We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Value!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Staunton/ Mint Springs

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Days Inn Staunton/ Mint Springs
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Staunton
McHenry, Illinois
Level Contributor
71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Value!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Don't judge a book by its cover on this one. It is an older facility, but it is very well maintained. We stayed here only for one night as a stopping point for a lengthy road trip. It is right off of the highway and easy to get to. The pool was great for the kids, and we loved their free breakfast. Much better than other continental breakfasts! The staff was very friendly, the room was clean, and the beds were pretty comfortable. For the price, you can't beat it. However, if you are looking for something fancy, this is not it.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    250
    120
    63
    29
See reviews for
280
191
79
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

Yuck. The room was musty, the AC smelled like wet dogs, mold and cigarettes, and there was half a dead roach on the bathroom floor. Tried to stick it out, but when we switched on the old TV, the picture was fuzzy. Had to leave. Couldn't even pull back covers for fear of finding a dead truckstop hooker under the bed.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Center Valley, PA
Level Contributor
120 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Our standard stopping point in the Staunton area has been the Microtel off US 250. But the Microtel closed for renovations in mid-March and subsequently rebranded as a Quality Inn at $20 more per night. So we began looking for an alternative mid-point hotel on our drives to Charlotte.
I have now stayed here twice, separated by 3 months. In March of 2014 my wife and I stayed here while heading north in a freak snow storm. While we had reservations and were guaranteed a room, many other folks were also in the lobby seeking a place to stay, since the highway was almost impassible. The desk staff handled everything in a professional way, making each person feel like there were no others there. All got rooms and the desk staff's professionalism made what could have been pressured chaos a friendly camaraderie.
My stay here in late June was just me and the weather was less extreme. The rooms are simple, but very clean. The mattresses are firm. The air conditioning/heater works well. The mini-fridge was sufficient.. The rooms are equipped with shampoo, conditioner and soap, but no lotion. There is good parking near the room. The breakfast buffet is varied, but fairly typical fare.
So why would we recommend a hotel to which we only assigned three stars? Well, first of all, a room here costs only $60. Second, the room is more than adequate for a night stay. Third, the folks here are friendly and make your stay a real pleasure. I really wanted to give this four stars, but it just isn't quite there. But this place is an *excellent* value. We'll be staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilosophicalOldGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

Needed a place to stay the night & rest up for a long day of driving. Found a coupon in the hotel coupons.com booklet for the Days Inn Staunton. It is an older property, but is obviously well taken care of and clean. Staff is friendly. Would definitely stay here again!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Cpholbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitchellville, Maryland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Until breakfast I was thinking about 5 stars: a comfortable room close to the highway (route 81) without ANY highway noise. All the extras in the room that you might want, fridge, etc. The A/C worked well and quietly. I had been drawn in partly by the ad for "hot breakfast." But this was the difficulty. Yes, it was hot - waffles and sausage gravy over biscuits. But maybe I've eaten too many motel waffles - they just were not tasty. And the gravy was only gravy; forget about sausage. So the breakfast was adequate, but don't get your hopes up about gourmet style. Pick this for a good room.

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Old_Dave_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buchanan, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Even though right off I-81, it was quiet. Comfortable, clean, very friendly staff. Good breakfast. Only complaint is that the website did not advise that the fitness room was closed for renovation. This should really be posted as a courtesy to guests who need this option. Would have otherwise given 5 stars

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ancram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

We stayed here overnight, in order to drive the Skyline Drive the next day. All requests were honored (ground floor, non smoking, good wifi strength) and our room was very spacious, including a desk, fridge, microwave and hairdryer.

The property has a laundry and a pool, and free breakfast is included. We found this great as we wanted an early start and didn't have to drive anywhere to eat breakfast.

I have no complaints at all. The staff were friendly, room was clean, location is convenient. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chocmint1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Staunton hotels
4.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Staunton
Red Roof Inn Staunton
#5 of 16 in Staunton
4.0 of 5 stars 398 reviews
4.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn
BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn
#3 of 16 in Staunton
4.5 of 5 stars 672 reviews
4.5 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#4 of 16 in Staunton
4.5 of 5 stars 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center
4.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#6 of 16 in Staunton
4.5 of 5 stars 164 reviews
5.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn Staunton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Staunton/ Mint Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Staunton/ Mint Springs

Property: Days Inn Staunton/ Mint Springs
Address: 372 White Hill Rd, Staunton, VA 24401-6940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Staunton
#6 Family Hotel in Staunton
#7 Romantic Hotel in Staunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Staunton/ Mint Springs 2*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Easy Access to I-81 and I-64 with Ample Truck Parking Whether visiting for business or pleasure, Days Inn Staunton / Mint Springs hotel, off Interstates 64 and 81 and near the Blue Ridge Mountains and Shenandoah Valley, offers great rates and attentive service. Receive a warm welcome from our staff, then awake to a free USA Today and free Daybreak continental breakfast, complete with hot items. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Days Inn Staunton/ Mint Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Staunton / Mint Springs Hotel Staunton
Staunton Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing