We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fine for on the road”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Days Inn Staunton/ Mint Springs
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Staunton
Write a Review

817 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    303
    147
    72
    38
See reviews for
325
227
102
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stopped here on the way to a graduation at Virginia Tech for one night, and will definitely not go back. The room seemed clean and there were no problems at check in. We got in late and went to sleep pretty late that night. At 5am, the phone began ringing. We ignored it the first 2 times. On the third call, I got up out of bed and answered the phone, and I heard the person on the other end hang up. I got back into bed, although I had a hard time falling back to sleep, hoping to get a precious couple of hours of rest before facing another 2 hours of driving and then a 5 hour return trip to DC. In the morning, we stopped at the desk for check out, and we said that we were disturbed by the 5am wake up call. Aimee, the person at the desk, said that we had requested it. We told her that we had NOT requested any wake up call, let alone one at 5am, and she argued with us.

When we complained, she said that we should have done so at 5am. We said that was ridiculous, as we were trying to sleep. After several minutes of her basically telling us that we were lying about getting 3 phone calls at 5am, I said that I would call their corporate office. She replied, "go ahead. I've been here forever. They won't believe you."

Bad, bad experience, and I am still waiting for their corporate office to "look into it." we booked on Priceline and will definitely not be staying at this place or another Days Inn, if we can help it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KVioleta13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daysinnstauntonmints, Webmaster at Days Inn Staunton/ Mint Springs, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for staying with the Days Inn Staunton Mint Springs.

We also appreciate the effort you have taken to give us review and we take them quite seriously towards improvement.

Our sincere for the inconvenience you had whatsoever and howsoever unlikely it can be.

Front staff received additional training in the courteous, helpful manner in which our valued guests are to be treated.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again choose to stay at Days Inn Staunton Mint Springs. We take our reviews very seriously, and I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
Level Contributor
223 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

I picked this hotel solely because of Trip Advisor. You can get to Monticello in about 30 minutes, and it's a nice and beautiful drive. Although it's not in Staunton per se, it's only one or two exits away, and it's no big deal going to Staunton to eat (there's a Subway right across the street and two gas stations within minutes of the motel, but I don't know if there's any other very close place to find food). They have a really great breakfast buffet, with more than enough seating, and there was an attendant always busy, cleaning and stocking. My only complaint is that the bed was too hard; it took me a while to get to sleep. I stayed here for two nights; only because of the bed I'm glad we weren't staying any longer. I've stayed in a number of Days Inns, and this was definitely one of the better ones, in spite of the hardness of the bed. It's very clean and easy to find. Although others on Trip Advisor complained of the noise, this wasn't a problem, even though our room was on the side of the interstate. I had reserved this room two weeks earlier; when traveling I picked up motel coupons from rest stops, and here after settling in for the night I discovered a coupon for this place that was $14 cheaper than I was paying. When I asked the front clerk, she replied I couldn't use it since I had already checked in--and this was quite understandable. But I did learn an important lesson: check these coupon books even if you already have a reservation; I gathered I might have gotten the cheaper rate if I had known about it when we first arrived.

Room Tip: A hearty breakfast; no need to spend extra money; this will keep you full.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 76desert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed May 20, 2013

My first experience with Days Inn Staunton (5/18) and I truly enjoyed it. The room was modest but clean, the bed was very comfortable, the surroundings were quite and the price was extremely reasonable. The staff was amazing, very polite and professional and to top it off there was free hot breakfast... and it was Good!! I will defiantly go back very soon

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Celiena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed May 16, 2013

My wife and stayed here on May 1 with our 4 small dogs. The room was very clean and the facilities were top notch. It was very quiet for being so close to the Interstate and very well lit for walking the kids. The breakfast was great providing us with the ability to take things for road as we didn't want to leave the kids alone. A $10 per dog charge was a little high but worth it for the peace, quiet and cleanliness. A complimentary USA Today was a bonus. A very short drive to dining for take-out.

Room Tip: If you have a dog stay on the side away from the highway. Quiet but enough room to walk the dogs. Pl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Staunton
4.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Staunton
Red Roof Inn Staunton
#6 of 15 in Staunton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
4.4 mi away
Best Western Staunton Inn
Best Western Staunton Inn
#3 of 15 in Staunton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
4.5 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#4 of 15 in Staunton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn Staunton
4.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#5 of 15 in Staunton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
8.1 mi away
Days Inn Waynesboro
Days Inn Waynesboro
#3 of 9 in Waynesboro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Staunton/ Mint Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Staunton/ Mint Springs

Property: Days Inn Staunton/ Mint Springs
Address: 372 White Hill Rd, Staunton, VA 24401-6940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Staunton
#6 Family Hotel in Staunton
#7 Romantic Hotel in Staunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Staunton/ Mint Springs 2*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Easy Access to I-81 and I-64 with Ample Truck Parking Whether visiting for business or pleasure, Days Inn Staunton / Mint Springs hotel, off Interstates 64 and 81 and near the Blue Ridge Mountains and Shenandoah Valley, offers great rates and attentive service. Receive a warm welcome from our staff, then awake to a free USA Today and free Daybreak continental breakfast, complete with hot items. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Staunton/ Mint Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Staunton / Mint Springs Hotel Staunton
Staunton Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing