We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Married”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stanley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
White Fence Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 2 Stanley B&B and Inns
Virginia Beach, VA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just Married”
Reviewed July 21, 2008

My new husband and I were married at White Fence on June 7, 2008. Mike officiated and Sally took pictures. We got married near the large magnolia tree on the grounds, and our wedding was everything we wanted. Mike and Sally were amazing hosts, and our accomodations in the Blue Ridge Carriage House were well above our expecations.

The Carriage House is really a private cottage. It was spacious and clean with a fireplace, jacuzzi tub, and a little kitchenette. Even the mini-fridge was stocked with some cold sodas! The cottage was definitely beyond our expectations and we were blown away by how nice it was.

Mike and Sally were so friendly and so interesting to talk to, and they had some great recommendations for places to eat in Luray (which is only a short drive away). Breakfast was delicious -- we loved the breakfast basket delivered to our door.

We will definitely return!

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jdani06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    11
    3
    3
    6
See reviews for
6
54
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
1 review
Reviewed July 21, 2008

My husband and I wanted to find a Bed and Breakfast for our 4th anniversary instead of a boring hotel. The White Fence Inn had been recommended to us by friends of ours, so we decided to stay there for 2 nights.

The landscape was beautiful; I can see how it's a popular wedding site. The hosts were very gracious to us and accommodated our every request, such as an earlier check-in, our wish to view the other guest quarters (before the others arrived), and they even provided us with breakfast earlier one morning so we could start our day earlier. The food was delicious and they kept offering us more!

The jacuzzi was a neat experience to have, and we were very pleased with the French Lavender suite that we chose.

We found lots to do in the area, such as berry picking, flea markets, hiking, the Caverns, and cute little restaurants in Luray. The entertainment book provided in each room was very helpful to us, as we hadn't researched activities to do in the area.

Mike and Sally were gracious hosts and we enjoyed talking with them about the history of the inn. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Liked — The rooms were beautiful and larger than a hotel room.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank witheveryday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, VA
1 review
Reviewed July 19, 2008

We wanted to get away from the city and looked at several Bed and Breakfasts online. When we finally decided on the White Fence, we were pleased. We communicated with them through e-mail to set up a couple of extra treats for us - and the entire experience was absolutely wonderful.

The breakfasts were delicious - and more than one little plate of food! We were served promptly and even though we were there for three days, each breakfast was different. We enjoyed spending that breakfast time with two other couples and enjoyed talking to both Sally and Mike. They had helpful hints about the area as well as good directions.

The room was so nice - and yes, they do live directly below the Shenandoah room - that's the way B&B's are. The family lives in the same house. The bed was very comfortable and the sheets were NOT old - but rather crisp and they felt wonderful. We had our own AC controls and were quite comfortable the entire time.

We were asked if the cats bothered us - which they didn't - but they made it quite clear that they would keep them out of our way. At no time were they in the dining room. Yes - they were outside and oh my goodness, not in the way at all. We spent a couple of evenings out on the front porch watching fireflies and we appreciated the quietness. The lawn was well manicured and just beautiful.

In no way did we feel micro-managed at all. We were given a tour of our suite and then really just left alone. There were a few instructions around the room including a caution about being careful about red wine and instructions about using the jacuzzi which I very much appreciated.

I saw that someone in a previous review couldn't figure out how to use the "old fashioned key". Well my goodness - this is a Victorian house and that is the type of key they used. We had no trouble using the key and I'm sure if we had have, we could have easily asked Mike and Sally and they would have helped.

There were movies and books available, a CD player with a couple of relaxing CD's provided, a refrigerator, coffee maker, microwave, hair dryer, robes, TV etc. etc. Sally made a wonderful picnic lunch for us one afternoon - I was amazed how much was provided for us! It was delicious.

I'm so sorry to see the previous post with a bad review. I know you can't please everybody - but we had a wonderful time at a beautiful B&B and we will definitely return as well as recommend it! Don't miss out on this opportunity!

  • Liked — The house itself - the hospitality - the suite
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DCTransplant53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, MD
1 review
Reviewed July 19, 2008

Just married, we drove down to the beautiful Shenandoah Valley for our week long honeymoon. As we drove up the road and turned into the driveway, we were greeted by quaint landscaping and a charming house. We opted to stay in the Blue Ridge Carriage House which exceeded all of our expectations. Cozy and quiet, we spent much of our time just enjoying each others company in the peaceful atmosphere. The cottage was even stocked with a great selection of movies! Mike and Sally were every bit as charming as the cottage. Both were very informative of the area and made very good suggestions. The food was exceptional! We ate something different every morning and the warm, flaky croissants were a favorite! We got the breakfast basket two of those mornings which was a nice option if you want to spend the morning in bed. They were left on the front step after a knock on the door. Privacy was very much respected. If you are looking for a bed and breakfast experience, this is the way to go. Don't come expecting a hotel, because its not. If you are not willing to be personable and relax in a family type environment, we saw a few motels in Stanley you could stay in, but you simply will not get the excellent service and hospitality we very much enjoyed during our stay at the White Fence Bed & Breakfast. We look forward to our anniversary there!

  • Liked — Peaceful, relaxed, quiet atmosphere
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Sm1thbl1ss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
1 review
Reviewed July 18, 2008

For Valentines Day my boyfriend suprised me with a weekend getaway at this charming Bed and Breakfast. I was a bit nervous, having never experienced a place like this before, but upon entering I felt completely at ease. We were welcomed with open arms by the owners and by the most adorable puppy you have ever laid eyes on! We already knew about the pets in the house since my boyfriend always does his research and we were happy to be in such a loving environment.

We were guided to our room and to my surprise and delight it was decorated in my favorite color (which you will have to experience to find out). One of the most romantic aspects of the room was the double sided glass fireplace. We could relax in the sitting room or enjoy the view from the plush sleigh bed in the master bedroom. We were impressed with the spacious bathroom and the private Jacuzzi which was perfect after a long day of exploring the beautiful Shenandoah National Park.

Breakfast was served sharply at 8 am where we met the other young couples, one of whom had just gotten married the night before. It seems as thought the White Fence attracts easy going, kind people. It must be the owner’s great hospitality and the positive energy that is clearly felt about the place. All three couples were completely smitten.

As far as adventures go, the Shenandoah National Park is roughly a 30 minute drive through some of the most awe-inspiring landscape. If you 've never witnessed what this park has to offer start making plans today :) Also the neighboring towns have plenty of eclectic shops, galleries and don't forget about the array of caverns that are available to visit.

I would highly recommend this cozy getaway to any couple with peaceful hearts, who love to enjoy life’s simple pleasures and great hospitality.

  • Liked — all of it
  • Disliked — that we had to leave
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Beachpeace79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithfield
1 review
Reviewed July 18, 2008

The White Fence Bed and Breakfast was a beautiful end to our honeymoon. The cottage was absolutely beautiful and cozy. The breakfasts each morning were delicious. The location and atmosphere were relaxing and romantic. We would recommend the White Fence Bed and Breakfast as a great location to spend a romantic getaway.

  • Liked — The coziness and romantic cottage
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Everly2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lehi, UT
2 reviews
Reviewed June 7, 2008

I wouldn't go here if I could do it again. It is a nice place, but we just couldn't feel comfortable here.

Having just moved to DC for the summer, I had to move fast to find somewhere to go for our 5th wedding anniversary. This place had what we were looking for (decent looking rooms, jacuzzi tub for two, under $200/night, just within driving distance). I had to call and ask for a one night exception to the two night minimum stay.

It is located right in the middle of a small town, not much of an out of the way feel with regular homes up and down the street. The grounds are beautiful and well-kept.

When we walked in we were greated by one of the four or five CATS living in the main building with the owners. We don't mind cats and have one of our own, but we couldn't help to think of some of our friends who would have had to just turn around and leave upon finding this out. It took some fancy footwork to step around the lazy things on our way up to our room (and watch out for Molly, she bites).

The main building has the Shenendoah and the Lavender suites on the second floor with the owners living directly below the Shenendoah suite in which we stayed. We felt totally uncomfortable knowing they were right below us in a creaky old house. Then to make things worse, there are all these signs posted around the room about what you shouldn't be doing. I actually was looking for hidden cameras, thinking they would want to know if we were abiding by the rules. So knowing they are real picky about what you do in the room combined with them living right below, we couldn't help but wonder if they were going to come up and check on us if we dropped something, talked too loud, tested the springs in the bed, etc. Also, they were cooking some barbecue smelling food for dinner and the smell wafted up through the house. We couldn't figure out how to lock our door with the old fashioned key, so we felt even more vulnerable.

The bed seemed nice at first, but the bedding was skimpy. We both woke up with sore backs and the sheets were a little old and rough.

We met a couple at breakfast that was married the day before and another that was getting married that day. They commented on the bugs that made an unwelcome visit during the ceremony, but seemed to be having an ok experience overall.

Then, last and least of all, the breakfast. I think we got that Country Breakfast Casserole. After getting back, I looked up the breakfast part of the website and feel that we got screwed. The casserole was awful, mushy in parts and dry in others. There were croutons in it, and I don't see that ingredient in the recipe posted online. They do make some really good jam though.

  • Liked — The attractiveness of the grounds
  • Disliked — The breakfast
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Crackilate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperStanleyVA, Owner at White Fence Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 25, 2008
We have owned and run the White Fence since November 2007 and during that time have had the pleasure of meeting over 250 couples - and have married 75 of them. We have been overwhelmed by the positive comments made and are already beginning to get return bookings and referrals. We have a Guest Comments book in every suite – the pages of these have been filled with positive remarks. The reviewer [Crackilate] made no adverse comments in the book during his stay with us, nor did he address any adverse comments to ourselves before checking out.
The Property is in a wonderful location on the edge of a quiet town and is surrounded by three acres of landscaped gardens.
We have a cat called Molly who comes in and out of the main house as she pleases. We inherited her from a much loved daughter who died of cancer and she therefore has a special place in our family. She also seems to be spoilt by a large number of our guests. Our other cats never come into the public areas of the main house [and never sleep on the stairs] but spend their time out around the lawns and trees. They also tend to be shamefully petted by many of our guests.
The Shenandoah suite situated on the second floor of the main house is very popular and everyone who stays in it comments on how private it feels.
We display notices in all of our suites, consisting of: a 'what to do in the case of fire' notice, information on breakfast and check-out times and advice on how to get the best use out of the jacuzzi tub. Needless to say, our guests find these useful.
The house was constructed around 1845 and is fairly typical of its age and style. Much of its charm has been retained by keeping such original features as the oak staircase, trims, moldings, doors, door locks etc.
The beds and bedding in the two main house suites were all new in November 2007.
While it is true that insects ( bugs ) can be a nuisance in any yard, we make sure that our marrying couples are happy with the current situation and always offer the alternative of a wedding indoors if they wish. On that occasion both couples chose to be married out of doors.
Breakfast at the White Fence, consists of three courses and alternatives such as cereal and home made muesli are always available. The third course is a home cooked egg dish and changes daily. Second helpings are taken frequently and very rarely do we see an unfinished meal. Anyone familiar with any cooking will be aware that there are many hundreds of Breakfast Casserole recipes. The one on our web-site is purely an example. The particular casserole with croutons has proved to be extremely popular with most guests, one person in particular taking three helpings the other day.









Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stanley
6.2 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
974 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Cardinal Inn
The Cardinal Inn
#4 of 9 in Luray
131 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#3 of 9 in Luray
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Days Inn Luray Shenandoah
6.3 mi away
Best Western Intown Luray
6.1 mi away
Skyland
Skyland
#1 of 1 in Shenandoah National Park
2,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Fence Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Fence Bed & Breakfast

Property: White Fence Bed & Breakfast
Address: 275 Chapel Rd, Stanley, VA 22851-4130
Location: United States > Virginia > Stanley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Stanley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
White Fence Bed and Breakfast, a Shenandoah Valley bed and breakfast, in Stanley, Virginia is an 1843 Queen Anne Victorian on 3 acres.We cater to those seeking private, romantic accommodations in beautiful surroundings. Two distinctively decorated romantic guest cottages await you. Our B&B is less than a mile down the road from Page County's only operating vineyard, Wisteria Farm and Vineyard. We offer an Elopement Wedding Package and Honeymoon Anniversary Packages.Escape to White Fence for a weekend getaway or come mid week when the area is less crowded. We deliver a very filling Continental Breakfast which includes protein, fiber, carbs and fruit to your cottage. Choose one of our private cottages where you can enjoy your whirlpool tub and fireplace. Your privacy is assured. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing