We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Swamped by inauguration crowd.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Springfield

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Wingate by Wyndham Springfield
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Springfield
Provo, UT
2 reviews
“Swamped by inauguration crowd.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

Hotel management did not adjust service staff to serve full hotel for 2013 Inauguration. Only one person, for example, was working the breakfast room. It was not clear from the review that the exercise room required one to leave the hotel to go to a room in the back of the hotel approximately 20 yards away. The front desk staff did not have consistent information on how the many guests in the hotel could access METRO on the morning of Inauguration, when the shuttle would run, etc. This despite the fact that the hotel was charging a premium rate for rooms for this reason during this period.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dbm3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin A, Front Office Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Springfield, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
We are sorry we were not able to provide you with a better quality of service during this high traffic period. This is not typical of our usual Hamptonality and welcoming staff, and we are always looking for ways to improve our customer experience. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we are all about Satisfaction Guaranteed and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a great stay. I again, apologize for the poor level of service and we hope to have another chance to provide a great stay for you in the future.

Kevin Alfaro
Hampton Inn Springfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    240
    127
    49
    20
See reviews for
244
148
49
156
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Very pleased with excellent customer service. The hotel is convenient to National Airport, Metro rail and Washington, D.C. but the "Mixing Bowl" intersection of highway interchanges makes it a little tricky to find if you're driving. It's nothing special but a bargain rate relative to other hotels in close proximity to DC. As another reviewer mentioned, there isn't much of a barrier between rooms. I was kept up until well past midnight due to conversation in an adjoining room. Fan in the room is loud even on low.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ExploreTheBigIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San jose Ca
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

I stayed at this hotel during Inauguration week. My check in was very easy. My room was ready when I arrived. The hotel shuttle takes you to the Metro and local restaurants on demand. In fact for the inauguration, the started the shuttle at 4:15 am, with a breakfast that began at 4:00 am. Breakfast was wonderful. I especially enjoyed making fresh waffles. There was a variety of food choices. The bed was comfortable.
Con-the room was not vacuumed daily. Housekeeping sprayed freshener to make it appear room was thoroughly cleaned. I think the heating/air needs to be checked and calibrated. It got very hot in the mid-high 60's. I had to turn on cooling to sleep comfortably in the low 60's.

Room Tip: Be specific. If you need a soft mattress or accessibility access ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Harambee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed here forfor inauguration weekend. From the 1st day to the 4th day we we're treated with 1st class service, hats off to the management team. I give customer service, house keeping & the shuttle service a 10, and definitely the breakfast a 10. Even though the hotel was booked full, the hostess keep the breakfast fully stocked. When we go back to DC we will book this hotel again. Easy access to and from Reagan Airport on the Metro train.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

Pros: the room was spacious, clean and well furnished; bedding was good; check-in and check-out procedure was quick and friendly. Price was also atrractive.

Cons: the air conditioning / heating unit in the room was very noisy, gave us the impression of being in an airliner. The quality of breakfast food was barely sufficient (although it must be said that we have an Italian taste...)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin A, Front Office Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Springfield, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
I sincerely apologize for the noise issue encountered during your stay. Our guests’ comfort and safety is my number one concern. Your review will assist in correcting issues in the future. I do hope that the next time you are in the area you will consider staying at our property again. Thank you.

Kevin Alfaro
Hampton Inn Springfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Orange, Florida
Level Contributor
177 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

My wife and two children stayed here last weekend on december 16th,2012. We arrived around 1415 in the afetrnoo, we were greeted warmly and checked in right away, We went up to the room to see an inviting, clean, and confortable room waiting for us. We dropped our bags and went out to supper. Later I took and dropped my kids and wife off at a screamo concert in Springfield..not my cup of tea..Later returned to the hotel, the beds were confortable and the pillows heavenly. We awoke the next morning to get the free breakfast which was very substantial, all in all It was another wonderful stay at the Hampton Inn, Which is why it is my wife's favorite hotel chain in the U.S........HAPPY TRAVELS!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank john w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

Was there in a business trip and they make me feel at home. Service and atentions from the staff was the best. Clean, good food, happy hour and fresh bake chocolate chip cookies avery day at 6:30 pm. Good location and plenty near connection to mayor transportation facilities.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Myra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Springfield hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 12 in Springfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Springfield
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Springfield
BEST WESTERN Springfield
#11 of 12 in Springfield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hilton Springfield
Hilton Springfield
#3 of 12 in Springfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
2.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Springfield
0.5 mi away
Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Springfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Springfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Springfield

Property: Wingate by Wyndham Springfield
Address: 6550 Loisdale Ct, Springfield, VA 22150-1806 (Formerly Hampton Inn Springfield)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Springfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Springfield
#5 Business Hotel in Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate by Wyndham Springfield 2.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable Hotel located just minutes from the metro station and Springfield Town Center where there are excellent restaurants and shopping oppurtunities. Complimentary Breakfast and Shuttle Service. Fantastic for visiting Washington D.C. or Sports venues as Fedex Field and Nationals Stadium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Springfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Springfield Hotel Springfield
Springfield Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing