We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent lunch, great food and service, reasonable prices, clean”
Review of Monty's Steakhouse

Monty's Steakhouse
Reserve with OpenTable
Monty's Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #16 of 198 Restaurants in Springfield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Rolling Road
Description: A traditional American Steakhouse, Monty's is an upscale, casual fine dining restaurant serving a unique blend of sensational fish & appetizer selections alongside 21-28 day dry-aged beef.A good experience, satisfying portions and a neighborhood steakhouse to call your own. Welcome to Monty's.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

This is a great Springfield, Va neighborhood restaurant. Good food and service. Clean, clean, which I love. I went here with 2 friends and enjoyed a great burger and dessert. The wine list was impressive. Lots of places don't have great ambience but good food. This place falls in this category. The bottom line is did you have a good meal and was it well served. The answer here was Yes, Yes. Give it a try.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank VAChuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (189)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

148 - 152 of 189 reviews

Reviewed May 18, 2013

So, as others have said, the steaks are really excellent. The frites and the mushrooms were really quite good. But, really, for the price you'd expect at least moderately attentive service. Okay, for THESE prices you'd expect them to dote on you. Our waiter had mastered the ability to keep his back to us at all times. He checked on us zero times after taking our order. I enjoyed a glass of the Artizan Zinfandel, which goes superbly well with the steaks. I wanted a second glass, but never caught the waiter's attention. After he turned to leave a third time, AFTER I caught his eye, I had to yell across the restaurant. A few days later we were eating at a more modest Springfield hangout, where the service was far superior. We were amused at how price and service were inversely proportional.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Redbeard28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
k monty m, Owner at Monty's Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Hi Redbeard28. Thanks for giving us a try. We are glad you liked the menu & wine selection.
The service you received is clearly not inline with Monty's standards. We regret that your server was inattentive and will make certain that he does not allow a repeat performance in the future.
We appreciate your post and hope you decide to dine at Monty's again. We are confident your next experience will be the way Monty's intends.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Springfield needs this great steakhouse. I haven't had a bad meal/steak here. Get the frittes and mushrooms with your steak. It is a step or so below high-end steakhouses like Capital Grill or Sam and Harry's in ambience and service but with like prices. And, it is local. Glad to have this option.

Thank Mikey5050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed our dinner at Monty's, which is only a couple of miles from our house. It's named after the owner's father, who is orignally from Iran. The food was excellent and the service was superb. It's nice having a restaurant so close to home that serves great food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
k monty m, Owner at Monty's Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Thank you for posting on Trip Advisor, John. We appreciate your kind words & are delighted that you are pleased.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

How does a "medium" filet mignon arrive at the table cool to taste while the frites are hot? When you have a good answer, let me know. Until then, I'll not be going back. Ten minutes from being seated to be greeted and another five until we got water and had our drink order taken. Enough? Final faux pas - twenty minutes after our meal, and ten after asking another waitperson, we got our check. Never more.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank DanMadio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
k monty m, Owner at Monty's Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Thank you for your post, Dan. We feel terrible that we failed you. We appreciate that you accepted our apology over the phone and are willing to give us another try next time you're in town.
Your experience is definitely not the norm at Monty's and we will make certain not to be understaffed again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monty's Steakhouse also viewed

Springfield, Fairfax County
Springfield, Fairfax County
 
Tysons Corner, Fairfax County
Springfield, Fairfax County
 
Springfield, Fairfax County
 

Been to Monty's Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing