We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good choice, especially for Monticello”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Days Inn Staunton South
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Staunton
Reviewed May 21, 2013

I picked this hotel solely because of Trip Advisor. You can get to Monticello in about 30 minutes, and it's a nice and beautiful drive. Although it's not in Staunton per se, it's only one or two exits away, and it's no big deal going to Staunton to eat (there's a Subway right across the street and two gas stations within minutes of the motel, but I don't know if there's any other very close place to find food). They have a really great breakfast buffet, with more than enough seating, and there was an attendant always busy, cleaning and stocking. My only complaint is that the bed was too hard; it took me a while to get to sleep. I stayed here for two nights; only because of the bed I'm glad we weren't staying any longer. I've stayed in a number of Days Inns, and this was definitely one of the better ones, in spite of the hardness of the bed. It's very clean and easy to find. Although others on Trip Advisor complained of the noise, this wasn't a problem, even though our room was on the side of the interstate. I had reserved this room two weeks earlier; when traveling I picked up motel coupons from rest stops, and here after settling in for the night I discovered a coupon for this place that was $14 cheaper than I was paying. When I asked the front clerk, she replied I couldn't use it since I had already checked in--and this was quite understandable. But I did learn an important lesson: check these coupon books even if you already have a reservation; I gathered I might have gotten the cheaper rate if I had known about it when we first arrived.

Room Tip: A hearty breakfast; no need to spend extra money; this will keep you full.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 76desert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (952)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

819 - 825 of 952 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2013

My first experience with Days Inn Staunton (5/18) and I truly enjoyed it. The room was modest but clean, the bed was very comfortable, the surroundings were quite and the price was extremely reasonable. The staff was amazing, very polite and professional and to top it off there was free hot breakfast... and it was Good!! I will defiantly go back very soon

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Celiena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

My wife and stayed here on May 1 with our 4 small dogs. The room was very clean and the facilities were top notch. It was very quiet for being so close to the Interstate and very well lit for walking the kids. The breakfast was great providing us with the ability to take things for road as we didn't want to leave the kids alone. A $10 per dog charge was a little high but worth it for the peace, quiet and cleanliness. A complimentary USA Today was a bonus. A very short drive to dining for take-out.

Room Tip: If you have a dog stay on the side away from the highway. Quiet but enough room to walk the dogs. Pl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Joseph T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

I am glad to say the place was clean and quiet. Great location and the staff was very helpful. Breakfast could of been hotter but not complaining. Would stay there again

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Clean room, nothing fancy, basics all provided for... Microwave, fridge, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron and board. Thin towels but clean and sufficient. Desk personnel helpful and friendly. Free breakfast fine as had coffee and fresh fruit but also waffle maker, bagels, cereal... Second floor room so a climb for our friend with bad knees (she was on first floor, she noted the good mattress) but not a problem for us. Easy access off I64 and set in beautiful countryside. Also, we all noticed the meticulous landscaping. Pool was not yet open. Great deal we thought for the price!

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Glenn S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Staunton hotels
4.4 mi away
Best Western Staunton Inn
Best Western Staunton Inn
#3 of 15 in Staunton
907 reviews
4.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Staunton
Red Roof Inn Staunton
#7 of 15 in Staunton
476 reviews
4.5 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#4 of 15 in Staunton
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#5 of 15 in Staunton
220 reviews
5.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn Staunton
7.3 mi away
Days Inn Staunton North
Days Inn Staunton North
#13 of 15 in Staunton
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Staunton South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Staunton South

Address: 372 White Hill Rd, Staunton, VA 24401-6940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Staunton
#6 Family Hotel in Staunton
#7 Romantic Hotel in Staunton
Price Range: $61 - $74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Staunton South 2*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Easy Access to I-81 and I-64 with Ample Truck Parking Whether visiting for business or pleasure, Days Inn Staunton South hotel, off Interstates 64 and 81 and near the Blue Ridge Mountains and Shenandoah Valley, offers great rates and attentive service. Receive a warm welcome from our staff, then awake to a free USA Today and free Daybreak continental breakfast, complete with hot items. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Staunton South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Staunton / Mint Springs Hotel Staunton
Staunton Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing