We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Washington DC SW-Springfield
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Springfield
Certificate of Excellence
Suffolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

I booked this hotel online based on it's location to the metro and price for a single night. We weren't planning to be in the area more than a day so I didn't need a luxury hotel. It ended up being a great find at a great price! It definitely gave me reason to reconsider the Holiday Inn brand in the future. The hotel was safe and clean. The buffet breakfast was fresh and very good. The shuttle service to the metro was a bonus we hadn't anticipated. The smoking guests chose to smoke at the entrance of the hotel, and needless to say left cigarette butts everywhere. The hotel staff was cleaning up the area early the next morning but it would be nice if the smokers had a lower traffic area to pollute. From the receptionist to the cleaning crew, the staff was very polite, helpful, and competent. I would definitely stay here again

Room Tip: I prefer not to be near the elevators to avoid excess noise from the other guests
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldT52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    84
    30
    26
    10
See reviews for
72
39
21
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

This is the hotel from hell. The hotel had an electrical problem. The lights, and air conditioning failed to work. The doors to the stairways are locked as guests try to exit from fire alarm. Guests are denied access to there rooms most of the day. Guests are granted access to retrieve personal items at 9:30pm. Guests are climbing stairways in the dark with flashlights and no air. Poor poor management and presents major safety issue.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Markita F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary Joy A, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Washington DC SW-Springfield, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Markita F,

Thank You for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Holiday Inn Express.

On July 12, 2013 we lost power to our hotel due to a failure at the main city circuit. We tried our best to accommodate our guest in every possible way including relocating and paying for their stay at area hotels. It sounds like we fell below your expectations. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on our way back to NY from Virginia. We had a very pleasant stay. The staff were professional and friendly. The shuttle service to the metro was free and so convenient and easy! The metro, btw...soooo much easier and cleaner than in NY! Pool has a lifeguard, breakfast was very good, rooms were clean and quiet. Hotel is undergoing some renovations so the outside doesn't look great at the moment but for a budget hotel, we were absolutely 100% satisfied!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhonda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, Georgia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

The location is very convenient to I-395, I-95, I-495, and the Metro, so a great location for a visit to the DC area! Without traffic, it takes 15-20 minutes to drive to the National Mall area. The Franconia/Springfield Metro station is close by (the end of the Blue Line).

All staff members were very friendly and helpful! The room was comfortable and well-kept, breakfast area was good - all was what one would expect from a well-run and maintained Holiday Inn Express.

There are several nearby dining options - Quiznos, Baskin-Robins, & a pizzeria an easy walk across the street; a Bob Evans and a couple of other local restaurants nearby. Some shopping - Target, grocery stores, department stores (nearby mall is undergoing extensive renovation).

We stayed on the 9th floor. You are right next to the interstate, so expect traffic noise.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BSGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary Joy A, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Washington DC SW-Springfield, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Dear BSGA,

Thank you for sharing your review of our property on TripAdvisor. Your depiction of the hotel and surroundings was a pleasure to read. We all appreciate your comment about the friendliness and helpfulness we provide and I will most certainly pass this on to the team.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We were accommodated on an early checkin and then used the shuttle to get to the Metro. It was great service and would recommend this hotel. The metro is a great way to get around and the hotel will shuttle guests there and back.
It was a pleasant experience at the hotel which was very comfortable and the service was first class

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank db54g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary Joy A, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Washington DC SW-Springfield, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Dear DB54G,

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. It was nice to hear that you had a pleasant experience at the hotel and the staff provided you with first class service. I will certainly share your review with the team, as I know they will be pleased to hear we exceeded your expectations. We are honored to have earned your loyalty and greatly appreciate your recommendation.
As you mentioned, we do provide complimentary shuttle service to and from Franconia Springfield Metro which also includes numerous area businesses (Bearing Point, CACI, Washington Gas, Boeing and Northrop Grumman) and restaurants. We hope each guest’s takes advantage of these venues close to the hotel.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and we all look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Sincerely,

Mary Joy AFOM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Ohio
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

Checking in, the staff was prompt and helpful. Later with directions they were good. The breakfast bar area was kept clean and well stocked. Cold foods were cold; hot, hot. The shuttle driver was courteous to other traffic and made the passengers feel safe. The location was good. The bad: The maid forgot to replace the hand towels, wash cloths, and bath mat after she took the dirty ones. The shower is starting to show spots of rust and sagging shower curtain rod. The ice machine on our floor did not work. The toilet seat would not stay up unless held in place. This was due to a design flaw, the toilet sits too far back under the shelf for toiletries. Overall, the value was good, but if I was to come back in more than a year, I would worry unless assured the small problems have been addressed and are not bigger today.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank magisjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Washington DC SW-Springfield, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear magisjim,

We appreciate that you took the time to share your review of your recent stay at our property. Please accept our sincere apology for the shortcomings you experienced. Your comments have been shared with our management team for the purpose of bringing improvements needed. Your feedback is very helpful to us as we establish our best path to providing successful guest satisfaction.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saddle River NJ
Level Contributor
329 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

We needed to get to the south, and felt this was a great break on our way, easy access off the 1 95 169 b the price certainly was great for a lovely queen bed and that special breakfast in the morning which is their gravy with biscuits!
The hotel was beautifully renovated and was especially packed for a Friday night, but again so great to hop back on 1 95 from this location, would definitely remember it again.

Room Tip: we were in a corner room and it was quiet location well lit outside the only issue i had was getti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fitterSaddleRiverNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Springfield hotels
0.3 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Springfield
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Springfield
0.3 mi away
Hilton Springfield
Hilton Springfield
#3 of 12 in Springfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 12 in Springfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Springfield
BEST WESTERN Springfield
#11 of 12 in Springfield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Springfield Old Keene Mill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Washington DC SW-Springfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Washington DC SW-Springfield

Property: Holiday Inn Express Washington DC SW-Springfield
Address: 6401 Brandon Ave, Springfield, VA 22150-2514
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Springfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Washington DC SW-Springfield 2.5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Washington DC SW-Springfield is a 10 story hotel with newly renovated guest rooms ideally located 13 miles south of Washington, DC at the junction of I-95, I-395, and I-495 Capital Beltway. Our hotel is 11 miles south of Reagan National Airport (DCA) and with our free shuttle servicing the Franconia-Springfield Metro Station the metropolitan area awaits. Local attractions and businesses include: the White House, Smithsonian, Arlington National Cemetery, Mount Vernon, Amtrak Auto Train, Raytheon, Lockheed Martin, General Dynamics, SAIC, General Motors, the Pentagon, Fort Belvoir, and Quantico. Shoppers will enjoy Springfield Mall, Tysons Corner Mall, and Potomac Mills.The Springfield Holiday Inn Express features 194 guest rooms with newly upgraded decor, complimentary high-speed Internet access (wireless throughout hotel, wired in select rooms), complimentary breakfast, free parking, and outdoor pool. Allow the professional sales staff at Holiday Inn Express in Springfield to assist you with your next banquet or social function; we can accommodate up to 200 people. Stay Smart with us and enjoy all of the convenience of Washington, without all of the hassle! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Washington DC SW-Springfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Washington Dc Sw-Springfield Hotel Springfield
Holiday Inn Express Springfield
Holiday Inn Springfield
Springfield Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing