We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Enjoyed a quite night at the Inn.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sleep Inn
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Staunton
Certificate of Excellence
Zebulon, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Enjoyed a quite night at the Inn.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2010

Liked best: Its location, clean linen, spacious shower, and quietness. Quietness probably due to the absence of school-age guest since school were back in session.

Liked least: Only one sink, and a very small Continental breakfast area. Only 4 or 5 small tables. Very crowded. Not a big problem, but three "stink-bugs" were seen on the wall of or room. When brought to the attention of the staff, they stated that the area around Staunton was having a problem with the insect at that particular time of year. There was a notice posted at the check-in counter apprising guest of the problem.

Overall, very pleased with our stay at the inn and would not hesitate in staying there if in the area again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1dapperdan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    109
    27
    10
    7
See reviews for
97
109
17
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
111 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2010

A comfortable choice right off I-81. I'd have preferred a little less expensive, but the price was in line with area hotels. Recommended.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rjay01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, NC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

This one is convenient to the interstate. Gracious & helpful staff. Clean rooms. Odd shaped room short on flat surfaces for opening luggage. The sliding bathroom door was a hoot. No place in shower to put soap where it wouldn't slide to the floor. The impression I got was that the room had been designed by someone from another culture, Japanese, maybe. It didn't have an American 'feel,' whatever that is. The lighting reminded me of hospital room lighting about 1970. Extensive free hot breakfast bar, with eggs, omelet, in addition to the usual high carb motel food.
Small space, which would be easier to deal with if some didn't elbow their way in, not waiting their turn. lf breakfast is your meal and you can deal with small space and unusual room configuration, this is a good place to lay your head when on the road.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Asheville_NCEmma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

I was extremely pleased with this hotel. We came up for a wedding and just needed a place to stay for one night. The rooms are spotlessly clean - even the bedspreads, which I usually remove as soon I get in a hotel room. The layout of the room was well thought out, making the most efficient use of the space. The bathroom, also spotless, had a good size shower and toilet, with a pocket door (another good use of limited space) and the sink/vanity area on the other side so one person can use the sink while another is in the shower. The room had everything we needed for a short stay - tissues, disposable cups, iron & ironing board, hairdryer, etc. The lighting was very good for reading and the mattresses were extremely comfortable. The room was very quiet - didn't hear anyone's TV or loud talking and our room was directly across from the elevator and the ice machine and heard no noise all night.

The staff was helpful and the location was very easy to get to - right off of I-81. Breakfast is included which is nice - basically cereal, bagels, coffee. If you want a larger breakfast there is a Shoney's right next door. The cost was a bit high for the type of room but seemed to be in line with the other hotels in the area. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank litchfield1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2010

Average hotel. Relatively new. Easy to get to right off the highway.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lakcmk1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butte, Montana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2010

Stayed there for a month while working in the city and was pleased the entire time. Catered to us well and the room was okay as well, just took some getting used to having a bathroom the size of a walk-in closet with a sliding door no less! But it was good overall.

The only issue I had once was having my card charged twice but the manager got my bank on the phone and fixed it right when it happened. The wifi is okay at its best and their breakfast room is really quite small so it would make things cramped up when you have a full house.

Definatley a good place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank skippyq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Indiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2010

Stayed there with grandkids on way to virginia beach. Room was fine, staff was great. Location was very good.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Southside716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Staunton
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn
BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn
#3 of 16 in Staunton
4.5 of 5 stars 632 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#5 of 16 in Staunton
4.5 of 5 stars 151 reviews
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Staunton
Red Roof Inn Staunton
#6 of 16 in Staunton
4.0 of 5 stars 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Staunton
Hampton Inn Staunton
#1 of 16 in Staunton
4.5 of 5 stars 476 reviews
2.7 mi away
Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#10 of 16 in Staunton
4.0 of 5 stars 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn

Property: Sleep Inn
Address: 222 Jefferson Highway, Staunton, VA 24401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Staunton
#5 Business Hotel in Staunton
#5 Family Hotel in Staunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sleep Inn® hotel is centrally located off Interstate 81 in the Shenandoah Valley. Surrounded by the majestic Blue Ridge Mountains, this Staunton hotel is close to the Frontier Culture Museum of Virginia, Mary Baldwin College, P. Buckley Moss Museum, Blackfriars Theatre and Woodrow Wilson Presidential Library. The scenic Blue Ridge Parkway and Skyline Drive are just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Odigeo and Orbitz so you can book your Sleep Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Hotel Staunton
Sleep Inn Staunton
Staunton Sleep Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing