We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed with this Hampton Inn.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wingate by Wyndham Springfield
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Springfield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

I have never had such a poor experience with a Hampton Inn as I have this one. I stayed here with a group of high school seniors and they were treated as though they were elementary students. They consistently have a difficult time getting our reservations correct even though we make them 6 months in advance (overbooking is an issue).
Bathrooms are small, headboard shakes when there is movement in the next room.
It is convenient to the interstate and DC but not much in the way of eating establishments nearby. The mall across the street has been gutted so not much there.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coach_Que
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin A, Front Office Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Springfield, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2013

We are sorry we were not able to provide you with a better quality of service. This is not typical of our usual Hamptonality and welcoming staff, and we are always looking for ways to improve our customer experience. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we are all about Satisfaction Guaranteed and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a great stay. Again, we apologize for all of the inconveniences you and your group encountered and we hope you will come back and stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (936)
There are newer reviews for Wingate by Wyndham Springfield
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

813 - 819 of 936 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2013

You can't beat the value this hotel offers. Friendly staff, great location and very affordable. Lots of great restaurants within a half mile if you want to venture out. If seeing Washington or simply a stop over, this Hampton Inn is a great find for the discriminating traveler on a budget.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mktguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

We always stay here on our way to and from Florida. The hotel is convenient off I 95 and our pets are always welcomed. Rooms are clean, well equipped, and breakfast is included. Highly reconmend as a pet friendly hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KathleenDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Front desk is very knowledgeable. Very Clean room!

Breakfast area needs to be larger, it was almost impossible to get anything with the lack of space and abundance of people trying to get there "free food"

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jabulburns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

perfect hotel for travel to Washington ,without the high price. Free shuttle from hotel to the metro station available from 7am -10pm. great breakfast every morning. several places to eat near buy. Rooms are very, very clean. the hotel staff were great, they go above and beyond.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kristymw91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed 4 nights. Rooms are well furnished and clean. small bathrooms but not unusably so. Good free breakfasts including fresh fruits and a variety of hot items. They supply a free shuttle to the train station making it a very convenient location for visiting DC and much cheaper than downtown hotels. There is also a happy hour reception on some days which unfortunately we didn't have time to attend .The only negative was the very loud fan on the airconditioning .

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lauren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

I had sticker shock not being in the DC mindset when I started. I did not know that I was making a purchase when I let my daughter enter the internet-access credentials. I guess that is my fault. Maybe I expect free wifi with a room of that price. Ceiling needed to be attended to due to popcorn ceiling failing due to age. Good location to get to Arlington National Cemetery for funeral.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Springfield hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#7 of 12 in Springfield
249 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hilton Springfield
Hilton Springfield
#3 of 12 in Springfield
843 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Springfield
Best Western Springfield
#10 of 12 in Springfield
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Springfield
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Washington DC SW-Springfield
2.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Springfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Springfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Springfield

Address: 6550 Loisdale Court, Springfield, VA 22150-1806 (Formerly Hampton Inn Springfield)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Springfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Springfield
#5 Business Hotel in Springfield
Price Range: $81 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate by Wyndham Springfield 2.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our Wingate by Wyndham Springfield hotel near Washington, D.C., with access to all nearby airports, including Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport (DCA) just 10 miles away, Washington Dulles International Airport (IAD), 30 miles away, and Baltimore Washington International Thurgood Marshall Airport (BWI), 50 miles away. Find a free breakfast, 24-hour onsite business and fitness centers, a free happy hour Monday through Thursday, free parking, a seasonal outdoor pool, and free metro shuttle service. Our rooms feature free WiFi, flat-screen HDTV, microwave, mini-refrigerator, ergonomic work space, ironing facilities, and coffee and tea maker. Area shuttle service is available for free. George Mason University, Georgetown University, and Catholic University of America all are nearby. Admire the architecture of the Washington National Cathedral. The Kennedy Center offers fantastic entertainment. Catch a game at FedExField or Verizon Center, where the Washington Mystics, Washington Capitals, and Georgetown Hoyas play. Other attractions include the National Zoo, Pentagon City Mall, and Walter E Washington Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Springfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Springfield Hotel Springfield
Springfield Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing