We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"very friendly & helpful staff on dish selections"”

Carlos O'Kelly's Mexican Cafe
Ranked #34 of 133 Restaurants in Stafford
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Stafford, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“"very friendly & helpful staff on dish selections"”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Reasonably priced. Friendly staff, and great service every time I've been. I'm happy to say my guest was also so impressed with Carlos' and our waitress was very sweet in explaining the different dishes. Excellent menu choices. Very good portions. If your a potato person try the side named "Papas O'Kellys", potatos with blended cheeses, uuuuummmmmmmmm.
Our visit here made my guest wishing there was a Carlos O'Kelly's in their state.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank oncearoundtwice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    21
    13
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“quiet time, good meal”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The food is good, not great.
Prices are fairly reasonable.
Restaurant is clean, bathrooms are clean.
Staff was friendly, knowledgeable, attentive.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Terri37725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffird
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“late hours dining”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Good service and open late. Fahitias above average, portions are generous. Drinks are a little weak, but food hot and staff tries hard to please.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlottesville, va
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good place for Mexican food”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is a chain but has good food and a good kids menu. We have eaten here many times and have always been pleased with the service and food quality.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank momoftwo03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Face Painting & Leprechaun (with gold) - Overall a Fun Atmosphere!”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This was our second visit to Carlos O'Kelly's in Stafford. We were happy with the food the first time (better than other "Mexican" restaurants in the Stafford area) and were pleasantly surprised on our second visit. We stopped by for dinner over St. Patty's weekend. What a fun evening. They had a talented artist paining kids faces (she did a great job) & a leprechaun handing out chocolate gold coins to the kids. The kids had so much fun. The chips & salsa kept coming & the service was excellent! I loved the kilt our waiter wore!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WeTravel_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carlos O'Kelly's Mexican Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Carlos O'Kelly's Mexican Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing