We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lafayette Inn and Restaurant
Nearby Hotels
$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville(Charlottesville)(Great Value!)
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard by Marriott Charlottesville North(Charlottesville)(Great Value!)
$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlottesville North(Charlottesville)(Great Value!)
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Super 8 Charlottesville(Charlottesville)
$72
$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hyatt Place Charlottesville(Charlottesville)(Great Value!)
$196
$181
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn Charlottesville(Charlottesville)(Great Value!)
$149
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville(Charlottesville)(Great Value!)
$134
Homewood
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Inn Motel(Charlottesville)
Booking.com
View Deal
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (221)
Filter reviews
221 results
Traveler rating
157
46
7
7
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
157
46
7
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschef's tastingcome hungrychef alannext morningstone ground gritswashington roombottle of champagneshrimp and gritsshenandoah national parkvirginia wineriesnice bathroomsitting areathe entire staffbeds were comfortablewafflespairingcottage
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
122 - 127 of 221 reviews
Reviewed June 21, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and meals at the Lafayette Inn. Alan was especially welcoming and hospitable. The Jefferson room was pleasant, charming, and comfortable. The 10 course dinner with wine pairing was exceptional. Chef Alan did a great job describing each course, identifying the wine, and explaining the reason for the pairing. His relaxed demeanor helped make our stay more enjoyable.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

We have had better frozen dinner meals. The one dot is for the salad. Beyond that the meat was tough and over salted. The potatoes were lumpy and the string beans were overcooked and stringy. The price for this disappointment was outrageous. They must have paid someone to give them any award, or it was a different chef. And lastly the service was Hell's Kitchen at its worst.
AT

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrienne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette1840, Owner at Lafayette Inn and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

We are obviously sorry we did not live up to your expectations. Our proven track record (from guest reviews) indicates we usually do- we hope you'll return and judge (again) for yourself. Apologies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2014

I found the deal that included a stay at this historic Inn and a chef tasting dinner of 10 courses on Living Social. And was it a great treat!!! And a bday gift to myself!!!
Alan, the owner and chef did such a wonderful job from the moment I called to make reservations, all the way thru our delicious dinner and stay until the next day!!!
The dinner was delicious and so well thought thru, with so much fun and detailed info on the dishes and pairing wines, that I and my fiance truly felt like a royalty!
A great destination for a weekend or longer getaway with so much pleasure at the Inn and Restaurant as well as in the overall historic and wine area!!!
Thank you very much and we'll look forward to coming back again whenever time allows.
Natalya and Greg

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zzvezzda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette1840, Owner at Lafayette Inn and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2014

Thanks! We certainly enjoyed your visit (and Salsa!) as well. Alan & Kaye

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

We had such a wonderful weekend at this beautiful, quaint Inn celebrating my Dad's 83rd birthday! We stayed in Dicey's Cottage and the Tyler room and both were absolutely perfect! Of course the restaurant service and meals were the best!!! From the full breakfast to the delicious chef's creations paired with wonderful wines at dinner - we could not have asked for more! We also enjoyed the close proximity of Skyline Drive, Luray Caverns, numerous wineries and all that this quiet area has to offer. Thanks so much to Alan and Kaye for a very memorable and much needed weekend away! We can't wait to come back and visit again very soon!!!! :)

Room Tip: Loved Dicey's Cottage!!!
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toni Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette1840, Owner at Lafayette Inn and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2014

Your visit went by (too) quick for us also. Wonderful visit- we look forward to your return. - Alan & Kaye

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Apologies for the late review! On Sunday 3/16/14 my husband & I stayed overnight in the Monroe Room and participated in the 10 course chef’s tasting with wine pairing. We used a voucher we bought from Living Social. Making the reservation was easy and we communicated with Chef Alan via email for confirmation, etc. Initially we were worried about not being able to eat all of the food served because of our small appetites, but Chef Alan was very reassuring and receptive to our needs.

On the day of our arrival we were aware that Stanardsville was due to get 5”-8” of snow that evening. When we arrived it was snowing pretty hard, but honestly it made the neighborhood that much more quaint. The Lafayette Inn is nestled in a small town filled with history; it really looked like something out of a painting. We came inside the Inn & Chef Alan was there to greet us and brought us to our room. He pointed out “Monty” on the second floor which is a sort of statue that we didn't get; it looked like a dead man in a waiter’s outfit, top hat, and serving tray. Monty wasn't scary really, but utterly bizarre. If there is a story about him, we missed it.

The Monroe Room was very lovely. It is on the second floor and it is accessed by walking upstairs and going outside to the porch which wraps around, so the room is accessed from the outside porch. We were given a mini bottle of champagne and a few small bags of almonds. After a 4 hour drive, we were happy to see both :). The room came with a private full bathroom, TV with limited cable channels, gas fireplace, a Keurig coffee maker, radio that has a port for your iPod, sofa, full size bed, clothes closet, chest of drawers, wood floors with an area rug, iron & ironing board, huge windows, and several space heaters. We found the bed to be very comfortable and the linens were very clean – we could actually smell the detergent from them being washed. The sheets & thick blankets were wonderful for the very cold night, as was the fireplace and space heater. The windows are single pane so noise from the street did make it through at times. When the snow plows came by it was very audible, but we actually took comfort in those sounds knowing that hard work would mean we could actually get out in the morning! The room also had a small notebook and pens for guests to write a little note about their stay. We thought it was pretty cool to see the notes of past guests going as far back as 2010.

The Chef’s tasting took place in the small restaurant/room just to the left when you come inside the Inn. There were a handful of other couples taking part in the tasting with us; we were all seated at our own tables as couples. At first it was very quiet, almost awkward, but everyone loosened up after a bit so there was a bit more chatting, etc.

Chef Alan was great with describing and explaining each course and the wine that was paired with it. There were several dishes that he said, “if you don’t eat it, at least smell it,” which we found amusing since you could still get some mileage out of the dish and the wine even if you didn't eat it lol! We had never had a food & wine pairing before and I have a very narrow preference when it comes to wine so I was initially concerned about how I would take to the various pairings. We were so impressed with the pairings & we can’t imagine eating without a wine pairing ever again! The pairings enhanced the flavor of the wine and each dish beautifully.

The tasting (see our pictures of each dish!) began with an amuse bouche of a bacon wrapped date with a balsamic glaze, which was a delicious start to the event – best way to describe it – an event since this tasting isn’t your typical dinner, but a true experience for your senses and we really learned a lot during the near 3 hour experience. It was a nicely paced dinner and Chef Alan explained the details of the food and wine and how the pairing brings out the different flavors and notes in both the dish and the wine.

The first course was Corn Fritters in a Cinnamon Honey Butter which was delicious, warm & crispy and the butter and wine pairing put it over the top.

The second course was Southern Egg Rolls filled with shredded pork, collard greens, onion, & Cajun spices served with Sweet Chili Sauce and a spicy VA Peanut Sauce; this was one of our very favorites, they were warm and very crispy, not greasy, and the sweet chili sauce was scrumptious.

The third course was the Lafayette Salad; this was one of my favorites, too, mixed greens with house-made balsamic vinaigrette, spiced pecans, and apple julienne (basically shoestring granny smith apples). The dressing was thicker than a traditional balsamic; it was so good I began just devouring the salad with my fork and fingers, that’s the sign for me that it is super yummy. The wine paired with this salad was just perfection; the flavors were delicious when mixed together.

The fourth course was a Warm Salad of roasted corn, onions, tomatoes, mozzarella, and a balsamic dressing. Lots of delicious flavors, everything blended well together, and I was thrilled at how soft and flavorful the mozzarella was. I’m used to bland, rubbery mozzarella but this was the exact opposite – we couldn’t get enough!

The fifth course was Vegetable Ravioli – stuffed with grilled veggies in a rich pesto & garlic cream sauce; having small appetites we knew this would kill it for us because we had to gobble up these ravioli. Definitely one of those dishes that you wanted to smell as well as eat. The sauce was so good and flavorful, plus the wine pairing, again this just knocked our socks off.

The sixth course was an accommodation for us since we didn’t want seafood and we were so pleased and touched that Chef Alan remained mindful of our needs: rather than a salmon trio, we had a delicious Mushroom Trio that was basically prepared the same way as the salmon – blackened, with dill, and with wasabi.

The seventh course was Lemon Chicken with Capers. Another fantastic pairing – the wine accentuated the flavors of the dish perfectly. The chicken was light and tender, we loved the citrus and the perfect addition of capers.

The eighth course was another accommodation for us not wanting seafood, so instead of shrimp & stone ground grits, we received a Sautéed Veggie Medley overtop of grits. I have never liked grits but these were impossible to say no to – they were delicious, creamy, and perfectly cooked and seasoned.

The ninth course was a Butcher Cut of Pork, which was very flavorful and tender.

The tenth and final course was a warm bread pudding. This was a perfect end to the evening. We had never had bread pudding and we were afraid it would be too heavy or just too doughy, but it was surprisingly light, packed with delicious flavor, and had we had any more wine in us we would have licked that plate clean :).

We definitely understand their slogan, “Come hungry, come sober.” While the wine pours are small, it still catches up with you towards the end of the evening! It was very nice that we could just stumble back to our room after dinner and marvel at the snow coming down before tucking in to bed. One of the best things was that all of the food that we could not finish was packed up & labeled for us so we could take it back to our room. I was so grateful for this because I am a major midnight snacker & I hadn't brought anything from home to eat at 2am. Our leftovers were perfect for that & we even continued to munch on them once we got home!

In the morning we packed up and took everything to the car & began warming it up & scraping off all of the snow – see the pics, the snow made everything incredibly beautiful! We were served breakfast in the dining room & had our choice of French Toast or what we actually picked – an omelet with spinach, tomatoes, and mozzarella, and our choice of sides. My husband chose the yummy grits and bacon, and I chose the potatoes and sausage, so we could both nibble away at all of the offerings. I’m usually not a fan of omelets, but this omelet not only sounded great, but was very delicious – soft, fluffy eggs, melty cheese, and ripe tomatoes, and not dry at all, just yummy!

Check out couldn't have been more simple - I just gave Chef Alan our room key during breakfast!

Soon after our stay Chef Alan emailed us information on each course and the accompanying wine as he promised, which was very nice and very helpful as we wrote this review. Our stay was wonderful all around and we hope we can return again soon! Thank you Chef Alan for such a memorable & delicious experience!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ucstefi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette1840, Owner at Lafayette Inn and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Thank you! We obviously appreciate your review, but perhaps even more- potential guests looking to get a "snapshot" of what to expect. - Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews