We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Homey” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Comfort Inn
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Springfield
Northumberland, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
“Homey”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

My family remarked how 'fresh' it smelled in the corridor to our room. The room was very clean (cleaner than my bedroom at home!) and the bathroom was as well. Not dusty. The details are attended to here. The room is comfortable and feels safe. Breakfast was good - waffles, cereal, oatmeal, juice, bagels, hot eggy things, yogurt, fruit, etc. This was the cheapest place I could find within 20 minutes of DC that met my minimum standards. It's much better than other places I've paid more for! If you are considering an inexpensive, but safe, clean, and comfortable hotel near DC, you've found it.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    94
    36
    21
    10
See reviews for
68
55
16
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Front Royal, Virginia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel while driving a bus to the Northern Virginia area. Even though, the night I was there, the hotel was loaded with bus drivers, with five other buses in the lot, parking was simple using the lot of the building next door. (I stayed there on a weekend though and wonder if this lot would be available on a weekday.) Check-in was slow, with only one person on the desk, but the gentleman who checked me in was very courteous. I was a bit apprehensive about the rooms, considering the low price I paid through Choice Priviliges, but was pleasantly surprised. My room was nicely appointed, clean and the bed was comfortable. Breakfast the following morning was typical for a Comfort Inn, and included the usual pastries, egg omlets (frozen, reheated) and waffles. If you're looking for a luxury hotel, there are plenty in Northern Virginia, but for a Comfort Inn, in this area, the price was downright cheap and the quality of the the room was good. I would definitely book a room here again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Ed R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
148 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

I needed a place to stay for a quick nap, and this place did the job..

It is right off the interstate, and right next to the mall. It has a beautiful lobby, and the front desk staff was great.

The room wasn't anything fancy, but it suited my needs. And I'd love to come back again, if I need to.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BSmith0731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Western, VA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

Comfortable beds with spacious room and automatic temperature control. Free continental breakfast with scrambled eggs and sausage links along with waffles, yogurt and cereal. Free hotel shuttle van to and from the metro station was very convenient and well appreciated. Great customer service as well!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KennyMDavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesboro, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel several times this year and will I like the hotel overall... Its the little things they do or don't do that frustrate you... The front desk is unfriendly or the bathroom door needs painting or you can't get a room upgrade even when you're a Diamond Elite in their rewards program.... Destined to always be a 3 to 4 ranking because management doesn't want the 5 bad enough to fix the little things

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CornbreadtheComic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

The Comfort Inn in Springfield VA is ideally situated for a visit to Washington without the need to pay the confiscatory District of Columbia lodging prices and taxes. It comes down to a combination of the nearby presence of the Metro rail system and a free hotel shuttle van to make the one-mile trip to the train station and back again. When combined with the 7-Day "Short" Trip Metro rail pass at a flat $35 for non-rush hour travel, it's no wonder that the Springfield hotels host a significant number of sightseers who wish to spend up to a week in the nation's capital city. At the Comfort Inn, the daily "all in" price works out to a bit less than a hundred bucks a night with free hot breakfasts if your stay includes a weekend at the lower price point than the
weekday cost.

The facility itself was in good condition with comfortable beds although most of the pillows were too flat. But with four from which to choose per bed, the problem was not insurmountable. The shower had an excellent head with superior water pressure and plenty of hot water. The shower curtain was on a "bow" rail which permitted plenty of room to turn around without the curtain making skin contact and metallic tabs held the lower edges in place. Housekeeping did an outstanding job of replenishing towels on a daily basis and fully stocked the linens for four patrons even when there were only two in the room. Touches included ruffled facial tissues and wash cloths as well as freshly made beds throughout the stay along with fresh soap and shampoo.

The free Comfort Inn hot breakfast menu included a warm egg dish such as omelet or scrambled eggs with sausage or another equivalent side dish as well as yogurt, cereal, toast, raisin bread, pastries, fresh fruit, fruit juices and the ubiquitous coffee containers. I'd rate the spread as average by comparison with other Comfort Inn locations since the prepared eggs showed a bit of their age in the warming bin by 8:30AM. The plates and utensils were of the disposable type and several of the tables required wads of napkins under the feet to keep them from tipping and spilling drinks.

Front desk staff members were very attentive and friendly and clearly took their customer relations responsibilities seriously. On two out of six nights, freshly baked cookies made their appearance around 7PM on the counter. Coffee was always available in the lobby and plates, utensils and napkins were present in the breakfast area during non-serving hours to make it more convenient to consume takeout food in the room. This was further enabled by the
presence of a small refrigerator and microwave in the room.

On the subject of external food, a delicatessen across the street provided reasonably priced fare on a takeout or eat-in basis with very friendly owners. There was a restaurant across the street for more substantial fare. The saving grace was a Target with a full supermarket on the lower level, about the distance of three city blocks away.

Back in the room, the television set was a bit of an anachronism, featuring a vintage Zenith 27-inch cathode ray picture tube in the old 4:3 format but at least it was in color. Obviously, the set did not have an HDMI input for use in connection with a laptop computer to create an instant "big screen" DVD player.

As noted earlier, the key reason for staying in Springfield was due to the presence of the nearby Metro rail station and the available free hotel shuttle service. While three of the shuttle drivers did an excellent job of arriving in timely fashion for pickups at both the hotel and Metro station locations, the fourth driver was "missing in action" on several occasions. This required repeat phone calls to the front desk for service to the point where senior hotel management became involved to eventually resolve the issue.

The other area of concern involved the hotel fire alarm system. On a Saturday night at 11:15PM, a youthful hotel guest reportedly pulled the public alarm lever in the hallway which resulted in 15-minutes of wailing bells and computerized voice announcements to evacuate the hotel. This continued until the fire department truck arrived to turn off the alarm. The very next morning at 6:45AM, the same thing happened again! This time, the front desk said it was the result of excess smoke during the preparation of breakfast. Then, it was announced via flyers that the fire department was going to test the fire alarm klaxons on Tuesday morning, making it the most "alarming" stay we had experienced at any lodging facility. However, the formal test was cancelled.

It should be noted that the fire alarm incident of Saturday evening was not caused by a student on a Washington DC field trip. During our stay, there were numerous student groups staying at this Comfort Inn and they were well behaved. However, the place was not as quiet as a church, and the judicious use of foam earplugs was necessary to make hallways noise vanish. The earplugs also came in very handy on the Metro rail system, which had its shares of high-pitched whining sounds along the route, most notably in the subway sections.

Finally, Internet connectivity at the Comfort Inn was reasonably speedy although the login procedure was a bit laborious but not unreasonable. The public area in the lobby had two computers with a shared printer for airline boarding pass printing. One of the desktops worked. The other one was inoperable but the evening maintenance person was on the scene within minutes to work on getting it back into operation again.

Conclusion? This was a decent Comfort Inn and on the basis of location alone presented a satisfactory solution for a Washington DC stay for the purpose of sightseeing. In addition, the 12 Noon checkout time made it convenient for an afternoon departure from Washington National Airport, only a half-hour ride up the Metro Rail "Blue Line" from the Springfield VA terminus.

Room Tip: Beds in the "Doubles" rooms may actually be Double Beds rather than Queen-sized beds. Cal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David200111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Windsor, NJ
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

Needed a room to break up a very long drive north. The room was clean, very functional with a good work station, club chair, and quick wireless internet (free). Included was a microwave and refrigerator. Cookies and coffee in the lobby in the evening, and a good breakfast (included). The staff was pleasant and helpful.

The only con was the school load of kids staying on my floor, having a party in the lobby. When it did not quiet down after an hour (kids will be kids), I called front desk, and it was remedied in minutes.

I would stay here again to break up a long drive.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jlbigguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Springfield hotels
0.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Springfield
0.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Springfield
0.1 mi away
Hilton Springfield
Hilton Springfield
#3 of 12 in Springfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Springfield
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Springfield
BEST WESTERN Springfield
#11 of 12 in Springfield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Washington DC SW-Springfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Property: Comfort Inn
Address: 6560 Loisdale Ct, Springfield, VA 22150-1841
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Springfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Springfield
Comfort Inn Springfield
Springfield Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing