We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad nor great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wingate by Wyndham Springfield
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Springfield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 5, 2013

This is an older Hampton Inn property that is under renovation. I got one of the newly renovated rooms and was pleased enough to say I would consider staying again if the rate was good. Another member of our party got a room that smelled like "sewage," according to him. So, you take your chances I guess. The staff was helpful and the shuttle to the Metro made life a lot easier. It only took about 15 minutes to get from the Springfield-Franconia stop to Reagan National Airport on the Blue Line. The Blue Line goes to many other popular Washington D.C. sites as well. They do a happy hour in the lobby but I wished they'd extend it to maybe 7 or 7:30 instead of 6:30. There's a bar and restaurant across the parking lot at the Hilton, so not having those services wasn't much of a hardship. There are a lot of good ethnic food choices in the neighborhood for the more adventurous. The Fitness Center was typical -- a bike, a couple of treadmills, a weight machine. Overall, I had an enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Room 710 is newly renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Knoxgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (980)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

795 - 801 of 980 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2013

Normally my stays at Hamptons are very good but thrree minor problems left me disappointed with my during my stay. The hot water for my morning shower was very poor. It was only warm enough so that the shower spray was not ice cold. The fridge in my room did not turn on and I could not keep some beverages chilled. Normally the Hampton breakfast offerings include sausage, but they did not offer any during my stay

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Jerome M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We wanted to get past the Washington, DC traffic before taking the car train to Florida the next day, and found this comfortable Hampton Inn conveniently located near shopping malls and only two exits from the Lorton, VA car train exit off I-95. The price was substantially lower than in nearby Alexandria, so it could also serve most visitors to the DC area who don't want to pay the usual DC prices. It is a typical Hampton Inn, clean and comfortable with a full complimentary breakfast, but without complete hotel amenities such as a restaurant or bar. Those are nearby, however, so no loss.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank S6usanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

For a Hampton Inn, it was definitely below average, so it was an average hotel room. The one notable thing about it, though, were a vast array of outlets. I've never seen so many free outlets in a hotel room ever. That was a good thing because hotels can sometimes be real selfish with their electricity. The room was a little musty/humid possibly because it was summer but it's a Hampton Inn. I was a little surprised. It looked like an older property so maybe it'll be updated in a couple of years. There was a mall down the street with one of the most interesting diners I've ever come across. I may get a room in the area again just to go back to the diner.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ominnicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Comfy, hidden from the noise of Springfield, yet right in the heart of it. Good hotel to stay. Pool was closed the weekend I was at but the weather was still pool like weather. They should open the pool based on the weather. Everything else, good stay

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank exmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

fantastic stay as always,The Hampton Inns that I have visited in the Delaware, Maryland and Virginia area are alway clean, staff is very polite, and needs are always met .Hampton Inn is always my first choice. Thank You.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Connie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Not the first Hampton we stayed at, and this one is a very big dissappointment! Pool closed. A lot of noise from construction. Managers hour, just some heated lasagna! Shuttle available but when you don't have a cellphone on hand, it's hard to call the hotel to pick you up in the evening. BTW, the mall, a big plus in that neigborhood, was completely torn down. Not much else to do in the region.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Conny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Springfield hotels
0 mi away
Hilton Springfield
Hilton Springfield
#3 of 12 in Springfield
872 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 12 in Springfield
257 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Springfield
Best Western Springfield
#9 of 12 in Springfield
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Springfield
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Washington DC SW-Springfield
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Springfield Old Keene Mill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Springfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Springfield

Address: 6550 Loisdale Ct, Springfield, VA 22150-1806 (Formerly Hampton Inn Springfield)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Springfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Springfield
#5 Business Hotel in Springfield
Price Range: $75 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate by Wyndham Springfield 2.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our Wingate by Wyndham Springfield hotel near Washington, D.C., with access to all nearby airports, including Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport (DCA) just 10 miles away, Washington Dulles International Airport (IAD), 30 miles away, and Baltimore Washington International Thurgood Marshall Airport (BWI), 50 miles away. Find a free breakfast, 24-hour onsite business and fitness centers, a free happy hour Monday through Thursday, free parking, a seasonal outdoor pool, and free metro shuttle service. Our rooms feature free WiFi, flat-screen HDTV, microwave, mini-refrigerator, ergonomic work space, ironing facilities, and coffee and tea maker. Area shuttle service is available for free. George Mason University, Georgetown University, and Catholic University of America all are nearby. Admire the architecture of the Washington National Cathedral. The Kennedy Center offers fantastic entertainment. Catch a game at FedExField or Verizon Center, where the Washington Mystics, Washington Capitals, and Georgetown Hoyas play. Other attractions include the National Zoo, Pentagon City Mall, and Walter E Washington Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone and TripOnline SA so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Springfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Springfield Hotel Springfield
Springfield Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing