We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm hospitality: excellent food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lafayette Inn and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stanardsville
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Warm hospitality: excellent food”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

We bought a living social voucher and were pleasantly surprised by the value of our stay. We stayed in the Monroe room which has a gas fireplace but I tend to be cold natured and based on the reviews I was worried I would be chilly. We called in advance and when we arrived our room was fitted with extra blankets and 2 space heaters. We were toasty:) The room was nicely decorated and cozy (albeit walls not entirely soundproof.) The tasting menu was really good. In addition to the yummy food and wine pairings, Alan accommodated my gluten intolerance. What a treat. Breakfast was also excellent. We recommend you try it out:)

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mtnadventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette1840, Owner at Lafayette Inn and Restaurant, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
We enjoyed your visit- and gladly addressed your Gluten sensitive menu request. - Come see us again! Chef/Owner Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    46
    7
    7
    4
See reviews for
22
135
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Deptford, NJ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 5, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights. The room was comfortable and nicely decorated. The fireplace was a wonderful touch on a snowy weekend. The food was delicious! The food and beverage paring is an event to be savored. The service was beyond compare. Alan owner and chef is very personable and made us feel like old friends. We sould definately recomment the Lafayette Inn.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette1840, Owner at Lafayette Inn and Restaurant, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
I can't think of a more enjoyable couple to have gotten snowed in at the Inn with! It's fun when we not only "give" but also "get"- We look forward to your return! Chef Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

From beginning to end this was a wonderful experience. Our visit had to be postponed because of weather. Alan, the owner, graciously rescheduled. Once we were able to go, the check in process was easy. The town is small but their is a wonderful pottery shop just a few blocks away. We went for the tasting dinner which begins at 6:00 The lights could have been a little lower to give some ambiance, but the food was wonderful. What added to the experience was Alan's explanation of the menu and wines. He obviously has a passion for what he does. I am looking forward to returning and enjoying some of the historical sites in the area and eating at the restaurant.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brn2trvl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette1840, Owner at Lafayette Inn and Restaurant, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
We certainly enjoyed meeting you as well. Thanks for the review- greatly appreciated. - Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 20, 2014

My stay consisted of 2 nights, 2 breakfasts. I stayed in the Tyler suite which consists of 2 bedrooms, one with TV and fireplace, One with large sitting area. Very comfortable beds. Very private and quiet.

Now on to the FOOD ! Fabulous ! The breakfasts (included) were order off the menu. The eggs, omelets, sausage, bacon, home fries were excellent. It was the Red Velvet waffle that was outstanding !!

Thank you Alan and Kaye for a memorable stay. (That rhymes)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mimi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette1840, Owner at Lafayette Inn and Restaurant, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Thank you! :) Alan & Kaye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes
2 reviews
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Kaye and Alan know how to pamper you! This B&B is full of character and coziness! We have stayed here several times. Dicey's Cottage is a home nite self with a jacuzzi tub! It also has its own deck! Our favorite is the Madison because we can bring friends to stay right beside us! The restaurant is first-class with ambiance in abundance! The food is fantastic and very affordable! Plenty to do or relax in your suite! If you're visiting in the Washington DC or VA area -- The Lafayette Inn IS the place to stay!!! 5 Stars is not enough for this review!! Hats off to Kaye and Alan Pyles! FIRST CLASS!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 220kck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette1840, Owner at Lafayette Inn and Restaurant, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Thanks so much! Alan & Kaye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldorf, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I were invited by good friends to join them in a get away to the Lafayette Inn on 12/7/13, which was also the night of the local Christmas parade. It was our first visit to a B&B and we loved everything about it! So much so we made plans to celebrate our friends birthday with two nights stay on 2/16-17/14. For both visits we stayed in the Monroe room and our accommodations were perfect! This visit we were able to enjoy relaxing and visiting by the fireplace, reading, and watching movies, while the guys ventured out to Monticello. We also visited a few of the local wineries. We ate breakfast and dinner at the Inn's Restaurant and the food was perfectly prepared! We were fortunate enough to attend a Chefs Tasting on one of the nights, which we all thoroughly enjoyed! We especially loved the way one of the owners, Alan Pyles, interacted with the guests, explaining each course he was serving along with the wine he chose to pair with that course. His wife, Kaye Pyles, prepared the final dessert course, which was delicious and a perfect end to a wonderful evening.

Alan and Kaye Pyles have done a wonderful job with making each guest feel special throughout their entire stay. We will definitely return in the near future!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette1840, Owner at Lafayette Inn and Restaurant, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Thanks so much! Alan & Kaye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviewed February 17, 2014

My husband and I spent the night in Dicey's Cottage at the Lafayette Inn and enjoyed the Chef's tasting dinner. Alan is a superb chef and very knowledgeable about the wines that he paired with each course. It was a lovely evening. The cottage was quaint and the whirlpool jet tub was very relaxing. We liked having a fireplace in the bedroom. The breakfast the next morning was delicious. We enjoyed our stay and would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette1840, Owner at Lafayette Inn and Restaurant, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Appreciated! Alan & Kaye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stanardsville
7.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Charlottesville - Ruckersville
13.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville
Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesv...
#13 of 35 in Charlottesville
1,352 reviews
17.0 mi away
The English Inn of Charlottesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.7 mi away
Skyland
Skyland
#1 of 1 in Shenandoah National Park
2,241 reviews
16.1 mi away
Big Meadows Lodge
Big Meadows Lodge
#1 of 8 in Shenandoah National Park
1,120 reviews
5.7 mi away
Ebenezer House B&B
Ebenezer House B&B
#1 of 2 in Madison
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lafayette Inn and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lafayette Inn and Restaurant

Property: Lafayette Inn and Restaurant
Address: 146 Main St, Stanardsville, VA 22973-2970
Location: United States > Virginia > Stanardsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stanardsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lafayette Inn and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trip Advisor "Travelers Choice" for both the Inn and Restaurant. * Award winning restaurant- on site. * Happy Hour- Fridays & Saturdays 4pm-6pm on the Upper Deck (May-Oct) * Gourmet Burgers * Ice Cream- Rated on of the top in Virginia * Sunday Brunch * Local craft beer, cider, wines as well as full bar service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Lafayette Inn and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lafayette Hotel Stanardsville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing