We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great start to the day!”
Review of The By And By

The By And By
Ranked #24 of 131 Restaurants in Staunton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Holden Beach, North Carolina
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A great start to the day!”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Walk around the corner from the Stonewall Jackson Hotel for a great coffee! To be fair, the coffee shop on the other corner is excellent, too!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Becky T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    51
    16
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Yorktown, Virginia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Thanks for rescueing us!”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We popped in to this quaint cafe on the corner to enjoy some superb coffee after the B&B we stayed at had some of the worst coffee we ever had. We had a tea that was nice too. and the carrot cake was most tasty. Good wi-fi, friendly staff, apealing decor, and a fine selection of ales. I got one to go. We will return when we are back in the area.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kielbasaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
69 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Culture and Coffee”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Michael and Clare run an excellent cafe. The people are Virginians as am I by birth, so approach slowly. If there is time,the locals will enlighten your day. I have been suffering from a clog in psycho analysis and my message was there. There are many low priced books to pick up to read as are the local and national newspapers. Say hi to Michael and Clare who work hard to make their clients happy. Try the hummus and sesame bagel. Wild.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank G.l. M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good coffee.”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

One of many adequate coffeeshops in town. Comfortable atmosphere. Good coffee. Strong wifi. Food seems ok. Very convenient to Blackfriars Theater and Stonewall Jackson Hotel.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lwh3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simsbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place for coffee”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Nice spot to sit and people watch while enjoying your favorite beverage. Ok so the breakfast sandwich wasn't as good as some but it was tasty. Staff was very nice and great music too, they were playing Tom Waitts!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The By And By? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing