We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (273)
Filter reviews
273 results
Traveler rating
86
109
38
29
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
86
109
38
29
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hi express front desk room was clean upgraded to a suite metro station school groups shuttle service banquet room standard fare older hotel breakfast area free breakfast mini fridge free shuttle reagan airport exercise room the hotel offers
Filter
Updating list...
161 - 166 of 273 reviews
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We were accommodated on an early checkin and then used the shuttle to get to the Metro. It was great service and would recommend this hotel. The metro is a great way to get around and the hotel will shuttle guests there and back.
It was a pleasant experience at the hotel which was very comfortable and the service was first class

Date of stay: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank db54g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary Joy A, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Washington DC SW-Springfield, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2013

Dear DB54G,

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. It was nice to hear that you had a pleasant experience at the hotel and the staff provided you with first class service. I will certainly share your review with the team, as I know they will be pleased to hear we exceeded your expectations. We are honored to have earned your loyalty and greatly appreciate your recommendation.
As you mentioned, we do provide complimentary shuttle service to and from Franconia Springfield Metro which also includes numerous area businesses (Bearing Point, CACI, Washington Gas, Boeing and Northrop Grumman) and restaurants. We hope each guest’s takes advantage of these venues close to the hotel.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and we all look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Sincerely,

Mary Joy AFOM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Checking in, the staff was prompt and helpful. Later with directions they were good. The breakfast bar area was kept clean and well stocked. Cold foods were cold; hot, hot. The shuttle driver was courteous to other traffic and made the passengers feel safe. The location was good. The bad: The maid forgot to replace the hand towels, wash cloths, and bath mat after she took the dirty ones. The shower is starting to show spots of rust and sagging shower curtain rod. The ice machine on our floor did not work. The toilet seat would not stay up unless held in place. This was due to a design flaw, the toilet sits too far back under the shelf for toiletries. Overall, the value was good, but if I was to come back in more than a year, I would worry unless assured the small problems have been addressed and are not bigger today.

Date of stay: May 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank magisjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Washington DC SW-Springfield, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Dear magisjim,

We appreciate that you took the time to share your review of your recent stay at our property. Please accept our sincere apology for the shortcomings you experienced. Your comments have been shared with our management team for the purpose of bringing improvements needed. Your feedback is very helpful to us as we establish our best path to providing successful guest satisfaction.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We needed to get to the south, and felt this was a great break on our way, easy access off the 1 95 169 b the price certainly was great for a lovely queen bed and that special breakfast in the morning which is their gravy with biscuits!
The hotel was beautifully renovated and was especially packed for a Friday night, but again so great to hop back on 1 95 from this location, would definitely remember it again.

Room tip: we were in a corner room and it was quiet location well lit outside the only issue i had was getting the proper connect off 195 from the service person.
Date of stay: April 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Constance N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Unfortunate or easily accessible location off the tangle of highways -- you be the judge. Clean but not pristine, passable. Friendly staff doing the best with what they have. Breakfast buffet. Not much you can walk to but a strip mall across the street (which is scarily part of a highway exit ramp, so be careful crossing). Very much a passing-through kind of a place, but affordable for that purpose. Did the trick for two nights.

Date of stay: February 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IcelandOrBust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Washington DC SW-Springfield, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Dear IcelandOrBust,

Thank you for your review and being so detailed in the good, the bad and the opportunities to improve. Whilst I am pleased with the good comment, We truly value the negative comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can offer. Please accept my apology for the shortcomings you have experienced during your stay. We are continually reviewing the products and service we provide, therefore guest feedback is very important to us.

Again, we wish to thank you for your input and hope to see you the next time you travel to our area.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

The check-in process at this hotel was outstanding ~ Stacey was pleasant, enthusiastic, and appeared genuinely glad to assist. He gets top marks! We requested a refrigerator in our room and received a refrigerator and a microwave; the person who brought the equipment and set it up was friendly and very professional. Breakfast is the normal fare...and it's nice having coffee available all day. Those are the highlights.

The room is adequate; good size, plenty of space, comfortable king bed. The pillows are just short of horrid; lumpy and hard. The bathroom is clean, if a bit small. The shower has great water pressure and plenty of hot water.

Housekeeping is sorely lacking. Day one, our room was cleaned in a timely manner. Day two, we were out all day (from 9am) and the room wasn't addressed until 4:20pm (after we returned). Day 3, we again left at 9am; the housekeeping crew was outside our door. We returned at noon to an unmade room. As we left a few minutes later, I asked the person at the front desk if we could please have our room made up...when we returned after 3pm, the room was as we left it in the morning. Unacceptable.

We are using reward nights; it's obvious we are not important enough to have our room cleaned in a timely manner ~ even when the housekeeping staff sees us leave because they are right outside our door ~ even when we specifically ask the front desk to have our room addressed. We will not be staying here again.

Date of stay: April 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IrishWife1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Washington DC SW-Springfield, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Dear IrishWife1,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding our front desk and breakfast.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the pillows and housekeeping. We will address these points. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews