We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Atrocious!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Stafford

Super 8 Stafford
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Super 8 Stafford
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   25 Wicomico Dr, Stafford, VA 22554-1589   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead, Save 15%
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Stafford
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
“Atrocious!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Firstly, we have stayed in Super 8 motels all over Canada and the United States and we have never been let down before. We always encountered very good service, cleanliness and locations that suited our needs on each particular trip. We were enroute from Canada to Florida over the Christmas holidays. Many motels/hotels were full off of the I 95 when we stopped later in the evening. This was their last room and we took it feeling like we would be out of luck if we kept looking.
Well, it's little wonder that it was their last room. They should never have rented it out. The room looked like it hadn't been cleaned properly. The floor was dirty, there was hair on the bathroom floor and in the tub. The security lock on the door was smashed in two (easy hardware replacement!). We created a barracade to add a little protection. There was not a coffee maker in the room. We would have used it as there was no coffee in the kitchen b/n 8-9 am and no one was answering the bell to make some more. The toliet would not flush in the morning. There were burn holes in the comforter. We could go on. I have never been so disgusted by the state of a motel/hotel room before.
I know that this was a busy season. But, the owners should be prepared for this travel rush. This motel is a terrible representation for this chain of accomodations. Shame!

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hammy1919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    19
    7
    5
    5
See reviews for
19
11
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, GA
Level Contributor
69 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Found this motel after a long drive in June 2012. I am glad I did not see the reviews beforehand, had a total different experience. After rejecting a couple of other hotels based on price or room availability, this one had a reasonable rate of $74. We were given a king room on the first floor.

When we entered the room, we were surprised on the size of the room, fairly good size and the cleanliness of it. The room came with a microwave and a refrigerator,

The bed was very comfortable. Yes, there is a Wendy's in front, but once we closed the door, we never heard a thing,

My only complaint about the hotel was the breakfast that was available at the front desk, but with all the choices in the area, it was not a big deal for us,

When passing through the area a gain, I will use this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank garedsoxfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina P, Manager at Super 8 Stafford, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thanks for posting your positive comments on our property! Glad to hear you had a comfortable stay. Hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stewartsville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
59 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

We stayed here on our way back from vacation to split our 12 hour drive in two. It was a decent room. Beds were hard and pillows were flat. The temperature control was wacky all night going on and off repeatedly to the point that it woke us up. We may have saved $20 but would have gladly paid it in the morning when we woke unrested and stiff. The continental breakfast was awful. Frozen white bagels, bad coffee, off-smelling milk. If we had to do it again, we would have chosen a different place. Although this area offers many dining options and is right off I95.

All that said, the staff were really nice. I think they live there at the motel. We made an error in our booking and according to the reservation, we weren't able to make changes. I called and the desk clerk just switched the reservation with no penalty. That doesn't happen very often these days!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happytrails316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina P, Manager at Super 8 Stafford, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thanks for posting your review on our property! We do have all new mattress in all of our rooms but some times our guest love them and some say they are too firm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

We are non-smokers who left smelling of cigarettes from our stinky, dingy, unclean room. The bath tub wasn't very clean, the management patrolled the parking lot (which made me uneasy), the room was very dark, not enough towels, one little bottle of shampoo, no iron or ironing board in room, uncomfortable beds, and not enough pillows. Clearly, who ever owns this hotel is cheap and it showed. I've stayed in some pretty decent Motel 8s, but this place was terrible.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erika B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
379 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

We were stuck in traffic most of the day travelling south on the I95 and were looking for a place to stay during the early evening. Our GPS found us the Super 8 and we were so tired that we decided to stay even though we felt the nightly rate was high.

The hotel/rooms was clean and it met our needs for the evening. It is located close to numerous eating and shopping venues. The morning breakfast was limted.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NSRoadrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

Good place to stay right off I95. Clean well kept room, appeared to be recently redecorated, friendly personnel, walking distance to lots of restaurants and shopping. Just across access road from very good Mexican restaurant (Pancho Villa's?) Bed and linens very comfortable. Breakfast limited, cereals and bagels. Only major drawback for us was that parking lot too small for our truck and trailer parking.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank florgiatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stafford hotels
0.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Stafford
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn and Suites Quantico
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Quantico
Comfort Inn Quantico
#7 of 13 in Stafford
4.5 of 5 stars 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Stafford/Quantico
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Stafford/Quantico & Conference Center
0.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites Stafford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Stafford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Stafford

Property: Super 8 Stafford
Address: 25 Wicomico Dr, Stafford, VA 22554-1589
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Stafford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Stafford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Stafford 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Super 8 Stafford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stafford Super Eight
Stafford Super 8
Super Eight Stafford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing