We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Best Ice Cream in Staunton” 5 of 5 stars
Review of the split banana co.

the split banana co.
Ranked #1 of 6 Dessert in Staunton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Gloucester, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Ice Cream in Staunton”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Skip the desert at the local eatery and take a walk to the Split Banana. They have a nice selection of wonderful ice cream and gelato. The portion selections are excellent at a fair price.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank palelae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    284
    76
    10
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Do Not Leave Staunton Without Stopping Here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Most awesome gelato on earth! Truly delicious. Rich,creamy,not too sweet and a little goes a long way. Stop in here for the best treat in central Virginia!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lauracvit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring City, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
548 reviews
334 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Great place right on the main street of Staunton.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

My husband and I were walking down the main street is Staunton, VA, when we saw some people sitting on a bench outside The Split Banana and eating ice cream. They told us it was wonderful and we decided to give it a try. They were so right!!!
I started by tasting and then had to have a waffle cone put into a dish and filled with 2 flavors of gelato. I had the Virginia Peanut Butter---amazing, and Hazlenut---super-amazing. My husband also had 2 great flavors.
Wonderful gelato in a busy place. Obviously, by the steady stream of customers, lots of people have discovered how good it is.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ellen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A sweet treat in downtown”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

What's not to like when you open the door to smell fresh waffle cones baking? The servers are quick to offer sample tastings of the selections of sorbet,gelatos, and ice creams. The flavors are delicious and since produced and presented in small containers stay fresh. Servings are small, but quality and flavor wins out. The small spoons help you savor these treats. A sweet treat indeed.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cruisequeen4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Wonderful icecream and gelato! The "Death By Chocolate" is my favorite and I love the strawberry and razberry. What a great place for Staunton!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Waverly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed the split banana co. also viewed

 

Been to the split banana co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing