We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect wedding!!”

Lafayette Inn & Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Lafayette Inn & Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Route 33 Bypass
Description: 2014 DINERS CHOICE- Open Table. Sophisticated Southern Cuisine. An approachable yet elegant dining experience. Named "Virginia"s Restaurant of the Year" by the Food & Wine Society. Regions top "Gourmet Burger" lunch. Wine Enthusiast award winning wine list representing dozens of Virginia wines and countless other New World selections. Located just 6 miles off of Skyline Drive. 30-40 minutes East of Harrisonburg, 20 minutes north of Charlottesville and 30 minutes south of Culpeper.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“The perfect wedding!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

We could not have had a more wonderful wedding. Alan and Kaye are amazing. They accommodated all my special requests(children, special dietary needs)without skipping a beat. All of their suggestions for the cake and music were spot on. The rooms are lovely and the food is delicious. We can't wait to go back next year. : )

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Annfk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    40
    12
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Fitting End”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

We spent the ;last night of a 5 week trip to Virginia and the Carolinas at the Lafayette Inn. It proved to be a wonderful climax to a great holiday. We were warmly welcomed by Alan and Kaye and enjoyed an excellent dinner in the restaurant. One of many great memories to bring home.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Colin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food at the Lafayette Inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

We had a great dinner at the Layfette. We had a voucher from the Greene Mountain Inn [see separate review] for a Saturday night dinner. The restaurant is in the center of Standardsville, VA and offers a good variety menu including pork, lamb and beef, and hamburgers up to TWO pounds. A good wine list of local and California wines is available at modest prices; try the local wines -- they really are better. Service may seem a little slow with only two waitresses, but they do hustle and it was not a long wait.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeryl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
1 review
“Top of the Line!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed at the Lafayette Inn two nights while in town for a family reunion. The accommodations were excellent. The breakfast was very good and wished we had the time to have had dinner. Alan and Kaye have done a great job with the Lafayette Inn and we appreciated the great care they take with each of their guests. We will definitely stay there again when we are back in town.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Desiefun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Was a Nice Change”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

Have passed this restaurant and inn a hundred times, this evening, decided to do something different and drove the 25 minute drive over the mountain. Had made reservations using opentable.com which is absolutely great.

The food was good, the portions were a little larger than I would have expected, perhaps a little too large. The only thing our group did not care for was the Spinach Salad, the spinach leaves had flavor but there was no palatable dressing and a few crispy piece of bacon sprinkled around, would not order again.

The Fried Green Tomatoes, Southern Egg Rolls and Crab Martini were very delicious. Steaks were cooked to perfection and very flavorful. My son-in-law absolutely loved the Shrimp and Grits.

They only had one server tonight (don't know why) and she did her best but for the $$ spent, it could have been better service.

Earlier today I read a 2012 review that said that they have gourmet frozen food and microwave them, so not true. Don't pay attention to that review. Perhaps they had poor food during their visit but it was not a Gourmet TV Dinner.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank USArmyMom22846
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lafayette Inn & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Lafayette Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing