We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Cold Mountain - Hot Soup !” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge East

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Econo Lodge East
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Staunton
Inverness
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Cold Mountain - Hot Soup !”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Very busy place as you can imagine, especially when the snow is around. Good range of food and reasonable prices.

Helpful?
Thank nulzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    9
    19
    13
    15
See reviews for
13
17
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed at this Econo Lodge in Staunton VA 10/22/12 for two nights. Not a bad stay for the price. No "HOT" breakfast. But the room was clean and bathroom clean. Despite being on the main drag, it was pretty quite.

Room Tip: I like ground floor rooms so I don't have to lug the luggage upstairs, but you have guest over y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StanEMiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

The best thing I can say about this place is that it is within walking distance to Chili's. The room was not the dirtiest I've been in, but it is close. I know times are hard economically and try to take that into consideration with everything these days, but the towels weren't clean and that's a real deal breaker for me. I didn't pay for this hotel but had "earned" a free night and this was the only class hotel that I had enough points for. In the future I'll pay a few extra bucks for a Comfort Inn or Quality. Had I paid I probably would have turned right around and taken the key back to the front desk & asked for a refund.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bunny7475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Staunton hotels

Fletcher
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

My husband and I had to travel last minute due to a death in the family. It was late, and all other hotels off the exit were full. We usually stay in a Choice hotel, either Comfort Inn or Sleep Inn, so we had some faith in the brand. All faith was lost when we checked into our room. It smelled, wasn't clean at all, and we immediately spotted 3 cockroaches crawling on the walls. We were so tired that we stayed in the room, but slept with the lights on and all of our clothes on. DO NOT STAY HERE. It would be more comfortable and safer to sleep in your car.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mtngirl13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Level Contributor
81 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Stayed here for a night while on a family road trip. The room was basic and we did not experience any problems. I did check the beds prior to sleeping in them. The breakfast consisted of some mini muffins, 2 types of cereal, and english muffins.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MTLotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Absolutely the worst hotel my wife has ever stayed in and the staff just didn't care. Was only option for 2 bed, nonsmoking room within 25 miles of Staunton last night (Sat) due to holiday travel and local events. Sheets not clean, skanky capet, towel rack falling off, nasty stuff on the toilet and tub. The #17 rating of 18 hotels in Staunton is unfortunately unwell deserved-avoid this place!!

Room Tip: "not at this place"
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dmocap2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

I have never seen a hotel room as filthy as this. The bathroom was never cleaned. When I called the front desk the phone just rang and rang. I immediately walked to the office and the manager was just sitting there, she purposely did not answer the phone. I will never stay at an Econolodge ever.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cmdwcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Staunton hotels
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#6 of 16 in Staunton
4.5 of 5 stars 166 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#4 of 16 in Staunton
4.5 of 5 stars 307 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#9 of 16 in Staunton
4.0 of 5 stars 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn
BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn
#3 of 16 in Staunton
4.5 of 5 stars 673 reviews
0.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn Staunton
Red Roof Inn Staunton
#5 of 16 in Staunton
4.0 of 5 stars 399 reviews
2.1 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn Staunton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge East

Property: Econo Lodge East
Address: 1031 Richmond Ave, I-81 exit 222, Staunton, VA 24401-4905
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Staunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge East 2*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Econo Lodge East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Staunton
Staunton Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing