We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You could do worse, or better.”
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Staunton
Reviewed May 22, 2011

This was a one-night stopover on a 10 day vacation. There is nothing wrong with this hotel--the room was perfectly clean (and I'm a neat freak), everyone was nice, and the price was decent. However, the hotel also sits next to a railroad track, and by next to, I mean that I could have jumped from my window on to a speeding train, if I were being chased by zombies.

Since I grew up living near railroad tracks, trains don't bother me; in fact, I think hearing them helps me sleep. But if you aren't used to the noise, it might drive you batty. And the decor is green. Not pale green, not hunter green--violent green. I hate green. But that's just me.

Room Tip: Ask for one away from the train tracks!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BabeinWoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (288)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

247 - 253 of 288 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2011

The staff was great on check in and with the breakfast service. Bathroom was very small, door just clears the toilet small. Tub drained slow due to a prior hair clog. Bed was firm. Trains run three or four times anight right outback. Easy access to I81 and a few good resturants. Not a bad stop over for a night.

Room Tip: ask for a room away from the railroad tracks
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gcassady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2011

This hotel was clean...it was nice in the bedroom.-the hotel stay was friendly and helpful and kind..there was a Starbucks across the street- however...trains went by all night waking us up and I have never had such a horrible night's sleep my whole life! Also there was no workout room...I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tripmom4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid_AtlanticMichele, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2011

It is never easy to get less-than-complimentary feedback on a guest's experience at our hotel. However, all feedback is welcomed as it can be used to better enhance the guest experience for future stays.

Thank you for your very nice comments about our rooms and our staff. We do agree that we are privileged to have very hospitable staff that really enjoy taking care of their guests!

We are so pleased to let you know that we are working on adding a fitness room to this hotel. It should be completed within the next few weeks. Guest feedback like yours has encouraged the addition of this amenity to the hotel. We have also just recently upgraded our already deluxe continental breakfast to the delight of our guests.

Unfortunately, we are not able to control the train schedule but we are able to offer rooms on the other side of the building that typically lessens the noise of the trains as they pass.

Thank you again for your feedback and comments. We sincerely hope that you will visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2011

I stayed here with two other adults and my dog. The hotel perk for pets (their own welcome treat bag) was a great addition. We were able to give one of the treats to the dog while we settled in. The room was clean, locate was very convenient, the staff were very friendly and accommodating. The outdoor area for the pets was well lit and maintained. The addition of a microwave and refrigerator were very helpful. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 524oscar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2011

We found the Comfort Inn VERY quiet, even though it was busy and the front desk was outstanding. The room was very clean and in order. I do agree with other reviewers that the square pillows, while okay, were a little odd. But what I really wanted to comment on was the alarm clock that had an MP3 line, and that is something you do not sometimes even find in a 4 star hotel. As we do not watch TV, the iPod was the mainstay of our visit. Thank you Comfort Inn Staunton. I left my neck support and we'll see how they deal with that and I'll update my review. There was also a refrigerator with a small freezer compartment that was perfect for storing our on the road food. Most refrigerators don't have any kind of freezer for freezer packs. And pets are only allowed in certain rooms- especially important to me as I have asthma.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lemon_Lyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2011

The staff makes you fill right at home.I received help from the manager[Jewel].Stacey was able to help me with everything i need the front desk was great .The head of housekeeping Nancy made sure all my rooms was well taken care of since I have been staying here with my colleagues.From April 4,2011 to April 22,2011.

Room Tip: The king suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank letitride331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2011

We got there it was 11:30pm- midnight on a Friday night and it was our family staying there. I have a 5year old and a 14year old. The girls at the front desk were just very nice... My 5year old was sleeping when we got there and was obviously tired. The girls at the desk asked us if we would like a snack before going to our room. When we said no that we were fine they asked my son (the 5year old) if he wanted anything... They got him a cup of milk to go with some oreos that he had. While staying there we ended up showing up late for their breakfast that they serve in the morning multiple time and they were so great they completely let us sit and eat as long as it was available:) and the food was great! I have stayed at places were I have tried to go and even grab a piece of fruit from the breakfast place just a few minutes after close and they were like no we are closed. I must say I am very please with this Comfort Inn and would stay here again and again!

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Billiejo1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Staunton hotels
0.5 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#4 of 15 in Staunton
385 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#5 of 15 in Staunton
219 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Staunton Inn
Best Western Staunton Inn
#3 of 15 in Staunton
901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Staunton
Red Roof Inn Staunton
#7 of 15 in Staunton
474 reviews
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Staunton Conference Center
2.2 mi away
Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 1302 Richmond Ave, Staunton, VA 24401-9100
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Staunton
Price Range: $96 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the Shenandoah Valley on Interstate 81, the Comfort Inn® hotel in Staunton is surrounded by the majestic Blue Ridge Mountains. This Virginia hotel is near Frontier Culture Museum, Mary Baldwin College, Woodrow Wilson Presidential Library and Blue Ridge Parkway scenic drive. Additional points of interest near the Staunton Comfort Inninclude Blackfriars Playhouse, Skyline Drive, Natural Chimneys and Grand Caverns, P. Buckley Moss Museum, and James Madison University.Local businesses minutes from the hotel include DuPont,Genicom, Hershey's Chocolate, McKee Foods and the Virginia Military Institute. While in Staunton, be sure to visit the quaint antique shops, local restaurants and lounges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Staunton
Comfort Inn Staunton
Staunton Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing