We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed Bugs”
Review of Econo Lodge East

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econo Lodge East
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in Staunton
Reviewed January 2, 2014

I really wished I had seen previous reviews of this motel. Saw bed bugs crawling on the bed and went to the front desk clerk with my mother who was very polite and professional in asking the clerk for a solution to the problem. He declined to come look at the bugs and told us to vacate the premises immediately and even threatened to call the police if we didn't. It was 12 AM I had two small children and was 500 miles from home. We did leave the motel after bagging all of our belongings in trash bags. We called the health department the next business day who reported finding nothing upon an inspection three days later (the owner did report he cleaned the room). I did take photos of the bugs and excrement on the mattress.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank brittrains1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (72)
There are newer reviews for Econo Lodge East
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 72 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2013

More than adequate for our needs: a place to sleep and a quick morning breakfast. We we in Staunton for the American Shakespeare Center's Friday and Saturday productions and spent little time in the room.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MereMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We liked the area and the hotel was a little outdated but okay. Until we checked out and on our return home the red bite marks started to appear all over, on my face, neck, hands, shoulders, arms. I'm so creeped out, this is so disgusting, check the beds! We were in room 123, the last on the right side.

Room Tip: Look for bed bugs!!!!!
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We were driving from MA to Florida so we had a,ready been on the road for many hours when we finally stopped for the night. We saw this place listed in a brochure we picked up at the Virginia Information and Rest Area. We decided to give it a go.

The clerk we had was nice enough. We pulled our car to the room we were assigned and walked in. Can we say outdated? Wow...I felt like we went back in time to the 70's. the sheets didn't fit on the bed and the bed spread was so old looking that I pulled it right down. The next thing I noticed was a dead bug on the headboard of the bed (a dead beetle type bug that must be common with the area). I got a Kleenex and threw it out. We were both just tired and literally watched a little bit of tv and went to bed.

The next morning I got up to start getting my things together and I had kicked off my socks in the middle of the night...so when I pulled down the blanket and sheet to get them, I found another beetle bug at the foot of my bed...alive! My friend did the same with her sheets and found a bug too. That's it...we got out of there.

Breakfast was ok...nothing fancy, but when we told the front desk clerk about the bugs she just said...oh (like she hadn't heard that before).

If you do decide to go there for whatever reason (desperation is the word that is coming to me), do yourself a favor and check the beds!

Room Tip: I don't think there is such a thing as a good room here.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We were disappointed with the cleanliness of this hotel. I was so concerned that I put the towel over the chair in the room and we were careful not to sit on the bedspread. The staff was friendly but seemed overworked and glad to report that there were only two more available rooms.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tweedybird26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

This place was not so great. It was less expensive than the other hotels, but I think I would have enjoyed my visit more if I had stayed at a nicer place. Room was out dated and mis-matched. I generally feel "ITCHY" ever since I left. Not so good.

And yes, it is conveniently located near a fire department. That should wake you up several times a night.

Room Tip: Just pay more and go elsewhere.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weedpicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for three days and I want to say how pleased I was with our room. It was very quiet and comfortable. In addition, the room was very clean and the hotel was excellently located and near.many fine restaurants.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Stuartbern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Staunton hotels
1.0 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#4 of 15 in Staunton
370 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Staunton Inn
Best Western Staunton Inn
#3 of 15 in Staunton
864 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#5 of 15 in Staunton
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn Staunton
0.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn Staunton
Red Roof Inn Staunton
#6 of 15 in Staunton
463 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 15 in Staunton
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge East

Address: 1031 Richmond Ave., I-81 exit 222, Staunton, VA 24401-4905
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in Staunton
Price Range: $56 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge East 2*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Staunton
Staunton Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing