We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visiting relatives in the area and Arlington National Cemetery”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Motel 6 Washington DC SW-Springfield
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Springfield
Wardensville, WV
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Visiting relatives in the area and Arlington National Cemetery”
Reviewed June 10, 2014

Advantages:
1. Near the Metro, only about two blocks away.
2. Wooden floors in the room were clean and a nice touch.
3. Large, roomy bath-tub.
4. Good television cable/reception.
5. Polite front desk staff.
6. Room doors are indoors and secure.

Disadvantages.
1. The price. $85.00 for two people for a Motel 6? Really?
2. Hard to locate off I-95 with road construction going on, no signs to direct you to the motel.
3. Small towels and only soap for bathroom amenities.
5. Thin mattress on bed.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WaltonTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary G, General Manager at Motel 6 Washington DC SW-Springfield, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
I appreciate you taking the time to write a review for our hotel. Thank you for your comments about our newly renovated rooms. Our renovations were just completed only a few months ago and wow what a difference. I am glad you were able to take the metro ride into DC.
Thank you and I hope you will be returning to our area soon.
Sincerely,
Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    26
    22
    17
    15
See reviews for
24
17
14
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

During the presidential week back in November 2013 I believe, my dad reserved a room for the family. We traveled from Franklin, NC to Springfield, VA we're talking about a 8.5 to 9.5 hours of travelling. We arrived at around 2 in the morning with our family (2 children), my mom and husband. There was blistering cold temperature of 10 degrees farenheit. We were tired, and cold.
Once I got to the rep at the front desk I gave him my dad's name. He was rude, didn't say hi, was a real cad! I said how much is the total. He said, "first of all there is no reservation. Second of all, the rates are high because of the presidential election." I told him it's supposed to be $60 dollars a night. He scoffed in stupid manner, "Not this week!"
Considering business, if you see a family coming in with a stroller, two children in the winter cold, you have better be welcoming and kind not a complete idiot.
Thank God my dad came in time before I paid the jerk $220 dollars he wanted to charge me. I was ready to tell him off but my dad got the cheap rate so I let it drop, but I just hope this catches the attention of management and they either get rid of the dude and hire someone who really wants to get more clientele as opposed to scare clients away with a bad attitude.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary G, General Manager at Motel 6 Washington DC SW-Springfield, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel. I am sorry we were not able to meet your expectations during your recent stay with us.
Sincerely,
Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014

I needed a cheap motel to be an overnight stop on the way from Richmond to DC, somewhere close enough I could hop on the interstate in the morning and get into the city in time for an 8:30 am appointment. Probably should have just gotten up at 5 am and driven. I paid $63 for a king room.

I also had a dog, which made the hotel search more challenging. I didn't really want to pay $100 extra for 12 hours at a motel because of the dog, so I wavered between the red roof and motel 6. I chose the motel 6 because it was $15 cheaper, and for the amount of time I was staying, it seemed worth it to save the extra.

The rooms at this Motel 6 are "new" - so new in fact it appears they are still renovating the first floor. It was clean and Ikea-ish enough, but the bed was too hard for me. The biggest problem though was really the noise. It's literally on I-95. I knew this from the reviews, and should have been prepared, but it really is loud. I barely slept. I didn't hear any other noise from other rooms, but between the hard mattress and the freeway noise, it was not a great stay for me.

I'm not rating them two stars because of anything the staff did - they were nice and helpful. And I'm not rating them two stars because the rooms are awful. They aren't. I'm rating them two stars because the one thing you really want to do in a motel, especially a cheap one, is sleep - and that was impossible.

On the plus side - rooms are clean, free parking, dogs are free, easy access to the interstate (ha!), the area has several fast food (chick-fil-a, subway, five guys) restaurants and a couple 7-11s within walking distance. There is not really anywhere to take your dog to the bathroom though, just a small strip of grass in front of other people's motel windows.

If you do decide to stay here because you need a cheap room, I'd make sure to ask for a room that doesn't face the interstate. I'm not sure if it's significantly quieter, but it can't be as bad.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rajia21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary G, General Manager at Motel 6 Washington DC SW-Springfield, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel.
Sincerely,
Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bealeton, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

This is my first stay at this Motel 6, needed a place to crash as I work nearby but I was kinda tired and it's a long drive home....so. here I am.

1. Room - standard no frills room - two double beds both comfortable.
2. A/C / heat works great and is quiet
3. TV is nice has a a few channels but could use more but for a night or two it's OK. TV has inputs up front you could connect a laptop / DVD player.
4. Room has a nice mirror / small cubbie hole 2 shelves to put clothes and a chair near a small computer desk near mirror.
5. Hardwood floor or laminate looks clean
6. bathroom with bathtub/shower - very clean
7. Hallways look clean & well kept as do elevators

Lobby area and parking lot are no frills but this is a nice place with easy access on/off Interstates and local roadways. Plenty of good places to eat within 15 minutes or less with Outback & Five Guys burgers within walking distance.

If they would put a microwave & small refrigerator in the room it would be great. Internet is $2.99 a day and kind of slow but for a few days it's ok.

Room Tip: Just check everything when you first check in - common sense - do it early to give them a chance to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary G, General Manager at Motel 6 Washington DC SW-Springfield, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel.
Sincerely,
Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

STAY AWAY FROM THIS MOTEL. This motels issues are unbelievable. First of all the wifi is not free it cost $2.99 a night and you can only use it on one device at a time, They are police here ALL DAY EVERYDAY they are undercover they disturb the peace. they snoop around every door looking for a reason to lock someone up. They are here 10 cops at a time waiting for the oppertunity. The staff is rude, this place is very unsafe stay away unless you wanna end up in jail or become a victim.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank unojoe55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motel6, Public Relations Manager at Motel 6 Washington DC SW-Springfield, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Unojoe55 - We apologize for the issues you experienced during your stay and for the inconvenience they caused you. Please contact our guest relations department so we will have a record of your experience to better address these issues and improve your experience with us in the future: 1-800-577-3435.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, North Carolina, United States
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

This place has made nice improvements since they renovated their rooms. It used to be a dump but they put new floors, beds and nice flat screen TV's in their rooms. Close to restaurants and right off the interstate. We have stayed here three times since they renovated.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michelleafay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary G, General Manager at Motel 6 Washington DC SW-Springfield, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel. Yes you are right -- nice improvements.
Sincerely,
Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean View, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

I was driving from north carolina and stopped to see my daughter in law who was taking a class in DC to take her out to dinner. But I had no wear for my travling dog to stay as it was much too hot to leave in the car. I picked this motel because it listed "pet friendly" The total price for one night visit was $76.40 tax included. They did not charge an extra fee for the dog which is unheard of. It was such a pleasant relaxing feeling to walk into a clean and cool room after driving. Yes there were not special amenities, but the room was awesome for the price I paid.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ghennie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary G, General Manager at Motel 6 Washington DC SW-Springfield, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel. Your comments were greatly appreciated.
Sincerely,
Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Springfield hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 12 in Springfield
247 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Springfield
0.3 mi away
Best Western Springfield
Best Western Springfield
#10 of 12 in Springfield
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Springfield
0.3 mi away
Hilton Springfield
Hilton Springfield
#3 of 12 in Springfield
824 reviews
0.6 mi away
Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Springfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Washington DC SW-Springfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Washington DC SW-Springfield

Property: Motel 6 Washington DC SW-Springfield
Address: 6868 Springfield Blvd, Springfield, VA 22150-2705
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Springfield
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Washington DC SW-Springfield 2*
Number of rooms: 190
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Motel-6, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Motel 6 Washington DC SW-Springfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Washington Dc Sw-Springfield Hotel Springfield
Red Roof Inn Springfield
Motel 6 Springfield
Springfield Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing