We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Home away from home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Springfield

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Courtyard Springfield
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Springfield
Prince George, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

I have been staying at this property 2 to 3 days a a week for over a year now. I recieve 5 star treatment every time I stay there. The staff is friendly, professional and I consider them to be my 2nd family. The rooms are always clean and fresh. The lounge has great food and very cold beer.
It is conveniently located near the interstate. It has well lit secure parking lot. The manager will make sure your stay is the best possible. You will not be disappointed choosing Courtyard Marrott Springfield, VA.
Terry B.
Prince George VA.

Room Tip: All of them are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield_CY_GM, General Manager at Courtyard Springfield, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for the wonderful comments about our property. I am pleased that we were able to accommodate your needs. I will make sure to share your comments with all of our staff members. We look forward to accommodating your stay in the future.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    75
    43
    24
    11
See reviews for
71
31
20
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

This is a neat and clean hotel that has basic ammenities such as indoor pool and hot tub. Rooms were roomy and bedding was comfortable and a nice flat screen tv and desk round out the room. There are coffee makers in the room however free breakfast does not exist here. There is a Starbucks kiosk in the lobby and they do have a small market with drinks and chipt etc to go. They also have a small bistro dining area for meals at limited hours. This hotel is directly accross the street from the Waterford catering hall where we were attending a wedding. Staff is friendly and polite. Only con noted was very limited pool hours.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield_CY_GM, General Manager at Courtyard Springfield, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying with us during your visit to the Springfield area. I am pleased that our hotel was able to meet your needs. I do want to let you know that we do offer discounted rates with breakfast included. Please check our website for specials. Our pool is opened during specific times due to our county guidelines. We have it opened 5pm-10pm weekdays and 10am-10pm weekends. Holidays we have the pool opened 10am-10pm. Do not hesitate to call us if you have any additional questions.

I thank you again for staying with us and look forward to accommodating your stay in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

I pulled into the Courtyard by Marriot, Springfield, VA, parking lot. I parked my car, and entered the hotel. I walked into the lobby.

The vending machine room and two receptionist desks stood to the left. A coffee and sandwich bar stood to the right of me. The dining room sat adjacent to the coffee and sandwich bar. A breakfast bar, with electric sockets, stood in the back of the dining room.

The entertainment area sat at the far side. This was like an airport style lounge, with a flat screen TV, and electric sockets for laptop and phone extension chords.

I walked to the receptionist, and asked if they had any availability. The receptionist replied that there was, and asked me for what I was looking for. I asked for a non smoking room for one night.

The receptionist told me what I was looking at, price wise, for the night. I asked him if they had a military or government rate. He advised me to go for their special rate, as the business, government and military rate were higher for that day. They had a conference going on. I accepted their special rate.

I handed him my credit card and driver's license. The receptionist signed me in. He asked me if I wanted two queen sized beds, or one king sized bed. I asked for one king sized bed. He asked me which floor I wanted. I asked for the second floor. He completed the transaction, then had me sign a printout. After I signed the printout, he asked me if I wanted one or two key cards. I asked for two key cards.

After scanning them in, and handing them to me, he told me where the stairs and elevator were at. He also told me what the Courtyard by Marriott dining hours were. I took the cards and went up to the room. The room smelt like cigarettes. I came back downstairs and let them know that the room smelt like cigarette smoke.

He apologized, then reassigned me to another room. The original room had a balcony, where smoking was allowed. It appeared that previous guests smoked inside the room in addition to on the balcony.

The receptionist handed me a complimentary bottle of water while I waited for the second room. I had my key cards within a couple of minutes of receiving the bottle of water.

As soon as I got into the second room, I walked to the air conditioner. I turned it on and set it to 69F. I went downstairs, to my car, and grabbed the bags that I was going to need for the night.

I went back upstairs and entered the room.

The switches were within reach by the door. The bathroom was to my immediate right. A dresser with a flat screen TV and a business desk stood by the wall on my left. A bucket with a couple of cups sat on top of the dresser, along with a book containing area information. The coffee station also sat on the table.

The bathroom area had a mini room to itself on my right. Beyond that was the main sleeping area. The bed stood to the right on the other side of the bathroom. A three seat cushion sofa sat in the far right corner, right next to a coffee table.

I looked out the window, and saw my car sitting in the parking lot.

I pulled my laptop out, plugged it in, and set it up. As soon as it was ready, I accessed the wire free internet. I clicked on their network, and surfed the different news sites. Going from one website to another was like being on cable internet. I accessed my emails and got caught up to my correspondence.

After I completed my internet business, I went downstairs to grab something to eat.

I walked up to their kiosk, and read the options on the menu. I selected hamburger with fries. I placed my order with the kiosk operator. After he entered my order, and I made my payment, he handed me a waiting number. It came on a mini stand. He told me to put it on a table of my choice, and the cooks will get it out to me.

I placed it on a table, then walked around the rest of "The Bistro." I walked to the other side to check the lounge out. They had a conference going in one of the ball rooms. I kept an eye on the Bistro area while looking around.

At that point, the staff tested their fire alarm systems. Another hotel patron came up to the kiosk and asked if that was real. The man running the kiosk said, "Yes, everybody must go outside." I walked outside.

I stood by the door. Five minutes later, the man running the kiosk came out and let me know that my food was ready. I entered the building. They were finishing up with the fire drill. I walked to the table and saw an order that was larger than what I imagined. The hamburger was thick, and ¾ of the plate overflowed with golden fries.

I took my time eating, just so that I could enjoy the taste. The man running the kiosk came up to me and asked me if everything was going alright. I said yes. After I ate the meal, I ran the empty plate back to the kitchen. The chef grew a big smile and thanked me.

I went back upstairs for the remainder of the night. It didn't take me long to fall asleep. I got up the next day, and used the bathroom. I easily set the shower up to give me the right pressure and temperature combination. After a good shower, I dried up, got into clean clothing, then went downstairs for breakfast.

The ordering procedure was the same as the previous night, except I selected a breakfast item. After eating breakfast, I went back upstairs and gathered my belongings back into my bags. I took them to the car, then went back upstairs to double check for stray personal items.

I came back downstairs to check out. I handed my room key cards to the Courtyard by Marriott receptionist. After checking my account, she cleared me.

Room Tip: They allow smoking on the balconies, even if the room is smoke free. Ask for a room without a balcon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thebesig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield_CY_GM, General Manager at Courtyard Springfield, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel during your visit to the Springfield VA area. I am glad that we were able to meet your needs. We look forward to accommodating your stay in the future.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

The company I work for has a subsidiary near this Courtyard. When in town we have stayed at this hotel fifteen or more nights per year over twelve years. Since the renovation several years ago, this facility went from mediocre to great for the value.

The rooms are well appointed and always clean. The common areas are well maintained but, due to heavy use, wears fast.

The food service changed with the renovation to a kiosk style food center. While this is not a JW, the food is good, hot, fast and works for the value.

The location is amazing, not for the view, for the access. In and around DC getting to a place by car can be challenging no matter what. In two turns you can get to 95 north or south, 495 and 395. You cannot top this.

The staff, from front desk to housekeeping, are simply great. Friendly and attentive.

Give this place a try.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Ley74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield_CY_GM, General Manager at Courtyard Springfield, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for the wonderful comments. It's our pleasure to have you stay with us. We look forward to continuing accommodating your stay.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annandale, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

While having some construction done on my home, I stayed locally at this Courtyard facility. My primary goal was to stay at an ADA compliant hotel, but I ended up getting resort treatment during my two-night stay. The rooms were posh, well-appointed and clean in addition to being fully accessible. The Bistro menu choices, were good and quickly delivered. The staff was excellent, and made you feel as if you were the most important guest there. Diane at the front desk was the best face of the facility...elegant, professional, and helpful. I cannot say enough good things about this property.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side (away from the highway) are quieter but the insulated drapes went a long way...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield_CY_GM, General Manager at Courtyard Springfield, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying with us. It was a pleasure having you at our property. I am glad our staff was able to accommodate your needs. I will make sure to share your wonderful comments with them. We look forward to accommodating your stay in the future.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
112 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

I stayed here for three nights while visiting family in Alexandria. The hotel is nice enough, with a bar and cafe in the lobby which is open sometimes. The room was quite large and comfortable, with a king sized bed, small couch, coffee table, desk, and TV. I would go so far as to call it almost luxurious. The only thing I didn't like was being on the ground floor and having cars park right outside my window, but the room had a blackout shade which I kept drawn any time I was in there. There was also a gym and a small pool. You could only use the pool if the lifeguard was on duty, but I should mention that the pool and hot tub were both completely ADA compliant; they had some kind of mechanical chairs that would raise and lower a handicapped person into and out of the pool and hot tub, which I thought was really thoughtful. I didn't use any of the amenities, but I did partake of the free coffee, offered all day as far as I could tell, and my room rate also came with a free breakfast for two which was a nice way to start the day. The lobby area was spacious, which gave us a convenient place to meet up with family. At some point during my stay, my mother brought my nieces over to the hotel pool to swim for a bit, which nobody at the hotel complained about. The cleanliness and spaciousness of the room made for a very comfortable stay, and we got it all for a very reasonable rate. Parking was free.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bourgeois_Yuppie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield_CY_GM, General Manager at Courtyard Springfield, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to accommodating your stay next time you are in the Springfield VA area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle
Level Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

Had a pleasant stay July 4th after viewing the fireworks in DC. It was very quiet and clean for the most part and the location was great and it was good bang for the buck on the 4th, no pun intended. The only reasons that I didn't give it 5 stars was it was a very hot holiday and would have liked working ice machine on my floor and/or a frig in the room to keep cold drinks. I would stay again but recommend bringing in your own cooler with ice for convenience if you like a cold water during the night. I wouldn't have liked to run down to the lobby for a drink in the middle of the night.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield_CY_GM, General Manager at Courtyard Springfield, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying with us. I am pleased that your overall stay was great . I would like to also apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay with us with the ice machine. Unfortunately, we did have the ice machine go down that day. Our staff was able to solve the problem and is now working perfectly. In the future, do not hesitate to let us know if we can assist you in bringing up some ice for you. We understand the inconvenience and want to make sure we accommodate as best as possible.

I thank you again for staying with us and look forward to accommodating your stay in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Springfield hotels
0.3 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Springfield
0.2 mi away
Hilton Springfield
Hilton Springfield
#3 of 12 in Springfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
0.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Springfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Washington DC SW-Springfield
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 12 in Springfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Springfield
BEST WESTERN Springfield
#11 of 12 in Springfield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Springfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Springfield

Property: Courtyard Springfield
Address: 6710 Commerce St, Springfield, VA 22150-1632
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Springfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Springfield 3*
Number of rooms: 191
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Courtyard Springfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Springfield Hotel Springfield
Springfield Courtyard
Springfield Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing