We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Washington DC SW-Springfield
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Springfield
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed at this Holiday Inn Express mostly for the location. It was between the DC Metro area and my nephew's house (who we were visiting) in McLean, VA. It was right off the Beltway, only a couple of miles from the Springfield Metro station and enough restaurants in the area to suffice. They also had a shuttle service that will take you to the Metro to go into DC. So, it was very convenient. I'm an IHG platinum member and have stayed at many, many different Holiday Inn owned properties and this one is certainly dated, but it was kept up and relatively clean. They were going through a renovation during our stay. The staff was very friendly and helpful, though. You will get many large groups staying at the hotel (youth sports teams, etc...) or groups renting out the banquet hall downstairs, but we didn't have any noise issues with either. Just expect that during the summer season, especially.

The breakfast was very busy every day, so don't go down right before it closes and expect to get much. There was a nice variety, but you should be there at least 1/2 hour before they close it down. When groups are at the hotel, the pool can be pretty busy, too.

The rooms were what I expected - nothing great, but nothing awful. We were on a family vacation and stayed for four nights, so for the value and it's location, it was fine. Just don't have tremendously high expectations for the facility, but the friendly staff made up for those deficiencies.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DJC313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary Joy A, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Washington DC SW-Springfield, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Dear DJC313,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. To better manage our breakfast, we serve tour groups breakfast in our private banquet rooms away from our regular breakfast area. This helps our tour groups to stick to their busy schedule and reduce wait times for our other guests. There may be times we get busy and we work hard to ensure that guests coming down till closing time are served adequately. Thank you again your valuable feedback and we hope we see again sometime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (246)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 246 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2013

I had a room with king size bed, bed was comfortable and I slept good, nice having choice of pillows, firm and soft. The room was clean and smelled nice. The staff was friendly and courteous. I was staying on business and didn't use any of the amenities. Only complaint is location, to get back to the highway you need to drive around the area a little to get to the intersection for access back to the highway.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cpudoc23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Washington DC SW-Springfield, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Dear cpudoc23,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. It is very nice to know that you have slept well. Please accept my apologies for falling short of your expectations on some aspects of your stay. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be. Thank you for staying and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again on your next future visit.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Stayed 4 nights in a King w/ Sofa sleeper. This is a 10 story hotel that is in various states of renovation. Currently they are painting the exterior and working on the parking lot.

The pool is a big outdoor tub that goes from 4 ft to 8 ft., It closes early at 9 PM. There is a semi-attentive lifeguard on duty (2 different guards across 4 nights) who would surly rescue someone but not sure they would be the first to notice a problem as they both were occupied for 4 nights playing with gadgets, etc. You have to walk outside to the parking area and in through the front door to get back in from the pool (leaves puddles of water in the entry area)

Rooms generally good shape, but some oddities like a tile bath floor that looks like an elephant wearing titanium golf cleats danced on it. But the rest of the bath spotless. Seems a common theme in this hotel there are targeted renovations and some old areas.

The breakfast crew did an great job keeping things stocked even through weekend crush hours.

They provide free shuttles to/from the local Metro station (did not use this service)

One service thing that bugged me is when you reserve a room with a King & sleeper sofa for 3 people, you ought to be given bedding for the sofa and towels for the 3rd person without having to ask. Had to ask twice to get them.
One service thing htat

Room Tip: I feared traffic noise would be a problem being so close to a major interchange. North side 9th floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveler1234Missouri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

I booked this hotel online based on it's location to the metro and price for a single night. We weren't planning to be in the area more than a day so I didn't need a luxury hotel. It ended up being a great find at a great price! It definitely gave me reason to reconsider the Holiday Inn brand in the future. The hotel was safe and clean. The buffet breakfast was fresh and very good. The shuttle service to the metro was a bonus we hadn't anticipated. The smoking guests chose to smoke at the entrance of the hotel, and needless to say left cigarette butts everywhere. The hotel staff was cleaning up the area early the next morning but it would be nice if the smokers had a lower traffic area to pollute. From the receptionist to the cleaning crew, the staff was very polite, helpful, and competent. I would definitely stay here again

Room Tip: I prefer not to be near the elevators to avoid excess noise from the other guests
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorldT52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

This is the hotel from hell. The hotel had an electrical problem. The lights, and air conditioning failed to work. The doors to the stairways are locked as guests try to exit from fire alarm. Guests are denied access to there rooms most of the day. Guests are granted access to retrieve personal items at 9:30pm. Guests are climbing stairways in the dark with flashlights and no air. Poor poor management and presents major safety issue.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Markita F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary Joy A, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Washington DC SW-Springfield, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Dear Markita F,

Thank You for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Holiday Inn Express.

On July 12, 2013 we lost power to our hotel due to a failure at the main city circuit. We tried our best to accommodate our guest in every possible way including relocating and paying for their stay at area hotels. It sounds like we fell below your expectations. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on our way back to NY from Virginia. We had a very pleasant stay. The staff were professional and friendly. The shuttle service to the metro was free and so convenient and easy! The metro, btw...soooo much easier and cleaner than in NY! Pool has a lifeguard, breakfast was very good, rooms were clean and quiet. Hotel is undergoing some renovations so the outside doesn't look great at the moment but for a budget hotel, we were absolutely 100% satisfied!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhonda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

The location is very convenient to I-395, I-95, I-495, and the Metro, so a great location for a visit to the DC area! Without traffic, it takes 15-20 minutes to drive to the National Mall area. The Franconia/Springfield Metro station is close by (the end of the Blue Line).

All staff members were very friendly and helpful! The room was comfortable and well-kept, breakfast area was good - all was what one would expect from a well-run and maintained Holiday Inn Express.

There are several nearby dining options - Quiznos, Baskin-Robins, & a pizzeria an easy walk across the street; a Bob Evans and a couple of other local restaurants nearby. Some shopping - Target, grocery stores, department stores (nearby mall is undergoing extensive renovation).

We stayed on the 9th floor. You are right next to the interstate, so expect traffic noise.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BSGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary Joy A, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Washington DC SW-Springfield, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2013

Dear BSGA,

Thank you for sharing your review of our property on TripAdvisor. Your depiction of the hotel and surroundings was a pleasure to read. We all appreciate your comment about the friendliness and helpfulness we provide and I will most certainly pass this on to the team.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Springfield hotels
0.3 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Springfield
0.3 mi away
Hilton Springfield
Hilton Springfield
#3 of 12 in Springfield
857 reviews
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Springfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#7 of 12 in Springfield
253 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Springfield Old Keene Mill
0.2 mi away
Best Western Springfield
Best Western Springfield
#9 of 12 in Springfield
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Washington DC SW-Springfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Washington DC SW-Springfield

Address: 6401 Brandon Ave, Springfield, VA 22150-2514
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Springfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Springfield
Price Range: $99 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Washington DC SW-Springfield 2.5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Washington DC SW-Springfield is a 10 story hotel with newly renovated guest rooms ideally located 13 miles south of Washington, DC at the junction of I-95, I-395, and I-495 Capital Beltway. Our hotel is 11 miles south of Reagan National Airport (DCA) and with our free shuttle servicing the Franconia-Springfield Metro Station the metropolitan area awaits. Local attractions and businesses include: the White House, Smithsonian, Arlington National Cemetery, Mount Vernon, Amtrak Auto Train, Raytheon, Lockheed Martin, General Dynamics, SAIC, General Motors, the Pentagon, Fort Belvoir, and Quantico. Shoppers will enjoy Springfield Mall, Tysons Corner Mall, and Potomac Mills.The Springfield Holiday Inn Express features 194 guest rooms with newly upgraded decor, complimentary high-speed Internet access (wireless throughout hotel, wired in select rooms), complimentary breakfast, free parking, and outdoor pool. Allow the professional sales staff at Holiday Inn Express in Springfield to assist you with your next banquet or social function; we can accommodate up to 200 people. Stay Smart with us and enjoy all of the convenience of Washington, without all of the hassle! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Washington DC SW-Springfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Washington Dc Sw-Springfield Hotel Springfield
Holiday Inn Express Springfield
Holiday Inn Springfield
Springfield Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing