We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware bed bugs” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge East

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Econo Lodge East
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Staunton
East Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beware bed bugs”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We liked the area and the hotel was a little outdated but okay. Until we checked out and on our return home the red bite marks started to appear all over, on my face, neck, hands, shoulders, arms. I'm so creeped out, this is so disgusting, check the beds! We were in room 123, the last on the right side.

Room Tip: Look for bed bugs!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    9
    19
    13
    15
See reviews for
13
16
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We were driving from MA to Florida so we had a,ready been on the road for many hours when we finally stopped for the night. We saw this place listed in a brochure we picked up at the Virginia Information and Rest Area. We decided to give it a go.

The clerk we had was nice enough. We pulled our car to the room we were assigned and walked in. Can we say outdated? Wow...I felt like we went back in time to the 70's. the sheets didn't fit on the bed and the bed spread was so old looking that I pulled it right down. The next thing I noticed was a dead bug on the headboard of the bed (a dead beetle type bug that must be common with the area). I got a Kleenex and threw it out. We were both just tired and literally watched a little bit of tv and went to bed.

The next morning I got up to start getting my things together and I had kicked off my socks in the middle of the night...so when I pulled down the blanket and sheet to get them, I found another beetle bug at the foot of my bed...alive! My friend did the same with her sheets and found a bug too. That's it...we got out of there.

Breakfast was ok...nothing fancy, but when we told the front desk clerk about the bugs she just said...oh (like she hadn't heard that before).

If you do decide to go there for whatever reason (desperation is the word that is coming to me), do yourself a favor and check the beds!

Room Tip: I don't think there is such a thing as a good room here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Staunton hotels

Floral Park, New York
Level Contributor
307 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We were disappointed with the cleanliness of this hotel. I was so concerned that I put the towel over the chair in the room and we were careful not to sit on the bedspread. The staff was friendly but seemed overworked and glad to report that there were only two more available rooms.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tweedybird26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

This place was not so great. It was less expensive than the other hotels, but I think I would have enjoyed my visit more if I had stayed at a nicer place. Room was out dated and mis-matched. I generally feel "ITCHY" ever since I left. Not so good.

And yes, it is conveniently located near a fire department. That should wake you up several times a night.

Room Tip: Just pay more and go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank weedpicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for three days and I want to say how pleased I was with our room. It was very quiet and comfortable. In addition, the room was very clean and the hotel was excellently located and near.many fine restaurants.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Stuartbern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westbrook Maine
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Very plan and basic . No clock in room. No toiletries offered. Rugs were shabby . Coffee offered in lobby but nothing else to go with it . Price was less than most motels. But needs some TLC. Was also hard to get extra linens. Had to wait for towels

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grandma1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fletcher
Level Contributor
201 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 392 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

The carpet was...well I never took my socks off, even to shower. The tub was chipped and rusting. The bed sheets did not fit the bed so when you pulled back the covers you pulled everything back and exposed the mattress. There was some major cleaning that needed to be done. As for safety when I pulled in at about 3am on Saturday the Parking lot was abuzz. Lots of interesting folks out there, I left nothing in my vehicle, to say the least. This is not the hotel for single ladies, over the hill gang, or families with kids, unless you think this is a cheap nights sleep. It is neither cheap nor a nights sleep. Look around and spend the extra 10 dollars and stay at a real motel. I can't think of one good thing to say about this property except ....YUK

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank steve p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Staunton hotels
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#6 of 16 in Staunton
4.5 of 5 stars 164 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#4 of 16 in Staunton
4.5 of 5 stars 307 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#10 of 16 in Staunton
4.0 of 5 stars 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn
BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn
#3 of 16 in Staunton
4.5 of 5 stars 673 reviews
0.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn Staunton
Red Roof Inn Staunton
#5 of 16 in Staunton
4.0 of 5 stars 399 reviews
2.1 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn Staunton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge East

Property: Econo Lodge East
Address: 1031 Richmond Ave, I-81 exit 222, Staunton, VA 24401-4905
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Staunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge East 2*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Econo Lodge East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Staunton
Staunton Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing