We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inviting, Relaxing, and Yummy!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lafayette Inn and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stanardsville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Kaye and Alan know how to pamper you! This B&B is full of character and coziness! We have stayed here several times. Dicey's Cottage is a home nite self with a jacuzzi tub! It also has its own deck! Our favorite is the Madison because we can bring friends to stay right beside us! The restaurant is first-class with ambiance in abundance! The food is fantastic and very affordable! Plenty to do or relax in your suite! If you're visiting in the Washington DC or VA area -- The Lafayette Inn IS the place to stay!!! 5 Stars is not enough for this review!! Hats off to Kaye and Alan Pyles! FIRST CLASS!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 220kck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette1840, Owner at Lafayette Inn and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2014

Thanks so much! Alan & Kaye

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (218)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 218 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2014

My husband and I were invited by good friends to join them in a get away to the Lafayette Inn on 12/7/13, which was also the night of the local Christmas parade. It was our first visit to a B&B and we loved everything about it! So much so we made plans to celebrate our friends birthday with two nights stay on 2/16-17/14. For both visits we stayed in the Monroe room and our accommodations were perfect! This visit we were able to enjoy relaxing and visiting by the fireplace, reading, and watching movies, while the guys ventured out to Monticello. We also visited a few of the local wineries. We ate breakfast and dinner at the Inn's Restaurant and the food was perfectly prepared! We were fortunate enough to attend a Chefs Tasting on one of the nights, which we all thoroughly enjoyed! We especially loved the way one of the owners, Alan Pyles, interacted with the guests, explaining each course he was serving along with the wine he chose to pair with that course. His wife, Kaye Pyles, prepared the final dessert course, which was delicious and a perfect end to a wonderful evening.

Alan and Kaye Pyles have done a wonderful job with making each guest feel special throughout their entire stay. We will definitely return in the near future!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Debbi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette1840, Owner at Lafayette Inn and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2014

Thanks so much! Alan & Kaye

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

My husband and I spent the night in Dicey's Cottage at the Lafayette Inn and enjoyed the Chef's tasting dinner. Alan is a superb chef and very knowledgeable about the wines that he paired with each course. It was a lovely evening. The cottage was quaint and the whirlpool jet tub was very relaxing. We liked having a fireplace in the bedroom. The breakfast the next morning was delicious. We enjoyed our stay and would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette1840, Owner at Lafayette Inn and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2014

Appreciated! Alan & Kaye

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We had a marvelous stay and dinner at the Lafayette Inn. We were impressed by the age and authenticity of this historic building as well as the antique furniture. Our room was quaint and comfortable. The 10 course tasting menu and wine pairing was a real luxury that we will forever remember. Alan was a knowledgeable and entertaining host. The service was excellent. We would recommend this for any special occasion or celebration.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R_Charlie_inRichmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette1840, Owner at Lafayette Inn and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2014

We appreciate your taking the time to review. Thanks- Alan & Kaye

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We stayed at the Lafayette Inn, Stanardsville, the Jefferson Room on a Living Social deal. The room was very cold, we needed blankets around us to sit in the room. We told them about this and nothing was done. The chefs dinner was poor. Out of the ten dishes only 4 were good the other 6 were either cold, tough or over cooked. The extra day we added to our deal costed us over 200 dollars, not cost effective. The wine tasting was good.

Room Tip: Stay away from the Jefferson and the Monroe, cold and noisey
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette1840, Owner at Lafayette Inn and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2014

We are sorry to read your opinion changed so strongly from when we shared the evening together during the Chef Tasting. We try hard to meet and exceed our guests expectations- disappointed yours were not. Chef Alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Although the weather took a turn for the worst and many businesses were closing due to a snowstorm...Alan and Kaye went out of their way to make us feel most welcome. The food was fabulous and the wine selection/pairings were excellent. Due to the inclement weather we had the place nearly to ourselves and the service was extraordinary! The accommodations are just as they advertise and provisions are made for those discrepancies that could be annoying (such as, space heaters, extra blankets etc.) Very enjoyable visit!

Room Tip: The Monroe room was spacious but does face the road that goes through town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dianab829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We visited this B&B while travelling through Virginia. The room was very comfortable but needed a little updating. Having said that it was so charming to spend a night in such an old building. We discovered the next day that our room was haunted! The 10 course tasting menu with the wine pairings was beyond my expectations. The full breakfast and the champagne welcome were also a very nice touch. Alan and Kaye were very gracious hosts and I loved how Alan explained the hows and the whys of each course and matching wine. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Everfabulous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stanardsville
7.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Charlottesville - Ruckersville
24.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Harrisonburg
13.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville
Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesv...
#12 of 35 in Charlottesville
1,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17 mi away
The English Inn of Charlottesville
20.7 mi away
Skyland
Skyland
#1 of 1 in Shenandoah National Park
2,326 reviews
16.1 mi away
Big Meadows Lodge
Big Meadows Lodge
#1 of 8 in Shenandoah National Park
1,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lafayette Inn and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lafayette Inn and Restaurant

Address: 146 Main St, Stanardsville, VA 22973-2970
Location: United States > Virginia > Stanardsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stanardsville
Price Range: $161 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lafayette Inn and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trip Advisor "Travelers Choice" for both the Inn and Restaurant. * Award winning restaurant- on site. * Happy Hour- Fridays & Saturdays 4pm-6pm on the Upper Deck (May-Oct) * Gourmet Burgers * Ice Cream- Rated on of the top in Virginia * Sunday Brunch * Local craft beer, cider, wines as well as full bar service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Lafayette Inn and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lafayette Hotel Stanardsville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing