We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Needs some TLC” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Staunton Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Staunton Conference Center
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Staunton
Newport News, Virginia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Needs some TLC”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2011

We stay at this location several times a year, due to my husband's business travels. They have made some recent improvements to update this property, but its still in need of some some TLC. The rooms smell old, especially when the A/C is running ( supposing mildew buildup in filter). Perhaps once they complete their total renovation process, it will be worth recommending. Btw: their pool is out of commission right now (late July 2011) in case this is priority for you during this heat wave.

Room Tip: Heard their renovation was starting on the 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beachy101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Staunton Conference Center, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Pretty Good,

I was going through some things as the New GM and I noticed that we missed the chance to thank you for your review. Thank you and I aplologize for not getting back to you in all these years I hope that you are well. I apologize for the hotel being is such a state. I would like to let you know that we went through a complete renovation in 2012 and we also have new kitchen equipment as well. I hope that you will give us another chance in the future

safe travels
Lisa Breeden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    86
    65
    36
    19
See reviews for
94
71
18
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
96 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

We were here for one night on our way home from Florida. I didn't realize there are absolutely no restaurants nearby (except the hotel restaurant) so after checking in, we had to drive five miles to town. They are renovating the hotel. Our room was okay -- just okay. I didn't complain but it could have been vacuumed a little better. I would stay here again but it wouldn't be for more than one night.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ilovepuntacana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Staunton Conference Center, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Pretty Good,

I was going through some things as the New GM and I noticed that we missed the chance to thank you for your review. Thank you and I aplologize for not getting back to you in all these years I hope that you are well. I apologize for the hotel being is such a state. I would like to let you know that we went through a complete renovation in 2012 and we also have new kitchen equipment as well. I hope that you will give us another chance in the future

safe travels
Lisa Breeden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2011

We stayed here two consecutive Saturday nights: May 28, 2011 and June 4, 2011 and I am happy to report that things were quieter on the second Saturday. We had greatly enjoyed our stay here two years earlier in August when the hotel was newly remodeled and had been looking forward to another visit. We had enjoyed the on site restaurant and lounge with live music which was very popular with the local crowd. On May 28 the very friendly front desk staff told us that there was no band because there was a wedding reception scheduled in the hotel that night. We continued to our room and noted immediately signs of wear. The bathroom was clean except for some caulk between the floor and the tub. The door mouldings had lots of nicks and even the doors suffered from splintering veneers. When asked, the friendly people at the front desk gave us several sheets of local restaurant recommendations and directions which proved accurate and helpful. When we returned after a wonderful dinner at the Mill Street Grill in Staunton the wedding party had begun and continued outside our thin door on an upper floor until 1:00 AM Sunday. Needless to say, sleep was elusive.

It was with trepidation that we returned on Saturday, June 4th with a nonrefundable reservation. We asked if there were any weddings scheduled and were relieved when the answer was no. My advice is to ask this question when booking a room or checking in. The second night was quiet and we were able to sleep very well. The second room also on an upper floor also had the almost clean bathroom with more rusty hinges and a very splintered veneer covered door and more beat up door trim. I don't usually use the term tacky for the Holiday Inn, but the poor condition of the doors rates it. I might not be so negative in my assessment if we had not been constantly comparing things in the present as they were two years earlier. As another reviewer noted, things have slid downhill.

I checked out the pool which is one of those tiny half inside/ half outside pools you find at some hotels. The water appeared clean and clear. There were some nice chairs in the small outside area which were all in use. You have to ride the elevator down below the lobby area and better signage would be helpful. We could not locate one of those hotel directories in our room so you would have to call for directions or explore as I did. BTW, the TV chanel listings are a single sheet of paper in a bedside drawer. There were lots of cable chanels listed. Another cost cutting/ paper saving issue perhaps?

Be sure to explore Staunton which is about five miles down a few backroads or down the freeway as the Holiday Inn is located on a golf course in the countryside.. On the second trip we really loved The Depot Grill located next to the Amtrack Station in an historic building in Staunton. Virginians really know how to cook and this town has some very popular non chain places to relax and enjoy a great meal. We will certainly be returning to Staunton to check out more shops and restaurants!

Room Tip: Avoid on weekends with wedding receptions
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beachreader7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Staunton Conference Center, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Pretty Good,

I was going through some things as the New GM and I noticed that we missed the chance to thank you for your review. Thank you and I aplologize for not getting back to you in all these years I hope that you are well. I apologize for the hotel being is such a state. I would like to let you know that we went through a complete renovation in 2012 and we also have new kitchen equipment as well. I hope that you will give us another chance in the future

safe travels
Lisa Breeden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2011

Stayed here during JMU graduation, wasnt too far from Harrisonburg and had cheaper rates. Hotel was better than average and room was very clean. Staff was very friendly. Large flat screen tv, but all channels were fuzzy. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank newshoes50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Staunton Conference Center, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Pretty Good,

I was going through some things as the New GM and I noticed that we missed the chance to thank you for your review. Thank you and I aplologize for not getting back to you in all these years I hope that you are well. I apologize for the hotel being is such a state. I would like to let you know that we went through a complete renovation in 2012 and we also have new kitchen equipment as well. I hope that you will give us another chance in the future

safe travels
Lisa Breeden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greece, New York
Level Contributor
93 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2011

hotel was fair we had a windy night you could hear the wind and feel it too the windows were old bed was hard no to little sleep. it was clean but old.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluelion137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Staunton Conference Center, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Pretty Good,

I was going through some things as the New GM and I noticed that we missed the chance to thank you for your review. Thank you and I aplologize for not getting back to you in all these years I hope that you are well. I apologize for the hotel being is such a state. I would like to let you know that we went through a complete renovation in 2012 and we also have new kitchen equipment as well. I hope that you will give us another chance in the future

safe travels
Lisa Breeden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Staunton hotels

Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
84 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2011

We spent one night here. Our room was large and comfortable and overlooked the golf course.
Dinner in the restaurant was excellent with a fairly extensive menu.
Good service and a pleasant stay. Free wi-fi.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tennisgirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Staunton Conference Center, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Pretty Good,

I was going through some things as the New GM and I noticed that we missed the chance to thank you for your review. Thank you and I aplologize for not getting back to you in all these years I hope that you are well. I apologize for the hotel being is such a state. I would like to let you know that we went through a complete renovation finished in 2012 and we also have new kitchen equipment as well. I hope that you will give us another chance in the future

safe travels
Lisa Breeden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Virginia
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2010

I was very disappointed at the quality of this hotel. We stayed there for a family wedding & the over all service was very poor. It was difficult to find, the beds were horrible & the staff was extremely rude.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nikki123108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Staunton Conference Center, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Pretty Good,

I was going through some things as the New GM and I noticed that we missed the chance to thank you for your review. Thank you and I aplologize for not getting back to you in all these years I hope that you are well. I apologize for the hotel being is such a state. I would like to let you know that we went through a complete renovation in 2012 and we also have new kitchen equipment as well. I hope that you will give us another chance in the future

safe travels
Lisa Breeden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Staunton hotels
3.6 mi away
Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center
4.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Staunton
Hampton Inn Staunton
#1 of 16 in Staunton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
3.3 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#4 of 16 in Staunton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#5 of 16 in Staunton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
3.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Staunton
Red Roof Inn Staunton
#6 of 16 in Staunton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
3.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn
BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn
#3 of 16 in Staunton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Staunton Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Staunton Conference Center

Property: Holiday Inn Staunton Conference Center
Address: 152 Fairway Lane, Staunton, VA 24401 (Formerly Holiday Inn-Golf & Conf Center Staunton)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Staunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Staunton Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Staunton Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn-Golf & Conf Center Staunton Hotel Staunton
Holiday Inn-Golf And Conf Center Staunton
Holiday Inn Staunton
Staunton Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing