We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average at best!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wingate by Wyndham Springfield
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Springfield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Hampton Inn in Springfield is older and showing its age. Room was cleaned but not the room for which the reservation was made. With two exceptions responses from front desk personnel were almost indifferent. Pool area was difficult to access because of all the trash stacked in that area.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Jerry Don B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (952)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

699 - 705 of 952 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2014

Free shuttle from Metro to hotel, stops at 10 p.m. though which can cause problems if you go into town late. There is a half-way decent American-style, hotel breakfast, nice people at the front desk. The shuttle will also drop you of at other spots near the hotel, like the Starbucks or Barnes and Nobles. The shuttle driver doesn't get snotty if you don't tip like other cities I've been in, like NYC. There is a mall across the street, but it's under renovation, the Target is open. One bad thing is the air conditioning system which can be noisy when it kicks off, motor probably needs oiling or replacing. Eventually you get used to it. I stayed here about 15 years ago and I must admit the service has improved considerably. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: As in most hotels, ask to be far from the elevators and the laundry/ice machine. There really is no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mapple52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

The hotel interior was nice and it had a HUGE flat screen TV, and it was fairly close to D.C., which is why we were staying there, but the bed springs were SUPER loud and it made sleeping uncomfortable. The sheets felt sticky too. But overall we had a nice stay!

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
Thank teenagedhotelcritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

I chose this hotel because it is one of very few that allow smoking in the DC area, and they had a shuttle to the Metro. The 'hot breakfast' is oatmeal, 'eggs', and what appeared to be microwaved sausage. I wound up getting sick. Overall, the room was very clean and the bed was comfortable. If I had to be in that area again, I'd probably choose it again. I95 was a MESS while we were there, but that wasn't the hotel's fault for sure.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_ManagerWASSP, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Springfield, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

First I would like to thank you for choosing our Hotel for your destination in our area, and do want to apologize that you go sick during your travel. Our Breakfast is free and we have extensive selections to choose from. We don't have microwave in our kitchen, Sausages were made in oven and we have not had any complaints in past. But, will keep our eye on it so, we provide and improve on our guest experience and quality of food.

We will appreciate if you are in our area again that you will choose our location and we will be able to improve on our experience we provide.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Staying at the Hampton Inn in Springfield was a special treat after traveling for 8 hours. Upon arrival there was a Managers Reception and we were greeted with chicken wings and vegetables and other refreshments. It was a welcome buffet and made our travel so much easier. Thanks Hampton.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

I was moved to this hotel after booking on Hotels.com at the adjacent Comfort Inn, and having the Comfort Inn be overbooked. The Hampton was nice -- the complimentary breakfast and Manager's reception each day were much better food than I had expected. However, my room was a previous smoking one, and the smoke smell pervaded everything. The Manager was unable to move me to another room due to everything in town being overbooked, and I got up several times during the night coughing. If you book, and you're smoke sensitive, be sure to ensure you're getting a smoke-free room. The Manager noted they're in the process of renovating and converting everything to smoke-free, but until that happens, I can't give this hotel an Excellent rating.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank JSanders4243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

My husband and I had a great stay and experience at the Hampton Inn in Springfield, VA. The room was clean upon arrival. We had excellent service each day with the front desk customer service personnel and management was outstanding. Our rooms were cleaned on a daily basis without us having to ask for additional amenities or services. We will stay at another Hampton Inn if opportunity presents itself.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Gianna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Springfield hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 12 in Springfield
253 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hilton Springfield
Hilton Springfield
#3 of 12 in Springfield
857 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Washington DC SW-Springfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Springfield
Best Western Springfield
#9 of 12 in Springfield
491 reviews
0.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Springfield
2.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Springfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Springfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Springfield

Address: 6550 Loisdale Court, Springfield, VA 22150-1806 (Formerly Hampton Inn Springfield)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Springfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Springfield
#5 Business Hotel in Springfield
Price Range: $78 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate by Wyndham Springfield 2.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our Wingate by Wyndham Springfield hotel near Washington, D.C., with access to all nearby airports, including Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport (DCA) just 10 miles away, Washington Dulles International Airport (IAD), 30 miles away, and Baltimore Washington International Thurgood Marshall Airport (BWI), 50 miles away. Find a free breakfast, 24-hour onsite business and fitness centers, a free happy hour Monday through Thursday, free parking, a seasonal outdoor pool, and free metro shuttle service. Our rooms feature free WiFi, flat-screen HDTV, microwave, mini-refrigerator, ergonomic work space, ironing facilities, and coffee and tea maker. Area shuttle service is available for free. George Mason University, Georgetown University, and Catholic University of America all are nearby. Admire the architecture of the Washington National Cathedral. The Kennedy Center offers fantastic entertainment. Catch a game at FedExField or Verizon Center, where the Washington Mystics, Washington Capitals, and Georgetown Hoyas play. Other attractions include the National Zoo, Pentagon City Mall, and Walter E Washington Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Springfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Springfield Hotel Springfield
Springfield Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing