We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unique Country Setting Close to Fredericksburg”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Stevenson Ridge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Stevenson Ridge
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Unique Country Setting Close to Fredericksburg”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed in the Log Cabin for a weekend getaway and had a lovely time. This large property is amazing with several unique places to stay, with totaly privacy. The Log Cabin was very large for just the two of us, with all the amenities of a kitchette and luxury accomodatations, (except a bathtub!). We also enjoyed short drives to the heart of Old Town Fredericksburg and the Lake Anna Winery. If you are a history buff, you could travel around from this central location and soak it all in! We hope to come again and try another cottage!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlearn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
30
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

Words can not describe how beautiful it is. The experience is unforgetable. The cabins are maintained to the highest level. The atmosphere is quiet, comfortable, and just so peaceful. We can't thank Debbie & Dan and the entire staff enough for sharing a beautiful piece of history.

Room Tip: You will be pleasantly surprised with any accomadation you choose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ninjabob525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Far Hills, NJ
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

Stayed two nights in the log home. Visited mid week so the entire property was very quiet. We were able to check out almost all the other buildings. Each one so different from the next. All beautiful. Historic type buildings but so fresh and perfect. Very well maintained. Beautifully decorated interiors. Bathrooms where spotless. Great water pressure. Cold AC. Dealt with Libby on the phone. Elizabeth told us all about the wedding facilities. Ran into the owners one morning at a local cafe. Everyone was so pleasant and helpful. A few dollars more than the big name hotels in the area but so much more worth it. Very peaceful and just very different than a hotel. TV in the log home. Plenty of great DVD's on the property as well as books. Not sure if there is WiFi but didn't miss it. No breakfast but they recommeded the cafe and it was great. Nice restaurants in area. They had drinking water in a carafe in the fridge as well as coffee and a few snacks such as popcorn and crackers. Towels and sheets were soft and super white. Shampoo etc. in the bathrooms. Even though it's a country setting, all the bugs stayed outdoors. Screen doors and windows that work are a blessing. Only sound at night were the crickets and cicadas. Nice porch to enjoy coffee on in the morning. Fireplaces for the winter! Got a quick run down on wedding packages and they seem very affordable. Spend a few extra bucks on lodging if visiting the area. You will be happy.

Room Tip: Check out their website and chose any of the buildings. You can't go wrong. Log home was great a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prskra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

We had the pleasure of meeting Debbie and Dan and it is obvious how much of a labor of love this property is. They strive for authenticity, but still offer many of the most modern conveniences. You couldn't meet two nicer people, and their staff is knowledgeable and helpful. If you want a simple retreat from the world . . . this is it.

Room Tip: Not your typical B&B, all rooms (cabins, actually) are completely unique. There is a history be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VASunGoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012 via mobile

We recently stayed at this inn. For a trip to the Civil War Battlefields. I am mobility impaired, so we chose the Corn Cob cabin. It was perfect for me. No steps, bars in bathroom, a walk in shower and a chair doe the shower if you need it. this cabin was well thought out, bright and comfortable. It has a mini kitchen with sink, full refrigerator and microwave. this is a beautiful property, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mellonball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

I was very pleased with the cabin that was the servants quarters. It was nice to be able to sit out on the porch in a couple of Adirondack chairs or go sit on the pier in the pond for a relaxing read. We did not avail of the outdoor shower -- but maybe next time.

We had the twin beds pushed together to make a king bed upstairs. I thought it was cozy and romantic.

NB:
1) Walking around upstairs requires care so one does not hit his/her head getting into and out of bed
2) to maximize space in the cozy cabin, the toilet offers little privacy, so just be aware of this
3) the lighting inside the cabin made night time reading difficult, consider bringing a book light

The location was great for us. Between Fredericksburg and Lake Anna. FYI - we never got food delivered, but at least one local Chinese restaurant does deliver.

Very friendly staff too!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sinequinnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, South Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Stevenson Ridge on our way back to SC from a stay in PA. The holidays were so busy, we just wanted a day to relax. We drove past the entrance of Stevenson Ridge the first time, but as we were driving past the view absolutely took my breath away. The SR is set on a beautiful piece of land. There is a pond in the middle of the property surrounded by a few of the houses you can stay in. My husband and I stayed in the Log House. It WAS GORGEOUS! We pulled up and on the porch was a lit Christmas tree amongst the rockers. Immediately when we walked in we felt at home. The place is so cozy and there is a fireplace in every room. Not only was the cabin spotless in terms of cleanliness, but it had every amenity that you could possible think of. There was even a DVD player with at least 12 diffferent DVDs of all genres to choose from.
Even though there are four fire places, there is also heat as well that was easy to use. If you are into playing chess, there is a beautiful chess board. The Log House is stocked with coffee and tea, water. There are wine and champagne glasses for use as well as a full set of plates and silverware. Upstiars are two bedrooms. The master bedroom is beautiful with a king size bed and fireplace. The shower is HUGE. I found that it didn't get piping hot, but that really wasn't an issue.
At night the other houses reflect off the pond and it is absolutely breathtaking.
Jennifer was extremely kind and helpful and delivered our breakfast basket in the morning right on time. The details on the property are just stunning. We will definitely be back!
The only one minor complaint is that our door to the cabin didn't lock properly when we went out to dinner in the town of Fredricksburg.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spotsylvania
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fredericksburg South
6.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Thornburg Inn & Suites
4.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Fredericksburg
Candlewood Suites Fredericksburg
#26 of 42 in Fredericksburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Residence Inn Fredericksburg
Residence Inn Fredericksburg
#6 of 42 in Fredericksburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
8.6 mi away
Courtyard Fredericksburg Historic District
Courtyard Fredericksburg Histori...
#10 of 42 in Fredericksburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
8.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Fredericksburg at Mary Washington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stevenson Ridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stevenson Ridge

Property: Stevenson Ridge
Address: 6901 Meeting St, Spotsylvania, VA 22553-1972
Location: United States > Virginia > Spotsylvania
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Spotsylvania
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Stevenson Ridge 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Stevenson Ridge consists of six historical homes dating back to the 18th and 19th centuries. Each home is rented out to one family/group at a time. Pricing is based on whether 1 or 2 bedrooms are to be included in the rental. All houses are equipped with a refrigerator, coffee maker and microwave/toaster. Some of the homes are outfitted with a complete kitchen, making it a wonderful option for extended vacation. Breakfast is NOT included in the price of lodging. However, a continental-style Breakfast Basket of fresh foods and beverages is available at an additional charge and will be delivered to your door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stevenson Ridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing