We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express Washington DC SW-Springfield
Nearby Hotels
$183
$149
Homewood
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$95
ExtendedStay
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$124
EmbassySuites.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 28% below average rates

The price you found is 28% lower than this hotel's average rate of $173/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hilton Springfield(Springfield)(Great Value!)
$117
$95
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $160/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Courtyard Springfield(Springfield)
$107
$101
Courtyard
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $114/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wingate by Wyndham Springfield(Springfield)(Great Value!)
$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
TownePlace Suites
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn(Springfield)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (262)
Filter reviews
262 results
Traveler rating
85
102
35
29
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
85
102
35
29
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshi expressfront deskroom was cleanmetro stationschool groupsstandard farebreakfast areashuttle serviceolder hotelfree breakfastfree shuttlehot breakfastexercise roomthe hotel offerswould definitely stay here againwashington dcoatmeal
Filter
Updating list...
145 - 150 of 262 reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Stayed 4 nights in a King w/ Sofa sleeper. This is a 10 story hotel that is in various states of renovation. Currently they are painting the exterior and working on the parking lot.

The pool is a big outdoor tub that goes from 4 ft to 8 ft., It closes early at 9 PM. There is a semi-attentive lifeguard on duty (2 different guards across 4 nights) who would surly rescue someone but not sure they would be the first to notice a problem as they both were occupied for 4 nights playing with gadgets, etc. You have to walk outside to the parking area and in through the front door to get back in from the pool (leaves puddles of water in the entry area)

Rooms generally good shape, but some oddities like a tile bath floor that looks like an elephant wearing titanium golf cleats danced on it. But the rest of the bath spotless. Seems a common theme in this hotel there are targeted renovations and some old areas.

The breakfast crew did an great job keeping things stocked even through weekend crush hours.

They provide free shuttles to/from the local Metro station (did not use this service)

One service thing that bugged me is when you reserve a room with a King & sleeper sofa for 3 people, you ought to be given bedding for the sofa and towels for the 3rd person without having to ask. Had to ask twice to get them.
One service thing htat

Room Tip: I feared traffic noise would be a problem being so close to a major interchange. North side 9th floor wasn't too bad at all - the A/C largely masked most of the noise.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveler1234Missouri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

I booked this hotel online based on it's location to the metro and price for a single night. We weren't planning to be in the area more than a day so I didn't need a luxury hotel. It ended up being a great find at a great price! It definitely gave me reason to reconsider the Holiday Inn brand in the future. The hotel was safe and clean. The buffet breakfast was fresh and very good. The shuttle service to the metro was a bonus we hadn't anticipated. The smoking guests chose to smoke at the entrance of the hotel, and needless to say left cigarette butts everywhere. The hotel staff was cleaning up the area early the next morning but it would be nice if the smokers had a lower traffic area to pollute. From the receptionist to the cleaning crew, the staff was very polite, helpful, and competent. I would definitely stay here again

Room Tip: I prefer not to be near the elevators to avoid excess noise from the other guests
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorldT52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

This is the hotel from hell. The hotel had an electrical problem. The lights, and air conditioning failed to work. The doors to the stairways are locked as guests try to exit from fire alarm. Guests are denied access to there rooms most of the day. Guests are granted access to retrieve personal items at 9:30pm. Guests are climbing stairways in the dark with flashlights and no air. Poor poor management and presents major safety issue.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Markita F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary Joy A, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Washington DC SW-Springfield, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Dear Markita F,

Thank You for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Holiday Inn Express.

On July 12, 2013 we lost power to our hotel due to a failure at the main city circuit. We tried our best to accommodate our guest in every possible way including relocating and paying for their stay at area hotels. It sounds like we fell below your expectations. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on our way back to NY from Virginia. We had a very pleasant stay. The staff were professional and friendly. The shuttle service to the metro was free and so convenient and easy! The metro, btw...soooo much easier and cleaner than in NY! Pool has a lifeguard, breakfast was very good, rooms were clean and quiet. Hotel is undergoing some renovations so the outside doesn't look great at the moment but for a budget hotel, we were absolutely 100% satisfied!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhonda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

The location is very convenient to I-395, I-95, I-495, and the Metro, so a great location for a visit to the DC area! Without traffic, it takes 15-20 minutes to drive to the National Mall area. The Franconia/Springfield Metro station is close by (the end of the Blue Line).

All staff members were very friendly and helpful! The room was comfortable and well-kept, breakfast area was good - all was what one would expect from a well-run and maintained Holiday Inn Express.

There are several nearby dining options - Quiznos, Baskin-Robins, & a pizzeria an easy walk across the street; a Bob Evans and a couple of other local restaurants nearby. Some shopping - Target, grocery stores, department stores (nearby mall is undergoing extensive renovation).

We stayed on the 9th floor. You are right next to the interstate, so expect traffic noise.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BSGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary Joy A, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Washington DC SW-Springfield, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2013

Dear BSGA,

Thank you for sharing your review of our property on TripAdvisor. Your depiction of the hotel and surroundings was a pleasure to read. We all appreciate your comment about the friendliness and helpfulness we provide and I will most certainly pass this on to the team.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews