We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean & Thirfty” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Washington DC SW-Springfield

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Washington DC SW-Springfield
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Springfield
Certificate of Excellence
Newport News
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Clean & Thirfty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

One night stay for business trip stay only. The ustomer service was excellant, the rooms were clean, the bedding was decent, and the free breakfast in the morning worked for me. This "Express" was a little older than some of the ones that I have stayed in, but they updated the inside to match with the newer ones around. Bathrooms could have used a little more updating, but not bad.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ExpTraveler13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    78
    29
    25
    10
See reviews for
70
37
19
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

The rooms are very clean and everything seems fairly new. Nothing seemed old or over used. We had a leaky bath tub but customer service took care of it right away. If you're going to DC and your room key doesn't work when you come back, don't panic. Front desk told us that the metal detectors in the museums and government buildings sometimes deactivates them. Only thing I didnt like is that there were only sheer curtains and the thick ones couldn't be pulled down. I felt like I had to hide in the bathroom to get changed! Overall inexpensive place without being scary or dirty!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shoell914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Muhammad at the Front desk has a excellent service to the guest,he is not only has good service at front desk, anywhere in the hotel , he offers his nice service!!!! But personally I don feel safe in the hotel because guest dost swipe the room key at the elevator,this way,anybody can get onto upstairs and knock on your door pretend to say " house keeping " or "room service"and threaten your life!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
80 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed here for two nights over the Labor Day long weekend. The hotel was very busy with a wedding reception, and many families. As a result, the breakfast area was full to the brim both mornings. The staff did their best to keep items refreshed, but understandably were falling behind.

We stayed in a King Room. The bed was good, and expected of the chain. The decor was a bit outdated, and the room in general was tired. The washrooms were adequately sized, but again showing their age.

The hotel is located right off the highway, and without any traffic delays, it took about 20 minutes to drive into the National Mall area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank universalis123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Washington DC SW-Springfield, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
We want to thank you for your comments. We always appreciate feedback as it gives us the opportunity to improve things here at Holiday Inn Express Springfield. You are absolutely correct that the hotel was extremely busy over the last weekend. Our apologies for the incovenience this may have caused you. We are also checking on the bed in your room to see what needs to be replaced or repaired. Thanks again for your input. It is greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EUCOM
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

My family and I only planned to stay at this property for 12 days while we moved out of the local area heading overseas (I'm in the military), but when our house sooner than expected and we needed a place to stay for an extra 30 days (!), we spoke to the H.I. Express management and askled for help making an arrangement. The staff was great! (Special thanks to Armando, the business manager.) Suffice it to say it wasn't how we wanted to end our time in Springfield, but it worked out fine. Yes, we stayed longer than most ever will, but our experience gave us pretty good insight into the people there. We got to know the staff (whom we saw everyday) and it was our pleasure, they were just good people ... everyone from the ladies who cleaned the rooms (they were willing to work with us on a convieint schedule) to the guys who drove the shuttle to and from the Franconia-Springfield Metro Station (huge help!!). I also don't want to forget the maintenance staff wo helped us rearrange the room to adjust for the demands if a longer stay (they provided a microwave and better TV), and the morning breakfast crew who always had a little extra of something (Yoplait yougart, fruit loops, etc) for the kids before they left for school. Overall, they were all friendly, helpful and nice, especially to our kids (e.g.: on Saturdays they'd see us coming and going for soccer games and take time to ask how it went - very sincere, very personable). I know this review is atypical, and that you're unlikely to spend as much time there as we did, but I can tell you that the folks working at this place made it feel as close to a home as a hotel can feel. They really earned my respect as a hotel satff.

Room Tip: If you have kids, or need a second room, ask for the second floor suite. I think it's the only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metro Minneapolis-Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
112 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Stayed here prior to flying home after weeks trip in VA. Older hotel, but seems to have been updated recently, rooms very clean, nice area, restaurants within walking distance, gas station within a block, Check in was quick and friendly , breakfast was one of the best I've had at this brand, well stocked and serviced continually. No lines, no problems. All in all hightly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MSP-Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Spent two nights here in August and was so pleased with this place! Clean room and quiet for a busy hotel. Breakfast was excellent and their was plenty of room to spread out so you didn't have that cramped feeling you get at many hotel breakfast rooms.
The location is great although its very tricky driving around trying to get to and out of the hotel. I can't remember his name, but the front desk help was WONDERFUL! They have a shuttle to the Metro station in town (about 5 minutes away) and that made our day in DC so much easier. The front desk suggested where to get on and off the Metro and made for an easy day and no driving!
My only little complaint is the shuttle only runs until 9:15-9:30, and we came back at 9:45 so we had to get a taxi-again the front desk suggested a taxi company and we had a great ride back.
Highly recommend this location !!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terrenski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Springfield hotels
0.3 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Springfield
0.3 mi away
Hilton Springfield
Hilton Springfield
#4 of 12 in Springfield
4.0 of 5 stars 622 reviews
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Springfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 12 in Springfield
4.0 of 5 stars 195 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Springfield Old Keene Mill
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Springfield
BEST WESTERN Springfield
#10 of 12 in Springfield
3.5 of 5 stars 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Washington DC SW-Springfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Washington DC SW-Springfield

Property: Holiday Inn Express Washington DC SW-Springfield
Address: 6401 Brandon Ave., Springfield, VA 22150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Springfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Washington DC SW-Springfield 2.5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Washington DC SW-Springfield is a 10 story hotel with newly renovated guest rooms ideally located 13 miles south of Washington, DC at the junction of I-95, I-395, and I-495 Capital Beltway. Our hotel is 11 miles south of Reagan National Airport (DCA) and with our free shuttle servicing the Franconia-Springfield Metro Station the metropolitan area awaits. Local attractions and businesses include: the White House, Smithsonian, Arlington National Cemetery, Mount Vernon, Amtrak Auto Train, Raytheon, Lockheed Martin, General Dynamics, SAIC, General Motors, the Pentagon, Fort Belvoir, and Quantico. Shoppers will enjoy Springfield Mall, Tysons Corner Mall, and Potomac Mills.The Springfield Holiday Inn Express features 194 guest rooms with newly upgraded decor, complimentary high-speed Internet access (wireless throughout hotel, wired in select rooms), complimentary breakfast, free parking, and outdoor pool. Allow the professional sales staff at Holiday Inn Express in Springfield to assist you with your next banquet or social function; we can accommodate up to 200 people. Stay Smart with us and enjoy all of the convenience of Washington, without all of the hassle! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Washington DC SW-Springfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Washington Dc Sw-Springfield Hotel Springfield
Holiday Inn Express Springfield
Holiday Inn Springfield
Springfield Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing