We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Major Part of the Best Day of Our Lives.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stanley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
White Fence Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 2 Stanley B&B and Inns
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Major Part of the Best Day of Our Lives.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2010

My fiance Ian and I decided to run away to get married. We did quite a bit of searching online for that place that would still make our day special and our dreams come true. Let's me just say our dreams were Exceeded! We called Mike and Sally. Sally was very helpful in giving us information on where we could find the courthouse to get our license. She allowed me to pick our wedding colors. We decided to come down Tuesday night and stay in Luray, and then moved over to White Fence Wednesday. Mike and Sally were very welcoming. I got to meet their little dog Daisy also and was greeted with kisses. We settled into our gorgeous cottage. Don't let the outside appearance trick you. It's very spacious inside and amazingly decorated. Has even the littlest touches to make it homey. We settle in. Ian went out to the gazebo to wait on me. Sally came in and zipped me up. She shot some cute photos even then. Sally has quite the excellent photographic eye. Our pictures were amazing! Mike made the ceremony special and it felt personal instead of something generic you'd get eloping some where else. We took lots of pictures after the ceremony as well. We had an excellent night trying out all the amenities of the cottage. The sheets were so soft and when we did finally sleep it was a very restful. We chose to have the breakfast basket delivered to us in the morning so we could have a lazy breakfast in bed. Even for a simpler breakfast since it wasn't in the main house it was delicious. I'm still craving those croissants.

All in all Mike and Sally made our wedding and our first night as husband and wife more than I ever had dreamed of, and so much more than I ever could have asked for.

We will definitely be coming back for our anniversary next year. Our wedding photos are up on White Fence's website. Look for MacDonald if you'd like to view our special day.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank XJIceQueen98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    11
    3
    3
    6
See reviews for
6
53
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2010

My boyfriend and I were looking to get out of DC for the weekend and were lucky enough to stumble upon this great B&B. We stayed in the Carriage House, which is a cottage just off the main property. It was very romantic, with a fireplace and a jacuzzi. I understand there had been some drama with previous management, but the folks running the place now was fantastic. They were very friendly and cooked delicious multiple course breakfasts both mornings. They accommodated my vegetarian needs very well. We could not have picked a better place to escape city life. While it was a little awkward not being a married couple (and assumed to be), it was not a big problem.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CAandDCTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC Area
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2009

Very clean, well maintained property.
Prompt, copious and wonderful breakfast.
Very warm welcome from the Owner.
Very pleasant experience overall.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisLeProvencal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitefence, Owner at White Fence Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 22, 2009
Yes it is true! Mike and Sally, the owners are back and running the White Fence Bed and Breakfast once more, having been absent for six months. We would like to apologise to anybody who may have had any problems whatsoever with the management or service during their stay since May 1st. from our tenants, who have now been removed from the business.

The best way for anyone to make their mind up about coming to stay with us is to look at reviews prior to May 1st. We still aspire to be "the best Bed and Breakfast" and wedding venue and look forward to welcoming you as guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2009

Clean rooms, quiet area. Rooms were beautifully decorated. We enjoyed the elephant-shaped rolled towels! :) Innkeepers are both great people who want to give you a great stay in their B&B. Looking forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toorae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2009

return visit to celebrate one year wedding anniversary -- was a total disaster. Previous owners of this bed and breakfast were wonderful and truly made our wedding held at this bed and breakfast better than we could have ever imagined. The new owners are bitter about having to honor gifts certificates that were purchased at this bed and breakfast with the previous owners. The new owners lack the qualities needed to be inn keepers. Our suggestion to potential customers is be careful about prepaying for any stay at this bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank patsy1Pennsylvania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2009

Highly recommend!!! Very charming & comfortable atmosphere. Breakfast was delicious. Owners were friendly and accommodating. This peaceful little hideaway exceeded our expectations.
Wedding Package was exquisite. Beautiful bouquet,boutonniere and delicious cake. Over 200 pics. all included.
Cindy and Wayne took care of everything all I had to do was tell them my wedding colors and choice of flowers.
No hassle or worries.
Wonderful place for a weekend getaway. Great place to stay in the fall if you come down to see the changing of the leaves at Skyline Drive.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sable20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the White Fence B&B for two nights this August. The carriage house cabin we stayed in was lovely, spacious, and comfortable. The jacuzzi tub was as good as advertised. My favourite part was the breakfast basket that we asked for the first morning. The food was abundant and beautifully prepared, and it was great being able to eat in the comfort of our own room. We did have breakfast in the house the second morning, and it was enjoyable as well. The location was well placed, near enough to Luray and Stanley to provide good restaurant options, and we loved how close it was to the Shenandoah National Park and the Luray Caverns. The one criticism we had is that the innkeepers seem to be fairly new to the area. They weren't able to give us many tips as to the best places to eat or find entertainment and seemed a bit shy and awkward, to be honest. On the whole though, it was a great place to stay, and we thoroughly enjoyed our two nights there.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AFmeetsIndo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stanley
6.3 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#3 of 9 in Luray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
6.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Intown Luray
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
The Cardinal Inn
The Cardinal Inn
#4 of 9 in Luray
3.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
7.9 mi away
Days Inn Luray Shenandoah
6.1 mi away
Skyland
Skyland
#1 of 1 in Shenandoah National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Fence Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Fence Bed & Breakfast

Property: White Fence Bed & Breakfast
Address: 275 Chapel Rd, Stanley, VA 22851-4130
Location: United States > Virginia > Stanley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Stanley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
White Fence Bed and Breakfast, a Shenandoah Valley bed and breakfast, in Stanley, Virginia is an 1843 Queen Anne Victorian on 3 acres.We cater to those seeking private, romantic accommodations in beautiful surroundings. Two distinctively decorated romantic guest cottages await you. Our B&B is less than a mile down the road from Page County's only operating vineyard, Wisteria Farm and Vineyard. We offer an Elopement Wedding Package and Honeymoon Anniversary Packages.Escape to White Fence for a weekend getaway or come mid week when the area is less crowded. We deliver a very filling Continental Breakfast which includes protein, fiber, carbs and fruit to your cottage. Choose one of our private cottages where you can enjoy your whirlpool tub and fireplace. Your privacy is assured. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing