuPont,Genicom, Hershey's Chocolate, McKee Foods and the Virginia Military Institute. While in Staunton, be sure to visit the quaint antique shops, local restaurants and lounges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Choice Hotels and Odigeo so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Staunton
Comfort Inn Staunton
Staunton Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing