We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay stay for a Average Hampton Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wingate by Wyndham Springfield
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Springfield
Certificate of Excellence
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
263 reviews
204 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“Okay stay for a Average Hampton Inn”
Reviewed March 19, 2009

Being a Diamond Member with Hilton I usually recieve a welcome or amenity when i come to the hotel.

Arriving at the front desk, i wasn't welcomed as a member, just what credit card do you want to use and that was it.

I ask for a High Floor (The Hotel has 7 floors) and i was put on the 2nd floor.

The breakfast in the morning is real average and not that big of an area.

They do have a shuttle with the Comfort Inn (next door) to get to the Metro Station, but be sure to call in advance. (We called in advance and still weren't able to get the shuttle, which left without us)

Anyhow, the hotel is in a good location next to a soon to be renovated Springfield Mall (the mall is in dire straits right now, lots of stores have left and half the food court stores have left in antipication of a renovation etc.

Easiest way to DC is to take the Metro rather than drive downtown in traffic.

Takes about 25-30 mins to get downtown on a normal day, longer during rush hour.

Get a day pass with unlimited use for $7.80 a day.

Don't know If I'd stay again, next door is a bigger Hilton Hotel.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caneshockey31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

889 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    321
    161
    63
    29
See reviews for
344
190
65
196
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2009

This Hampton Inn is the worst I have seen for overall appearance.I was very shocked with this hotel as I always trust Hampton and our company has a national account with Hamptons.I had to have my room recleaned and sheets changed I found hair all over my bedding and sheets.The front desk staff has been very rude for the entire 2 weeks I have been here.The carpet has dirty stains and white stains all over it.The bathrom is very bad.The toilet seat is broke.I have a smoking room but every time they clean my room they take the ashtrays so I am left without an ashtray in my smoking room.We had another worker join us and they did not want to give him a room.Remember our co has a huge nationwide account with Hamptons.Needless to say top management has vowed never to use this Hampton again and we will ALL be checking out to find other rooms elsewhere.I have never seen such a dirty hotel.Who ever is over this Hampton needs to visit as a guest and see exactly what their staff is doing and how they are treating their guest.Do not waste your money trusting the name of this hotel!!!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mypottery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2008

The reason I love Hampton Inn hotels... because you always know what you are going to get. This one is no exception.

Nice location, great price (at least the nights I stayed). Television is cruddy, but they have a ton of channels.

Internet connection is a reasonable speed, and free, like all Hampton Inns.

I would recommend staying here any time.

Stayed November 2008
Helpful?
Thank thaJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern England
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2008

Only the second Hampton Inn I've stayed in. Spent four nights here. Very clean, very pleasant staff, and free shuttle (plus tip) to the Metro station, made getting into Washington, a breeze. As a total stranger to the area, the Metro was a lovely way to enter the city each day.

Nice big retail park within walking distance. Although you do have to cross a very busy road (with pedestrian crossing lights).

Previous posts seem to have covered all the points and I totally agree. An excellent stay.

  • Liked — Space and cleanliness
  • Disliked — Not much
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Jayare14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2008

The wife and I are fans of Hampton Inns and decided to stay here for 4 nights while visiting DC. We chose to stay here for several reasons. As many of you know, hotels in DC can be very pricey. We spent an average of $100 a night including all the taxes. It was close to a metro stop, Springfield-Franconia on the Blue Line. The shuttle to the metro was quick, except one night it took almost 30 minutes to pick us up. The room was clean and had all the things we needed.

The hotel was under going some updating, ie; new carpet was being installed and some painting. The pool was closed as the tarp was already in place for the winter months. It was very hot and humid while in DC and a swim would have been nice. The food was typical for Hampton Inn. A variety of hot and cold items which met our needs for a day of sightseeing.

This Hampton Inn must had been another hotel in a previous life as the appearance and layout where different from previous visits to other Hamptons.

Overall, this was a good experience. Hamptons are known for good, clean rooms in safe locations and reasonable prices. If you want to sightsee in DC and like riding the metro, which I reccommend, and need a good place to stay without draining your wallet, this is the place.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jandj808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claymont, Delaware
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2008

I enjoy staying at Hampton Inns. On the whole, they are predictable, stable and comfortable. This one fit the bill. My room was large, a king with a couch, small fridge, microwave. I found the bathroom to be just fine. And very clean. The bed was extrememly comfortable, and the pillows plentiful and comfy. Breakfast was fine..lots of different things from which to choose, as usual at Hamptons.

The lobby area suffered from being rather worn looking and uninviting. Especially around the elevators. Maybe some renovation was about to occur? But I am being pretty picky here. And one elevator was out almost the whole time I was there which made for rather long waits.

My biggest complaint, which might even cause me to not stay there again was the NOISY air conditioner. I had a room on the highway side of the building and was assured I would not hear the highway. Righto!! Because the AC was SO loud I could hardly hear myself think!! The second night I suffered through a warmer room, but had it turned off.

I would think hotels would want to provide about 2 basic things. A comfortable bed in a quiet room. This hotel did the job 50%.

  • Liked — Location, large room.
  • Disliked — The very very noisy air conditioner!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Splanky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2008

I have stayed several times at this Hampton Inn and would mostly agree with the reviews. Let me list some of the Pros and Cons

Pros:

Cable TV
Free Highspeed Internet - both wireless and hardwired Ethernet -your choice
Contrary to June 12 review - it does have a swimming pool. (Granted, about three good breaststokes will take you the length of the pool, but it does have oe Memorial Day thru Labor Day)
Good Breakfast included with both cold and hot entrees
Free Shuttle to Metro (but more or less mandatory $1 -2 tip is more expensive than the local Fairfax connector stop across the street)
Walking distance from several restaurants
Walking distance from Springfield Mall
Walking distance of metro bus stop
In room minifridge
Evening cookies at reception
24 hour business center with Internet terminals and printer (when it works)
USA Today newspaper included
Various discount rates available (military, AARP, etc)
24 hour reception

Cons:

No in-hotel laundry. Coin laundry available at sister hotel Comfort Inn a couple of hundred feet away
No Gym.
No in-hotel restaurant

  • Liked — value for money
  • Disliked — no standout in any category
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cookie2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Springfield hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Springfield
Hilton Springfield
#3 of 12 in Springfield
807 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 12 in Springfield
244 reviews
0.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Springfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Springfield
Best Western Springfield
#10 of 12 in Springfield
456 reviews
0.5 mi away
Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Springfield
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Washington DC SW-Springfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Springfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Springfield

Property: Wingate by Wyndham Springfield
Address: 6550 Loisdale Court, Springfield, VA 22150-1806 (Formerly Hampton Inn Springfield)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Springfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Springfield
#5 Business Hotel in Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate by Wyndham Springfield 2.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our Wingate by Wyndham Springfield hotel near Washington, D.C., with access to all nearby airports, including Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport (DCA) just 10 miles away, Washington Dulles International Airport (IAD), 30 miles away, and Baltimore Washington International Thurgood Marshall Airport (BWI), 50 miles away. Find a free breakfast, 24-hour onsite business and fitness centers, a free happy hour Monday through Thursday, free parking, a seasonal outdoor pool, and free metro shuttle service. Our rooms feature free WiFi, flat-screen HDTV, microwave, mini-refrigerator, ergonomic work space, ironing facilities, and coffee and tea maker. Area shuttle service is available for free. George Mason University, Georgetown University, and Catholic University of America all are nearby. Admire the architecture of the Washington National Cathedral. The Kennedy Center offers fantastic entertainment. Catch a game at FedExField or Verizon Center, where the Washington Mystics, Washington Capitals, and Georgetown Hoyas play. Other attractions include the National Zoo, Pentagon City Mall, and Walter E Washington Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Springfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Springfield Hotel Springfield
Springfield Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing