We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great location, nice lobby, absolutely unworkable slow internet” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Springfield

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Courtyard Springfield
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Springfield
Woodbridge
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great location, nice lobby, absolutely unworkable slow internet”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

The hotel is very convenient to Fort Belvoir. The lobby is very nice with a trendy bar and a great lounge area where a dozen people were socializing. The room was standard; comfortable bed, couch, etc... Unfortunately, the "free high speed internet" was anything but high speed; perhaps it was anything but internet, since it was so slow and intermittent that it was UNUSEABLE. Lost entire evening and morning of urgent work. Left hotel at 7am to find a McDonalds or Starbucks to do work... Never again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelnowandtomorrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield_CY_GM, General Manager at Courtyard Springfield, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us. I would like to first apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay. I know how important it is to have a good internet connection to get work done. In the future, please let us know so we can assist you immediately. In the past we have been able to resolve issues that can sometimes be due to the way your computer is set up. We have a 24 hour desk service that is available for all of our guest.

I thank you for staying with us and look forward to accommodating you stay in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    75
    43
    24
    11
See reviews for
71
31
20
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Duncan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

Nice and clean. Friendly staff. I wish they had a refrigerator and microwave in the room. Close to DC and National Harbor. Pool was indoor and very small. Price is very reasonable for the area. Free parking. Mall within walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GloriaFielder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield_CY_GM, General Manager at Courtyard Springfield, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments about your recent stay with us. They are very valuable to us and will make sure to address them immediately. In the future, do not hesitate to ask for a room with a refrigerator when making a reservation or upon check in. They are available at no additional fee. We do also offer microwaves upon request.

Thank you again for staying with us and look forward to accommodating your stay in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
88 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this Marriott for a basketball tourney located through out Maryland and parts of Virginia. The group price was ok. Could have or should have received a better price for the amount of rooms booked for this tournament.
Breakfast was included. They added a extra time slot for those teams with early 8 am games (which was nice).
Lobby and area were standard to courtyard.
The young man who served at the bar an middle islans area for food was great. Other staff (Abby) was very helpful.
Pool was OK ...clean and staffed with a life guard.
Rooms were standard...clean and comfortable (as to be expected from this chain)
Stores/ shopping and fast food were fairly close (not walkable due to highway)
Important Note....the mall only has its anchor store open, due to renovations to the interior of the mall (residents say it's been a VERY long time this mall has been closed).
There is a smaller mall across the street about half a mile down.
Personally ...We are a Marriott typy family....this location is up to standard.
We give our " Tournament Trophy" to Courtyard.
Nice place...good location. Group rate should have been better....but I would refer this location.
Next visit we would try another location to compare.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank OurTripTip4U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield_CY_GM, General Manager at Courtyard Springfield, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for the great comments about our hotel. We are EXCITED to receive an award!!! Thank you!!!
We look forward to accommodating your stay in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Tennessee
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

We had 35 people in a group that stayed here 4 nights. The rooms were big, clean, and service was good. The downside was that not all rooms had refrigerators which is a plus when you are traveling and want cold water to take with you the next day. They had breakfast for us in a special meeting room which was very good. We would stay here again, but request refrigerators.

Room Tip: Ask for a refrigerator.
See more room tips
Green Features: The environmentally friendly practices were in place and appreciated by all our travelers.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendell N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield_CY_GM, General Manager at Courtyard Springfield, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying with us. I am please we were able to make your stay enjoyable with us. As you mentioned, please let us know upon check in or when making a reservation that you would like a refrigerator. We do have rooms that have them and would love to accommodate you with one.

I thank you again for staying with us and look forward to accommodating your stay in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Stayed here for 3 weekday nights in May, and overall average hotel at best. I'm a Marriott Awards member so stay at Marriott hotels frequently, and this particular hotel is near the bottom of the list for me. The hotel is decent enough, not a dump, but definitely not at what is should be for the price and Marriott award category.

Some of the turnoffs: average food quality, long waits for dinner and breakfast food service, a heavily advertised "manager's special" social hour that included just a small tray of low grade french fries and fried shrimp, slow and often not working internet service in the room, cable service in room with many channels that did not work well and a vastly outdated cable channel guide in room guest guide, room service was not completed at all one of my days and another day I got a knock on my door at 8am for room service. I addressed some of my room complaints to the front desk with general indifference.

Overall, the hotel looks clean and nice, but service and organization is lacking.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield_CY_GM, General Manager at Courtyard Springfield, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your comments and concerns about your stay. You comments are very valuable to us and will make sure to share them with the rest of the team.

I would like to first apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay. In the future, do not hesitate to ask for the manager on duty to inform us of any concerns during your stay. We want to makes sure that we address them immediately while you are in our property. Our goal is to provide excellent service and we want to make sure you receive that.

I thank you again for staying with us and look forward to accommodating your stay in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
118 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

We had a group of kids up there last week. There were a few others there that were rowdy, but I was very pleased our kids were so very well behaved. The hotel was nice and having a Starbucks like coffee center was kinda cool. The place was clean, and everyone was friendly. I would say my only real knock was the rules around the pool. No more than 20 people? Really that includes sitting around the pool. So we had 55 kids and 8 adults. We ended up only being able to let 15 kids swim at a time, a few kids in the hot tub, and a couple adults. The life guard was just doing is job, but he was a little rude about it. I would say that part alone is why this did not get a 4 star rating.

Room Tip: I would have asked for a room with a fridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield_CY_GM, General Manager at Courtyard Springfield, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your comments and concerns. They are very valuable to us and will makes sure to share them with the rest of our team members.
In reference to the pool guidelines, they are put in placed and enforced by the lifeguard for security reasons. I do apologize for the inconvenience this may have caused, but it is for the guests safety.
I thank you again for staying with us and look forward to accommodating your stay in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
292 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014

I choose Courtyard for about 75% of my business trips because the rooms are clean, spacious, up-to-date, reasonably priced and the hotels usually have above average amenities including a Starbucks. The Springfield Courtyard appeared to fit the bill but things started going wrong at the check-in. The check-in clerk decided to show someone the exercise room and pool and left the front desk unattended, while 2 other guests and I waited to check-in. I finally went around the counter to the office area and found 2 clerks having a conversation while they did paperwork. After I got to the room the problems continued as there weren't any lights working in the bedroom. An hour later someone came and fixed the lights after I had to make 2 additional calls. The only bright spot was an excellent breakfast the following morning at the Starbucks kiosk. There are plenty of hotels in this area and I won't use this one again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Don M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield_CY_GM, General Manager at Courtyard Springfield, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments about your recent stay with us. I will make sure to share them with our staff members. Your concerns are very valuable to us and we thank you for them.
I thank you again for staying with us and look forward to accommodating your stay in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Springfield hotels
0.3 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Springfield
0.2 mi away
Hilton Springfield
Hilton Springfield
#3 of 12 in Springfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
0.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Springfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Washington DC SW-Springfield
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 12 in Springfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Springfield
BEST WESTERN Springfield
#11 of 12 in Springfield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Springfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Springfield

Property: Courtyard Springfield
Address: 6710 Commerce St, Springfield, VA 22150-1632
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Springfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Springfield 3*
Number of rooms: 191
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Marriott, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Courtyard Springfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Springfield Hotel Springfield
Springfield Courtyard
Springfield Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing