We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Tasty Gelato”
Review of The Split Banana

The Split Banana
Ranked #1 of 5 Dessert in Staunton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night
Belcamp, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Super Tasty Gelato”
Reviewed August 27, 2014

We were in Staunton for a weekend trip and we had heard that their gelato is not to be missed. We had just eaten lunch and were excited to taste the flavors they had. I really enjoyed the Pineapple Basil! My husband had the Cherry Cheesecake and Lemon flavors. My only regret is not coming by again to try another flavor.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LPhillips9607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    323
    88
    11
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
396 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Gelato wow!”
Reviewed August 25, 2014

My friend had a HUGE banana split...3 scoops....looked amazing but it was so rich there was no way I could eat all of that.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nav1go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best time ever”
Reviewed August 24, 2014

Food was great. Service was great. Can't wait to go back. Atmosphere was great. Party of ten and we all had a fabulous time.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bobby6877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent Gelato”
Reviewed August 23, 2014

We can't seem to walk by without stopping in for a dish of gelato.
All the flavors are great. I haven't tried one I didn't like!
A must for Gelato fans!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SVtravelsalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“It's GELATO, not ice cream”
Reviewed August 21, 2014

Is it the best ice cream/gelato in Staunton or surroundings? Yes. Does it have the most uproarious flavors? Yes. Do I like all of them? No. But who does? The Guinness stout got me.
The pistachio and espresso are great but the pineapple basil is especially great. Rich, tasty and refreshing to the palate as well as being delicious. Got to get more than two scoops tomorrow.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank drdblu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Split Banana also viewed

 

Been to The Split Banana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing