We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Roach Motel”
Review of Econo Lodge East

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Econo Lodge East
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in Staunton
Reviewed August 13, 2012

My husband and I had to travel last minute due to a death in the family. It was late, and all other hotels off the exit were full. We usually stay in a Choice hotel, either Comfort Inn or Sleep Inn, so we had some faith in the brand. All faith was lost when we checked into our room. It smelled, wasn't clean at all, and we immediately spotted 3 cockroaches crawling on the walls. We were so tired that we stayed in the room, but slept with the lights on and all of our clothes on. DO NOT STAY HERE. It would be more comfortable and safer to sleep in your car.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mtngirl13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (80)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 80 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2012

Stayed here for a night while on a family road trip. The room was basic and we did not experience any problems. I did check the beds prior to sleeping in them. The breakfast consisted of some mini muffins, 2 types of cereal, and english muffins.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MTLotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Absolutely the worst hotel my wife has ever stayed in and the staff just didn't care. Was only option for 2 bed, nonsmoking room within 25 miles of Staunton last night (Sat) due to holiday travel and local events. Sheets not clean, skanky capet, towel rack falling off, nasty stuff on the toilet and tub. The #17 rating of 18 hotels in Staunton is unfortunately unwell deserved-avoid this place!!

Room Tip: "not at this place"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dmocap2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

I have never seen a hotel room as filthy as this. The bathroom was never cleaned. When I called the front desk the phone just rang and rang. I immediately walked to the office and the manager was just sitting there, she purposely did not answer the phone. I will never stay at an Econolodge ever.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cmdwcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

This place was cheap but I got 10 bed bug bites in one night and they never mentioned they had a bed bug problem. Considering the effort that it takes to get rid of bed bugs once you bring them home, this place is not worth the risk.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Eva C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2012

I've been staying at the Econo Lodge, Stauntan for years on my way to and from my Mothers house. Its never been a fancy place but fine for a nights sleep on my half way mark to SC. This last time I stayed there on my way home, I got home and had bites on my back, legs and stomach. I had a total of 25 bites in the "breakfast, lunch and dinner pattern". This is a sure way to tell if these were bed bug bites. I also noticed a little red mark on my sheets and should have left then but, thought it was a stain. (another sign of bed bugs)

I called the Econo lodge and told Iris what happened. She asked that I call back and speak to the owner, Mr Gondie. I called back and got his wife. She said she checked the room and "didnt see anything" Im still getting more bites at this point because thats how bed bugs work. The bites dont show up right away most times. She offered me a 15% discount because I always stay there. I wasn't too thrilled with that answer so, I tried again and again to get Mr.Gondie. I was given the run around for days and finally called my bank to dispute the $48.00 or so charge on my account. Thats ALL I wanted was my return trip refunded because I know these things happen. Im still waiting for my paper work to dispute it because at this point I can't even get them to answer the phone at Econo lodge, caller ID?

Thank God the critters didn't come home with me. I left most of my stuff in the car. I will never stay at the Econo lodge in Staunton again and its their loss because I might have gave them another chance had they done the right thing and refunded my $48.00. I travel down that way sometimes 3 times a year.

If you are going to stay in the Econo Lodge of Staunton, DO A BED BUG CHECK! or better yet, stay at another hotel because this man, Mr.Gondie is not a man that will do the right thing!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Aubrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012

On a recent trip to Staunton we stayed at the Econo Lodge because of convenient location and reasonable price. Upon checking in the desk manager (Iris I think) was very friendly, professional and helpful. The room was basic but definitely adequate - only complaint - enough hot water for only one shower, the second and third taking a shower had barely warm water.

Because I was not expecting much from the breakfast included with the room I did not even grab a cup of coffee there and cannot comment. Lot's of nice places close by and a coffee maker in the room was more than sufficient. The over sized (for a motel) refrig and the microwave - most appreciated. The room was quiet and comfortable.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MGordonCharlotte_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Staunton hotels
2 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn Staunton
0.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn Staunton
Red Roof Inn Staunton
#7 of 15 in Staunton
481 reviews
1 mi away
Sleep Inn Staunton
Sleep Inn Staunton
#4 of 15 in Staunton
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Best Western Staunton Inn
Best Western Staunton Inn
#3 of 15 in Staunton
921 reviews
2.6 mi away
Motel 6 Staunton
Motel 6 Staunton
#11 of 15 in Staunton
123 reviews
2.6 mi away
Days Inn Staunton North
Days Inn Staunton North
#13 of 15 in Staunton
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge East

Address: 1031 Richmond Ave., I-81 exit 222, Staunton, VA 24401-4905
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in Staunton
Price Range: $59 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge East 2*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Econo Lodge East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Staunton
Staunton Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing