We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant surprise”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stanley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
White Fence Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 2 Stanley B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 18, 2008

For Valentines Day my boyfriend suprised me with a weekend getaway at this charming Bed and Breakfast. I was a bit nervous, having never experienced a place like this before, but upon entering I felt completely at ease. We were welcomed with open arms by the owners and by the most adorable puppy you have ever laid eyes on! We already knew about the pets in the house since my boyfriend always does his research and we were happy to be in such a loving environment.

We were guided to our room and to my surprise and delight it was decorated in my favorite color (which you will have to experience to find out). One of the most romantic aspects of the room was the double sided glass fireplace. We could relax in the sitting room or enjoy the view from the plush sleigh bed in the master bedroom. We were impressed with the spacious bathroom and the private Jacuzzi which was perfect after a long day of exploring the beautiful Shenandoah National Park.

Breakfast was served sharply at 8 am where we met the other young couples, one of whom had just gotten married the night before. It seems as thought the White Fence attracts easy going, kind people. It must be the owner’s great hospitality and the positive energy that is clearly felt about the place. All three couples were completely smitten.

As far as adventures go, the Shenandoah National Park is roughly a 30 minute drive through some of the most awe-inspiring landscape. If you 've never witnessed what this park has to offer start making plans today :) Also the neighboring towns have plenty of eclectic shops, galleries and don't forget about the array of caverns that are available to visit.

I would highly recommend this cozy getaway to any couple with peaceful hearts, who love to enjoy life’s simple pleasures and great hospitality.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Beachpeace79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 67 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2008

The White Fence Bed and Breakfast was a beautiful end to our honeymoon. The cottage was absolutely beautiful and cozy. The breakfasts each morning were delicious. The location and atmosphere were relaxing and romantic. We would recommend the White Fence Bed and Breakfast as a great location to spend a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Everly2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2008

I wouldn't go here if I could do it again. It is a nice place, but we just couldn't feel comfortable here.

Having just moved to DC for the summer, I had to move fast to find somewhere to go for our 5th wedding anniversary. This place had what we were looking for (decent looking rooms, jacuzzi tub for two, under $200/night, just within driving distance). I had to call and ask for a one night exception to the two night minimum stay.

It is located right in the middle of a small town, not much of an out of the way feel with regular homes up and down the street. The grounds are beautiful and well-kept.

When we walked in we were greated by one of the four or five CATS living in the main building with the owners. We don't mind cats and have one of our own, but we couldn't help to think of some of our friends who would have had to just turn around and leave upon finding this out. It took some fancy footwork to step around the lazy things on our way up to our room (and watch out for Molly, she bites).

The main building has the Shenendoah and the Lavender suites on the second floor with the owners living directly below the Shenendoah suite in which we stayed. We felt totally uncomfortable knowing they were right below us in a creaky old house. Then to make things worse, there are all these signs posted around the room about what you shouldn't be doing. I actually was looking for hidden cameras, thinking they would want to know if we were abiding by the rules. So knowing they are real picky about what you do in the room combined with them living right below, we couldn't help but wonder if they were going to come up and check on us if we dropped something, talked too loud, tested the springs in the bed, etc. Also, they were cooking some barbecue smelling food for dinner and the smell wafted up through the house. We couldn't figure out how to lock our door with the old fashioned key, so we felt even more vulnerable.

The bed seemed nice at first, but the bedding was skimpy. We both woke up with sore backs and the sheets were a little old and rough.

We met a couple at breakfast that was married the day before and another that was getting married that day. They commented on the bugs that made an unwelcome visit during the ceremony, but seemed to be having an ok experience overall.

Then, last and least of all, the breakfast. I think we got that Country Breakfast Casserole. After getting back, I looked up the breakfast part of the website and feel that we got screwed. The casserole was awful, mushy in parts and dry in others. There were croutons in it, and I don't see that ingredient in the recipe posted online. They do make some really good jam though.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Crackilate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperStanleyVA, Owner at White Fence Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2008

We have owned and run the White Fence since November 2007 and during that time have had the pleasure of meeting over 250 couples - and have married 75 of them. We have been overwhelmed by the positive comments made and are already beginning to get return bookings and referrals. We have a Guest Comments book in every suite – the pages of these have been filled with positive remarks. The reviewer [Crackilate] made no adverse comments in the book during his stay with us, nor did he address any adverse comments to ourselves before checking out.
The Property is in a wonderful location on the edge of a quiet town and is surrounded by three acres of landscaped gardens.
We have a cat called Molly who comes in and out of the main house as she pleases. We inherited her from a much loved daughter who died of cancer and she therefore has a special place in our family. She also seems to be spoilt by a large number of our guests. Our other cats never come into the public areas of the main house [and never sleep on the stairs] but spend their time out around the lawns and trees. They also tend to be shamefully petted by many of our guests.
The Shenandoah suite situated on the second floor of the main house is very popular and everyone who stays in it comments on how private it feels.
We display notices in all of our suites, consisting of: a 'what to do in the case of fire' notice, information on breakfast and check-out times and advice on how to get the best use out of the jacuzzi tub. Needless to say, our guests find these useful.
The house was constructed around 1845 and is fairly typical of its age and style. Much of its charm has been retained by keeping such original features as the oak staircase, trims, moldings, doors, door locks etc.
The beds and bedding in the two main house suites were all new in November 2007.
While it is true that insects ( bugs ) can be a nuisance in any yard, we make sure that our marrying couples are happy with the current situation and always offer the alternative of a wedding indoors if they wish. On that occasion both couples chose to be married out of doors.
Breakfast at the White Fence, consists of three courses and alternatives such as cereal and home made muesli are always available. The third course is a home cooked egg dish and changes daily. Second helpings are taken frequently and very rarely do we see an unfinished meal. Anyone familiar with any cooking will be aware that there are many hundreds of Breakfast Casserole recipes. The one on our web-site is purely an example. The particular casserole with croutons has proved to be extremely popular with most guests, one person in particular taking three helpings the other day.









Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2008

My husband and I had a very small wedding there. The owners were very nice. They paid attention to the details which meant a lot. Sally took wonderful pictures. Now we can share our wedding with others who were not able to be there. Although we did not stay the night, I would still recommend this bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank applecrisp178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2007

I actually like the area around Stanley, although the town seems a bit washed out. However, cannot recommend the B&B and would recommend that others in the areas be considered. The comments about the proprietors micromanaging are pretty accurate.

Stayed: July 2004
Thank justicat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2007

My wife and I were looking for a quiet break after a very busy winter and we searched the internet. After a great deal of research, we settled on the White Fence Bed & Breakfast in the Virginia countryside.

In a few short hours we left behind Queens New York and were enjoying a peacful drive to our destination. What we found when we arrived far exceeded our expectations. My wife and I found the White Fence to be even better than the photos we found on the web and the breakfast was incredible.

We may try to make it back down there in the fall when the trees are in full color!

Overall we found this to be a great value and exaclty what we wanted, a place to decompress in comfort.

Jim - Queens, NYC

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank jimhuss54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2007

We stayed recently at White Fence and were so impressed with the attention to detail at this place. We stayed in the main house in the Shenandoah Suite which was decorated so beautifully. Even though the house was built in the late 1800’s the house and property are so well maintained that you would never guess it’s that old. The Suite was spacious with beautiful wood floors and a two sided fireplace. We are tall people and the whirlpool tub easily accommodated both of us. The bathroom itself was huge & the towels were oversized and fluffy. There wasn’t a thing we could have wanted that Tom and Gwen hadn’t thought of. The breakfasts were sinful. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank tennisbuff666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stanley
6.1 mi away
Skyland
Skyland
#1 of 1 in Shenandoah National Park
2,321 reviews
4.2 mi away
Big Meadows Lodge
Big Meadows Lodge
#1 of 8 in Shenandoah National Park
1,167 reviews
0.7 mi away
Daughter of the Stars Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Fence Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Fence Bed & Breakfast

Address: 275 Chapel Rd, Stanley, VA 22851-4130
Location: United States > Virginia > Stanley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Stanley
Price Range: $170 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
White Fence Bed and Breakfast, a Shenandoah Valley bed and breakfast, in Stanley, Virginia is an 1843 Queen Anne Victorian on 3 acres.We cater to those seeking private, romantic accommodations in beautiful surroundings. Two distinctively decorated romantic guest cottages await you. Our B&B is less than a mile down the road from Page County's only operating vineyard, Wisteria Farm and Vineyard. We offer an Elopement Wedding Package and Honeymoon Anniversary Packages.Escape to White Fence for a weekend getaway or come mid week when the area is less crowded. We deliver a very filling Continental Breakfast which includes protein, fiber, carbs and fruit to your cottage. Choose one of our private cottages where you can enjoy your whirlpool tub and fireplace. Your privacy is assured. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing