We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“July Stay to visit Washington DC”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Springfield
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Springfield
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“July Stay to visit Washington DC”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

This hotel is very convenient for visiting Washington DC. The hotel provides a terrific shuttle service to and from the metro stop (a 3 minute drive at most). Never waited to get collected for more than 4 minutes after calling the hotel. The room we had on 5th floor was spacious, clean and in good working order. The beds were very comfortable and bathroom was recently renovated. There was a slight smell initially upon entering room, but disappeared quickly. The breakfast was amazing, constantly replenished by helpful staff who kept the area very clean and pleasant. The metro ride was 38 minutes from station to the Smithsonian stop. The hotel is close to a large supermarket and a terrific Vietnamese restaurant (Saigon City) and a Dunkin Donuts all within walking distance.

Room Tip: Pay extra for the rooms on the 5th and 6th floors. It is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ParistoNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amiles6721, Manager at BEST WESTERN Springfield, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
ParistoNY

Thank you for your review. I appreciate your positive feedback and I hope that you will keep us in mind for future visits to the Washington, DC area.

Afiya Miles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    137
    73
    55
    39
See reviews for
154
94
26
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harrodsburg, Kentucky
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

My husband, two young-adult daughters, and I spent four nights here so we could visit DC. we chose it based on the rate and the location. It was about 15 minutes from DC by car, but the hotel is about a mile from the Metro (subway) station and it provides a free shuttle. The shuttle drivers were available each morning after we had eaten the free hotel breakfast (which was pretty good but had little variety--eggs, potatoes, sausage, waffles, yoghurt, cereal, juice, milk, muffins, etc.) and would come to the station to pick us up each evening when called. The room was small but clean. There was some traffic noise but it wasn't bad. Overall the hotel was quiet. One elevator didn't work when we arrived but was fixed the next morning. The pool looked clean and nice but we didn't visit it. There was adequate parking and the staff was nice. Overall I would recommend it. It looked a little worn, but like I said it was clean and moderately priced.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neesienoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amiles6721, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Springfield, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Dear BumpyGrumpy

Thank you for your review. I am happy to hear that our property fits your needs. We are aware that the property needs some minor upgrading and we are in the process of making those upgrades. Some of the upgrades we just completed was new LCD televisions in the guest rooms, microwave and refrigerators in all guestrooms as well as we just upgraded most of our breakfast items. We still have a few projects ahead of us but with help of guests like yourself we are taking pride in improving our product.

Afiya Miles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

Spent four nights at this hotel. Higher price than I'm used to paying, but low for the area. Very good breakfast included in price. Very nice pool, with lifeguard on duty. Free shuttle to metro station and local restaurants, and mall. Close to interstate. Switched rooms because we spotted some small roaches, on three occasions, in our first room.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bucktown-yat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amiles6721, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Springfield, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Bucktown-Yat

Thank you for the review on our property. I am glad that you were able to enjoy some of the amenities of the hotel such as the pool and the complimentary shuttle. However, I would like to apologize for the pest issue that you had in your guestroom. We do have a monthly service performed on guestrooms to prevent these issues from occuring. I am sorry that I did not get a chance to address this issue while you were here. This is not the a normal occurance and I hope that you will stay with us again when you are in the area.
Afiya Miles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

If you are looking for a relatively clean, affordable hotel in the D.C. area and can tolerate a few minor inconveniences then this will do just fine.

Room was clean, breakfast was edible, staff were mostly friendly and helpful, and the free shuttle to the nearby Metro station was a nice bonus. The pool is clean and very well maintained. There is a lifeguard on duty at all times who even checks the pool chemical content regularly.

Only real issues were that one elevator was not working all week, the wireless internet connection is wonky and is out sporadically, and they could use a few touch ups and upgrades on some small decor issues. Otherwise, no major complaints from me.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Springfield, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Dear BumpyGrumpy

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our property. I would like to apologize that you did not get a chance to experience the upgrades during your recent stay. We are in process of upgrading televisions to LCD TV's have a completed the first 4 floors. The internet speed has been increased to a download speed of 2.0 and and bandwith of 7.0. The elevetors are undergoing a small ugrade and is taking longer than projected due to circumstances beyond the hotels control.

I hope that if you are in the area in the future that you would give us another chance to meet and exceed your expectations.

Afiya Miles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
77 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

I recently led a group of 50 7th grade students and chaperons to Washington DC for a 3 day and 2 night trip. We chose to stay at the Best Western Springfield and we are glad that we did! The sales department was easy to work with and the rates provided were competitive. Upon our arrival we were greeted by the front desk in a courteous and professional manner. We were arranged up and down the 2nd floor and found all of the rooms to be clean and nice.

The pool was open until 10pm which was a nice bonus for anyone traveling with children, let alone a group of children. The lifeguard does a nice job of protecting and maintaining a safe environment around the pool. Kudos to him for the 2 hours the kids spent laughing and yelling at the pool.

The breakfast nook is sort of a restaurant/diner style place but it is all self service. As we were a big group they set us up in one of the conference rooms with a smaller (nothing hot) breakfast which was fine as the kids ate cereal and we were not in anyone's way.

I can comment that my room 203 was very comfortable. The pillows seemed new and the bedding was nice. The tvs are the older tube kind, which I guess is fine as we didn't spend too much time there.

All in all this is a nice place if you are visiting Washington DC or northern Virginia with a car as it is quite a distance from the city. If you are traveling with a group or are looking for a place to take a group the Best Western Springfield will work for ya.

Room Tip: The 01 rooms (201, 301, 401) are right in front of the elevator and may be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmg2101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Springfield, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Dear Cmg2101


Thank you for your review. I am so happy to hear that you were pleased with our service and product. We take pride in providing excellent service and amenities that our guests can enjoy.

I hope that if you are back in the area that you will keep us in mind.

Afiya Miles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
82 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

We arrived early (around 11 am) and were worried we might not be able to check in until 3, however, the woman at the front desk was extremely friendly and let us check in with no issues.
We took the hotel shuttle to the Metro station; we were headed to a Nationals game and found out that the shuttle service would cease at 10 pm so we planned on taking a taxi back to the hotel. The water was nice and hot and the beds were incredibly comfortable and NO noise out in the parking lot.
Breakfast the next morning was a little hectic but it was a full breakfast complete with two waffle makers, eggs, grits, sausage, a variety of juices and much more.
If you're looking for a less expensive alternative when staying in the DC area, I would definitely recommend this Best Western.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Springfield, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Dear AlexiaP

That you for taking the time to review our property. I am glad that you had an excellent stay and got take full advantage of the use of our Shuttle.

Hope to see you again in the future!!

Afiya Miles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

Poor service - we were told the facility was completely out of towels. Breakfast was severely overcrowded and all coffee & beverage machines were broken or empty and not refilled. Couldn't even get water. Paid to eat breakfast elsewhere. Every outlet sunk into the wall when we tried to use them and the plugs fell out. Could not even charge my phone. Fairly sure they are a fire hazard. Noisy parties in the parking lot. Basically clean but not relaxing - did not make our trip more pleasant. Glad we didn't have to spend too much time in the room.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LMG11111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela H, Manager at BEST WESTERN Springfield, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear LMG11111,
I wanted to thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. I am dismayed that your stay was not a comfortable experience. We have made many changes to the property and hope that you will return to see the improvements in the facility and customer service.

Kindest Regards,
Angela H
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Springfield hotels
0.2 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Springfield
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 12 in Springfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Springfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Springfield
0.2 mi away
Hilton Springfield
Hilton Springfield
#3 of 12 in Springfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Washington DC SW-Springfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Springfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Springfield

Property: BEST WESTERN Springfield
Address: 6721 Commerce St, Springfield, VA 22150-2507
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Springfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Springfield 2.5*
Number of rooms: 179
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Best Western, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Springfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Springfield Hotel Springfield
Springfield Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing