We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A MUST”
Review of The Split Banana

The Split Banana
Ranked #1 of 5 Dessert in Staunton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A MUST”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

When ever I go to see my mom, this is a MUST. I really enjoy getting two different flavors when I order. The gelato is wonderful, I can not say enough.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank 2ndGradeMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    311
    83
    11
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Ice Cream -- Great Location”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Yum! Some of the best ice cream/gelato I've ever had! They have a wonderful selection of flavors -- including Guinness beer when we were there! They also have wonderful sorbet if that's your scene. You have to go here if you're in the Staunton area!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank CGeorgeDrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palatine, Illinois
Level Contributor
70 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice place, but not the best”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Tough to find places open after theater that is not a bar in Staunton, but if you are looking for a snack, this is the place

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Michael I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Great shakes”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Stopped in on a very hot day. I thought the espresso milkshake was delicious, but the price was a little steep.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank EmiliosItalian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nothing Special”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

For starters, the atmosphere inside the shop is very cute and reminscient of a 1950s ice cream shop. When ordering, you can choose between ice cream, gelato or sorbet, but there are a surprisingly small number of choices for each. With how much hype was given to this place, our entire party felt let down. While our dessert wasn't bad, it was also nothing special. Additionally, we felt as though portions were small and overpriced. We would not visit this place again.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kristin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Split Banana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing