We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome and impressive!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Quijote! - CLOSED

El Quijote!
Price range: $10 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: El Quijote features traditional Spanish cuisine, tapas, paella, delicious homemade sangria and desserts. The restaurant ambiance is warm, colorful and very inviting. It is a great place to socialize with family and friends. The owner is a seasoned restaurateur with a well-deserved reputation for excellence. Besides growing up in the kitchen of his family's restaurant in Spain, he holds a Culinary Arts Diploma from the New York Institute of Culinary Education. His previous restaurant in Miami won "Best Spanish Restaurant" in the New Miami Times in 2013.
Luray, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome and impressive!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

We were taken to this place by friends...we had no clue it was even there. What a surprise! It was fantastic, the food, the drink and the atmosphere. We recently went back again alone and plan to keep coming back to try everything on the menu!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    15
    8
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A great new restaurant in Rappahannock County”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

I have eaten two dinners at El Quijote since its recent opening and have been very impressed with the quality of the kitchen on both occasions. The food is authentic Spanish and the tapas are not to be missed - fresh ingredients, delicious taste combinations, and a variety that suits every taste. We loved the seafood-based tapas, but the beef carpaccio on a slice of toast (a "montadito") was equally good. The vegetable-themed dishes were also excellent and the desserts reminded us of what we had been eating in Spain the previous week. El Quijote is a very welcome addition to the restaurant offerings in Rappahannock County and deserves the support of local residents as well as the admiration of urban visitors.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Dianna711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Make the Drive to Sperryville Just for This! Stay for a bunch of other stuff.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

Unbelievable that the owner and chef of an award winning tapas restaurant in Miami started their next venture in Sperryville, VA - speaks volumes about the rising charm of this town. We stopped in for an early Sunday evening dinner and immediately loved the atmosphere of the place nestled among the artists studios of the River District Arts building. It has a casual feel, but the food is top notch. We sampled a few of the tapas and can't wait to dig deeper into the menu of innovative Spanish dishes. Check out some of the other reviews that went deeper into the cuisine - that sea bass filet sounds awesome! This place adds to my growing list of reasons Sperryville is my #1 weekend getaway for DC/Balt. area. Here is my basic itinerary:
1) Friday & Sat Night stay at the Inn at Mt Vernon Farm
2) Fri Night Reservation at El Quijote
3) Sat - breakfast at the Inn featuring farm fresh eggs, sausage, buttermilk pancakes, and Vivian's hash. Walk across the creek to Copper Fox antiques and purchase an antique farm table, walk over to Copper Fox distillery and take a tour to see their special approach to making whiskey, purchase the 2 liter barrel kit and age some for yourself and a bottle of either whiskey or gin for immediate gratification. Walk over to the River District Arts building and purchase from the artists in residence or from the local artists they have in their store area. Grab lunch at El Quijote and try a different tapas item on the menu. Walk up the street to the Heritage Hollow Farm Store and purchase some grillable meat (chicken, pork, beef or lamb) for dinner. Take it back to the Inn at Mt Vernon, let it thaw while you have cocktails made with the Copper Fox spirit and get the Green Egg grill fired up next to the boccie pitch. Grill that beautiful meat and any veges you've brought from your real life, and eat while enjoying the sunset with new friends. Tell them how awesome your dinner & lunch at El Quijote was! Sleep better than you have in months.
Sunday: repeat the breakfast you had saturday morning. Chill or take a hike around the Mt Vernon farm, or on one of the nearby trails into the SNP. Visit Haley fine arts gallery in downtown Sperryville - very cool art in there! Delay your drive back to the big city by stopping into El Quijote for a drink and a tapas or two. Head back to the big city, and smile as you hit 66 East and some douche-bag cuts you off, because you just had a great weekend.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Walter Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst,Ma
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“tapas nearby”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

Great waitstaff.Good food! Fun atmosphere.Paella was excellent as was my beet salad. Other dishes were good to excellent.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank slowtraveler9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington dc
Level Contributor
60 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great new restaurant in Rappaphannock County VA”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014

This is a new and quite excellent Spanish tapas restaurant in booming Rappahannock County VA. The chef is from Spain and really knows his ingredients, many of which, our waiter informed us, come all the way from that country, including the divine mussels which are from Galacia. We stuck with the tapas part of the menu which is quite varied with both hot and cold dishes but there are also many full meals from the large menu selection. We chose 5 tapas [the mussels, marinated shrimp, fried goat cheese balls, a delicious potato salad with olive and asparagus wrapped with smoked salmon]. Desserts required discipline - we had the milles feuilles with strawberries and cream which, though a large portion, was very light.

Service could be a bit more polished [they need to figure out the plate issue - when to bring a fresh one, when to removed used ones, etc -] but this is a young new restaurant and the kinks will get worked out.

Highly recommend!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank addy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Quijote! also viewed

Sperryville, Rappahannock County
Sperryville, Rappahannock County
 
Sperryville, Rappahannock County
Sperryville, Rappahannock County
 
Sperryville, Rappahannock County
Sperryville, Rappahannock County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing