We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Chili I've had”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hard Times Cafe

Hard Times Cafe
Ranked #77 of 192 Restaurants in Springfield
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Springfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
128 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Best Chili I've had”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

I've been eating Hard Times chili since the 1980s. It's the best chili I've eaten. The price is right, the food comes fast, and it's basically a sports bar.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Military_Traveler11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    23
    14
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
No. VA
Level Contributor
532 reviews
310 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Neighborhood Gem!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

Hard Times Cafe is a great little place for a quick lunch, a nice dinner, or drinks and a snack. The food is simple but delicious, and the portions are generous. They serve four kinds of chili to choose from, but they will give you a sample of all four so you can pick your favorite. Its in a shopping center, so you sorta have to look for it, but its worth it. I'd certainly recommend it!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mlowder500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Hard Times Cafe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

The different styles of chili to choose from made it fun and a good option for our family. I chose the sampler, and they wer all good. There are also the usual kid-friendly options on the menu. The cornbread was delicious. We ate downstairs, and it was nice and cosy; I can't speak for the ambiance upstairs where the bar is.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank FFtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Comfort Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

Good food, good prices, good chili. They don't have the healthiest menu, but my wife swears that their salads are tasty. Great place to take kids of all ages. They also have a large beer selection and charge reasonable prices for their brews.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penngrove, California, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Hard Times Cafe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

Prices were great, food was excellent, and atmosphere was very laid back. We were treated very good and all the staff was helpful in aiding our efforts to handle our 3 grandchildren.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gloria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hard Times Cafe also viewed

Springfield, Fairfax County
Springfield, Fairfax County
 
Springfield, Fairfax County
Springfield, Fairfax County
 

Been to Hard Times Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing