We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, Warm, Worthwhile”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Star Tannery
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pembroke Springs Retreat
Ranked #1 of 1 Star Tannery B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 25, 2011

If you haven't visited Pembroke Springs B&B in Star Tannery you are missing out. This is the place to go to totally release, relax, and let go. The owners have created a lovely 5-room lodge, complete with Japanese baths overlooking the beautiful Shenandoah hill country. Forget the cell, IPhone, laptop, etc. Just chill out, enjoy the mellow ambience, and the hospitality of the owners. Also great for kids as they can roam free, walk with the dogs, play with the kitty, visit the geese, ducks and chickens and watch the deer and rabbits feed. This is a lovely, comfortable home and the Japanese hostess/owner is a fabuolous cook to boot. A truly great place to spend a few days relaxing and enjoying the beautiful surroundings.

Room Tip: All five rooms are beautifully furnished with American and Japanese antiques.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LYEVBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (40)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 40 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2011

Wow, I am difficult to impress, but this was so super nice! The hosts did a great job making it resemble a piece of Japan in the middle of Virginia. I loved the baths, loved the room, the Japanese breakfast, the animal pen with peacocks, the forest trails:) It is just 1.5 hrs away from D.C., yet you feel like you are transported into another time and place. The silence is almost deafening - exactly the way I like it after a crazy week in the city. We stayed in Oak Room - highly recommend it as is has its own porch and a beautiful view of the forest.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ruchei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2010

Pembroke Springs Retreat is located about 120 miles west of Washington DC. It has five lovely rooms with full baths, 2 fabulous large Japanese baths, and a view of North Mountain worth writing home about. There are well marked trails throughout the property for hiking, a tennis court, and fishing pond. If you make reservations for Wednesday or Friday Taeko prepares a lovely dinner...we had a tasty Japanese chicken and shrimp curry, mahi mahi ceviche with edamame, tea, and carrot cake. The breakfast is fabulous! It was grilled salmon, steamed acorn squash, a bit of asparagus and tomato, a slice of frittata type egg, and best of all the bowl of rice with instructions on how to beat up a raw egg with soy sauce and pouring it over the rice, a seaweed salad, and seaweed wafers...it was outstanding and made you feel very well nourished. After a hike into the mountain and one more soaking in the bath, we left feeling very happy and refreshed. Taeko, Walter, Lisa, and Yoko were just wonderful.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VirginiaLily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank popotan8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TomomiSuga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sayakomama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tsuyoshi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Star Tannery
15.2 mi away
The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel
15.2 mi away
Hotel Modern Winchester
Hotel Modern Winchester
#15 of 25 in Winchester
503 reviews
12.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Strasburg Shenandoah Valley
9.8 mi away
Wayside Inn
Wayside Inn
#1 of 3 in Middletown
93 reviews
24.8 mi away
Lost Forest Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pembroke Springs Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pembroke Springs Retreat

Address: 6238 Wardensville Grade, Star Tannery, VA 22654-1852
Location: United States > Virginia > Star Tannery
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Star Tannery
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing