We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Few days in DC”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
TownePlace Suites Springfield
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Springfield
Wilmington, Vermont
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A Few days in DC”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

The hotel is just off the highway about 1.5 miles from the metro station. It is immaculate as Marriott goes and their breakfast was very nice. Convenient to many restaurants nearby, some within walking distance. The suite large big living room, nic size bedroom, great kitchen with range and dishwasher.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Garytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanda J, Manager at TownePlace Suites Springfield, responded to this review, February 3, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    63
    37
    7
    7
See reviews for
62
19
12
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Conestoga, PA
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

My husband and I stayed here 4 nights in August 2012 because of his job change. The room and staff were both fine, however, since it is a pet friendly hotel, beware of fleas, especially in the sleeper sofa. I got bitten up during my stay (by fleas, probably not bed bugs) and the hotel refused to acknowledge any responsibility. And it took Marriott's claim service almost 2 months to decide in THEIR favor. I was very disappointed in this link of the Marriott brand chain. First time I ever received this kind of treatment. Just beware!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KimGConestoga_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanda J, Manager at TownePlace Suites Springfield, responded to this review, February 3, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

My husband and I were in the area - him for work & me as a tag-along for an impromptu trip to the DC area. We were in a studio room, and it was very nice.

The Good: The room was decorated nicely and was comfortable. The mini-kitchen was fantastic & includes a sink, refrigerator, dishwasher, stove, microwave, coffee pot, cupboards and a selection of dishes & other household items. The desk was large enough for doing work on & the TV swung either to face the sofa or the bed. It was clean & quiet. The staff were reasonably pleasant. The washers & dryers are a nice addition for people staying for awhile (they are coin-operated). The hotel is within a few blocks of a couple of strip malls that have restaurants and stores.

The Not-As-Good: The pool is outdoors & closes on Labor Day. I think they could be open a little longer, it is still hot down in Virginia in early September & I would've liked to be able to hang out by the pool. I was also disappointed to discover that there was no shuttle to the metro. It's a service I think the hotel should consider providing. I solved this by taking a cab to the shuttle (approx. $10 one-way in the middle of the day with no traffic) and then taking the bus back. If it works into your schedule, the bus is only $1.80 and is 1 stop away from the hotel. The bus stop is across the road.Take 321 to the metro station & 322 back. If the hotel isn't going to offer a shuttle in the future, they should consider having the bus schedule available for people if they are interested. If you have a car, obviously just drive to the metro & it's an easy ride to attractions in the city. The staff wasn't too friendly when we requested a late checkout, but they did end up giving us 45 minutes (why not make it a round hour?) - we ended up checking out only 10-15 minutes after the regular checkout, anyway.

Also, there is food nearby - Mike's American, a Mexican place, a Thai place in the shopping plaza, Dunkin across the road. So, that was convenient as well for nights when we didn't want to venture too far.

Room Tip: The basement floor had a bit of a strange smell in the hall, but there was none of that on the highe...
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank rachel128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanda J, Manager at TownePlace Suites Springfield, responded to this review, February 3, 2016

Thank you for your kind words. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We ended up coming to TownePlace due to delayed settlement on our new house and stayed there 17 days. We were in two bedroom suite with kitchenette.
If you are a large family who does not care partying on town (DC) late at night, and does not mind driving to DC for sightseeing and such, this is the place for you. In terms of the location, it is right at the beltway on the south, and the hotel has an easy access to 395/95/495 - excellent location if you need to drive around. It is close by metro, but you would need to drive there, or take bus to get to metro - it's about 5 minute drive.
Location itself is a bit weird - you overlook the car dealership, and if you take Commerce, you may see some low-income rentals, but you need not worry about that - we have lived in Springfield for a long time, and have never had issues. There is a pretty large shopping center near by with Giant, CVS, Buy Buy Baby, K-Mart, Trader Joe's and some other stores and restaurants. Like another reviewer, we highly recommend Mike's American - just call ahead to be added to the list because this place gets busy all the time and wait can be long. Not far from this area, there is also place called Kingstown (it's in Alexandria)- another popular dining/shopping area with stores like TJMAXX, Ross, Home Goods, some clothing shops, Safeway, Giant, and movie theatres, not to mention tons of dining - our favories were Bonefish, Indian place across the street, Panera and Moby Dick.
Hotel itself is very comfortable - if you would rather stay in the place where they changes sheets on daily places, and leave you chocolates, skip this one. Not to say that they won't if you ask for it, they just normally make the bed for you and take out trash. When you get to your room, it is homie - meaning that it not sterile, the decor has warm hues, and the room/suite feels comfortable. There are flat screen TVs in bedrooms as well as the living area and there are cooking utencils if you want to cook - actually, there is literally everything if you need to cook there - various size pots, a couple pans, and 4 of each - plates, glasses, cups, forks, spoons, etc. They also provide you with coffee maker and a toaster. The staff replaces the towels as needed on daily basis, and also provides dish soap and whatever else you need - like toilet paper, coffee, etc.
Then you have a free continental breakfast - and it is ok - a lot better than some other places. But it is limited - you get the same frozen waffles and french toast and cereal and yogurt options, but what you get is plentiful, and they refill everything quickly. They also have fresh fruit and oatmeal and gritts, mini muffins and bread, butter and cream cheese. Overall, I'd say, there is plenty of options for a good breakfast.
Now, the workout area - while existent, it is very small - maybe 3-4 machines. It is always empty, so you would be in luck if you want to work out.
Pool - very small, but they always have a life guard, and for a quick dip, it is ok. They provide fresh towels at the poolside.
Staff - very friendly and accommodating. We had to extend our stay several times, and they were understanding and accommodating.
A tip you should take note of - they can give you an option to check out and check in immediately - take this option because your points take time to accrue on your account with Marriott, and if you are staying long time here, your day or two maybe charged to points if you use this method at the end of the stay. Otherwise, your points will show up on your account for the stay three - five days later and you won't be able to take advantage of your points right away.
Overall - I am so happy we stayed here - I have no clue why this hotel is rated 2.5 stars.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DCgirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanda J, Manager at TownePlace Suites Springfield, responded to this review, February 3, 2016
Thank you for your feedback.We strive to provide a friendly and welcoming atmosphere for all and I'm happy to read you felt comfortable and enjoyed our services during your time with us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012 via mobile

The rooms were clean and nicely equipped. The breakfast was ok. We stayed 5 nights and it would have been nice to have some meat as an option. We were in town to sight see and it was reasonably priced and a short drive to the metro station. I would stay here again.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Michlyn7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanda J, Manager at TownePlace Suites Springfield, responded to this review, February 3, 2016
Thank you for your kind words. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern va
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We stayed here during an extended power outage in our area. We booked a studio w/a queen bed and pull out sofa for a great rate of $119. It was a little cramped, but worked for us with 2 children. They have 1 and 2 bedroom suites as well. The property was very clean and modern. The rooms were nice - full sized kitchen and they even have a grill out by the pool that you can use. The pool was small but ok and is outdoors. They have a small exercise room. The breakfast was adequate and met our needs. When you have children, having breakfast included is definitely a plus. This is also a pet friendly property.

The front desk clerks and manager were very friendly especially during the trying time of a mass power outage in the surrounding area. This property lives up the Marriott name and would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Has full kitchens so you can bring your own food.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller006_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Springfield, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment and share the experience you had at our property. I am glad to hear that it was a pleasant one. We take pride in our service here at the TownePlace Suites Springfield, and I am also happy to hear our staff made you feel like at home.

Should you come back to the Washington, DC area again I hope that you won't forget about us!

Vanesa Stafford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
District Hieghts Md
1 review
Reviewed May 29, 2012

I stayed here the weekend of May 26, 2012 Everything as nice the front desk staff was friendly and helpful especially Geanis..her smile and professionalism made me feel so welcome to stay here.
I came about this hotel because the Courtyard Marriott was booked for the weekend and I was referred by them.... GREAT REFERAL... I am in Springfield often and every time I go down there I have a new place to stay!!

Great Job!!!!!!!
Thank you for all you did!!!!
JoAnne D. Tillery & Ollie W. Bennett Jr.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoAnne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Springfield, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment and share the experience you had at our property. I am glad to hear that it was a pleasant one. We take pride in our service here at the TownePlace Suites Springfield, and I am also happy to hear our staff made you feel like at home. I will ensure Geanis receives your compliment.

Should you come back to the Washington, DC area again I hope that you won't forget about us!

Vanesa Stafford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Springfield hotels
0.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Springfield
0.4 mi away
Hilton Springfield
Hilton Springfield
#3 of 12 in Springfield
806 reviews
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Springfield Old Keene Mill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Springfield
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Springfield
Courtyard Springfield
#6 of 12 in Springfield
233 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Washington DC SW-Springfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TownePlace Suites Springfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites Springfield

Property: TownePlace Suites Springfield
Address: 6245 Brandon Ave, Springfield, VA 22150-2510
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Springfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites Springfield 2.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your TownePlace Suites Springfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites Springfield Hotel Springfield
Springfield Towneplace Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing