We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“H.I. Staunton”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hampton Inn Staunton
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Staunton
Certificate of Excellence
Cornelius, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“H.I. Staunton”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

If you are traveling through the Shenandoah Valley on business or pleasure, book a night at the Hampton Inn Staunton. The staff is great, and the hotel is close to great restaurants, the Blue Ridge Pkwy. and a number of local attractions.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
2 Thank Lane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    428
    152
    25
    14
    5
See reviews for
214
256
35
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Hampton Inn in Staunton for a night while traveling the Valley Pike in Virginia. I cannot praise the staff there enough. They were enthusiastic, attentive, and helpful. They gave great advice about restaurants and attractions. Based on that advice, my wife and I had an outstanding dinner at Emilio's in downtown Staunton. Breakfast the next morning, was just as outstanding: hot, delicious, and plentiful. Again, the staff, including maids, was just as attentive and pleasurable as they were the previous evening. The Hampton Inn Staunton not only maintains the high standard that I have come to expect form all Hampton Inn hotels, in my opinion it set the standard. Well done and we'll be back!

Room Tip: I prefer a room facing the front, looking toward the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

The hotel was clean and the room was comfortable. Convenient access to highway. The staff was very friendly. I would not hesitate to stay here or at another Hampton. Very good value and made a great layover stop.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank L9493FQbrianh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlinton, United States
1 review
Reviewed April 9, 2014

This hotel is not in the old part of town, which is a drawback. You do have to drive to the hotel from the main street. I thought the experience was comfortable, the breakfast was great, and we were dissapointed that the pool was outside. We had a trip in April and it was too cold to swim outside.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynbrook, New York
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014

We arrived at the Staunton Hampton Inn exhausted from a tumultuous (?) 10 hour drive from Long Island to VA. The young lady at the front desk was exceptionally friendly and helpful. When we checked in, she went out of her way to make couple of suggestions for local restaurants for dinner. She must have realized we were weary. At first, we found our room comfortable (or so we thought). My family and I went to bed fairly early (9pm) and were woken every time someone passed by in the hall. They weren’t being especially noisy, they were just talking on the way to their room. The walls were so thin that it sounded like everyone who walked down the hallway was in the room with you. Also, every time a car door was closed in the parking lot, we would wake up. It left me to wonder “Is there no such thing as soundproofing in these hotel rooms?” Unfortunately, my sleep was further distracted by the uncomfortable bed and pillows. If I wanted to sleep on a hard, unappealing surface, I would have stayed in one of the Dorm rooms we were visiting with my daughter! My entire family kept waking up during the night because we had to keep tossing and turning to try to get comfortable. Not what you hope for when staying in a hotel. I will say the breakfast choices in the morning were plentiful, just wish we had a better night’s sleep!

Room Tip: If you were going to give this a try, ask for the back of the hotel. Not overlooking the parking lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank palomino62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StauntonHampton, General Manager at Hampton Inn Staunton, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thank you staying with us and for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. I appreciate your insight on the noise level in your room, and am sorry that you experienced that. I do hope that you will stay with us should your travels bring you to the Staunton area in the future.

Best Regards,

Andrew Bailey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 23, 2014

If you have the inclination to visit Staunton for it's pretty scenery, historic background or just for business, you'd find no better to place to stay than the Hampton Inn. It's very convenient to all major highways as well as to the historic heart of Staunton. The staff is amazingly friendly and the price is great for the value of the facility. Definitely two thumbs up! I not only travel there for business regularly, but I was a previous resident of the Staunton area.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank 758christiew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StauntonHampton, General Manager at Hampton Inn Staunton, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thank you for staying at our hotel, and for the fantastic review! We really enjoy having you as a frequent guest of ours, and look forward to your return visit.

Best Regards,

Andrew Bailey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookville, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 13, 2014

We called en route near 9 p.m.; got precise directions, warm welcome, short trip up with luggage, cart available, clean room, GREAT comfortable queen beds, excellent bathroom. Especially like the policy about complete bedding change each day; cuts down on leaving with something unwanted. Breakfast good, unhurried, checkout a breeze.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Staunton hotels
1.8 mi away
Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center
1.8 mi away
Best Western Staunton Inn
Best Western Staunton Inn
#3 of 15 in Staunton
832 reviews
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#5 of 15 in Staunton
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#4 of 15 in Staunton
363 reviews
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Staunton Conference Center
2.0 mi away
Red Roof Inn Staunton
Red Roof Inn Staunton
#6 of 15 in Staunton
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Staunton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Staunton

Property: Hampton Inn Staunton
Address: 40 Payne Ln, Staunton, VA 24401-5513
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Staunton
#1 Business Hotel in Staunton
#2 Family Hotel in Staunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Staunton 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Hilton Hotels Direct so you can book your Hampton Inn Staunton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Staunton Hotel Staunton
Staunton Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing