We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Southern Breakfast Delight”
Review of Hawksbill Diner

Hawksbill Diner
Ranked #1 of 9 Restaurants in Stanley
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Reviewed May 20, 2018 via mobile

If you're traveling to the Shenandoah area this is a must for breakfast at least one day on your trip. Personally I had the biscuits and gravy and they were very very good. The staff was extremely nice and the prices are very reasonable.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Ron K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (100)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 100 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2018

Great little local diner. Service was quick, server very nice, food was delicious, portions generous but not overly so. Went for breakfast and got a basic breakfast, which is exactly what I wanted and did not disappoint. I am very particular about my bacon and they nailed it. (I just can't eat bacon that is chewy at all.) The menu had quite a few classic southern breakfasts and they had French toast that looked really good too. The cost was very nice, and I think would be no issue for the budget-minded diner. I'll go back again next time I'm there. The only thing-make sure you have cash, no credit or debit cards!

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank julie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2018 via mobile

We were staying in the area and saw this place and thought we’d give it a try. Great food with even greater prices! They were very quick in getting our food out even when it seemed a little busy. Would definitely recommend if you are visiting the area!

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank jn2244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2018 via mobile

Great food, great people. This place doesn’t look like much from the outside, but all the goodness is on the inside!! The food is homestyle and southern and it is excellent. The waitresses are amazing!! They are friendly and they make you feel like family!!

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank sgore025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2018 via mobile

This is an awesome local family-owned place! Surprisingly, Luray doesn’t have a lot of local restaurants that have a decent breakfast service let alone on Sunday morning. This place is well worth the 10-20 minute picturesque drive from Luray to Stanley. Decor is diner all the way but extremely clean and welcoming. The service was great and given with a smile. They offer things like steak and eggs but I had the chicken fried steak with gravy, eggs, home fries and toast. There’s nothing fancy here but that’s the charm - great food and service from a place that makes someone from out of town feel like they are at home. ***BRING CASH*** They do not accept any other form of payment! There are gas station 1/2 mile away from either way you come in with ATMs - stop there if you don’t have cash.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank Foodiein757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hawksbill Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing