We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good gelato, friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Split Banana

The Split Banana
Ranked #1 of 5 Dessert in Staunton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good gelato, friendly staff”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

The gelato was good, the staff was friendly, enthusiastic and informative even though it was fairly late when we arrived. Homemade waffle bowls.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    305
    82
    10
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Washington
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Ice Cream on the Main Drag”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Wide ranging flavors of excellent ice cream served by friendly folks in a great small town atmosphere. When there was a brief lull in the crowd one of the folks behind the counter -- perhaps the owner? -- slipped out to the upright piano in the front window and serenaded us with a medley of American popular song. A great finish to an evening of dining in downtown Staunton.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cyclingsanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“New experience”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

After dinner at another restaurant in Staunton, we took in dessert at the Split Banana Co. The servers were helpful. The gelato was good. Numerous flavors to choose from. Ambience was informal with a rustic feel to the place.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lonnie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cresskill, New Jersey
Level Contributor
143 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“delicioso”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Family run spot withreally excellent gelato with ordinary and not so ordinary flavors, Coffee, music, nice staff. Loved the ancho chocolate. You can have a taste before you commit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lovetotrav0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Mmmmm...gelato to die for!”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Incredibly fresh, many ingredients locally-sourced, and all flavors natural, so the flavors really sing! (I took my niece twice!!) Highland County Maple and Pumpkin Pie were my faves, although the Hazlenut was so powerful, it's a close second! My niece got birthday cake and heath bar one night - we played "Switch" with our flavors every few minutes, so we got to try each other's flavors. The people were lovely and friendly. All in all, a wonderful experience.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank AisQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Split Banana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing