We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic service and care!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sperryville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hopkins Ordinary Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 6 Sperryville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 7, 2010

Sherri and Kevin go above and beyond in helping you enjoy your stay. They gave us excellent recommendations on restaurants, wineries and hikes and just generally took great care of us. Making reservations, directions and maps, you name it. Breakfast was always great, as well. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tsvaughn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (386)
There are newer reviews for Hopkins Ordinary Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

343 - 349 of 386 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2010

It's obvious from the moment you walk in that Hopkins Ordinary is a labor of love in the best possible way. The details are all just right. Kevin and Sherri are friendly and easy-going, incredibly helpful and interesting to talk to without ever "hovering." Little surprises - gourmet home-made cookies, fresh-made mint ice cream, sprigs of fresh herbs tucked in the napkin rings - complement a lovely house with spotless, comfortable, well-appointed rooms and beautiful wrap-around porches upstairs and down.

Kevin and Sherri grow a remarkable amount of fruit, vegetables, and herbs in their walking-friendly garden behind the house, and they find inventive ways to integrate them into the food. Our breakfast the first morning included three different slices of frittata, incorporating zucchini, basil, leeks, potatoes, goat cheese, and swiss chard. (On top of everything else, the presentation was lovely too.) There is a booming local food movement in this region of Virginia, and Kevin and Sherri are clearly both interested and involved in it.

Within 400 yards of the inn are a well-stocked country store that includes gourmet food and a large wine and beer selection, a casual but nicely done restaurant, a local pizzeria, several art, pottery, and antiques galleries, a no-frills-just-pig barbeque joint, and a knitting store. Tucked just a slightly farther (but still walkable) distance away is the Copper Fox distillery, a family-run whiskey-making operation where you can take a close-up tour of the facilities led by the founder or his mother.

All this, plus Sperryville is one of the most convenient locations imaginable for accessing hikes in the Shenandoah National Forest or hopping onto Skyline Drive. Kevin and Sherri gave us plenty of information on their favorite sites and supplied us with maps and driving directions.

Activities aside, our main goal in spending the weekend at Hopkins Ordinary was just to relax, and we weren't disappointed. The porch just outside our upstairs room had rocking chairs and a nearly constant breeze. The living room downstairs was stocked with an array of perfect browsing magazines, and the porch swing on the downstairs porch was irresistible.

The only cautionary note I would include would be for the very light sleeper or very sound-sensitive visitor. Hopkins Ordinary, like all of the buildings in downtown Sperryville, is set very close to the two-lane road that runs through the town. It's not an overly busy road, but neither is it deserted, and it is a route for motorcycles touring the Shenandoah. The sound of vehicles as they pass through is noticeable. It didn't detract in any major way from our experience, but it's worth being aware of in advance.

Because our main goal in heading to Sperryville was relaxation, we didn't spend an enormous amount of time exploring the area outside of town. That said, there are numerous places worth visiting in the region, including wineries, other charming small towns, historic sites, and spots for hiking and other outdoor activities, all within easy (and picturesque) driving distance. Kevin and Sherri clearly had lots of well thought-out suggestions for these kinds of day-trips.

If it's not already obvious, we were thoroughly happy with our stay at Hopkins Ordinary and would recommend it without reservation. I'm already thinking about the fall and how much I'd enjoy the fireplaces and cozy atmosphere after a day of watching the leaves change.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taylor256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2010

Wonderful B&B for a weekend or night getaway from the city. I booked the hotel based on tripadvisor recommendations and I wasn't disappointed! The innkeepers are very friendly and the inn is beautifully renovated. We asked for dinner and winery recommendations and were very happy with both.
All in all, wonderful getaway for a couple!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pbarrett82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2010

My husband and I have visited the Hopkins Ordinary B&B four times for wedding anniversaries. We are huge fans of the inn and look forward to continue our tradition of spending our anniversaries there.

The accommodations at Hopkins Ordinary have the feeling of an old country inn, with bright, cheery rooms with antiques and retro fixtures. Make no mistake, though: there is no roughing it at Hopkin's Ordinary. The Inn was completely renovated years ago. While many features, such as the central stair case, were restored to their historic design, the rooms have all the comfort a modern traveler expects. The rooms feel freshly painted, the bathrooms have sparkling porcelein and chrome. The sheets are a luxurious high threadcount. The beds are reproductions of historic bed frames, but are queen sized. Pillow cases ironed. All linens are fresh, clean, new. They've maintained to wood, windows, doorways, sashes so that you feel you've stepped back in time to an era where proprietors knew your names and took the time to talk to you.

All this pales in comparison to the warm, friendly, knowledgeable owners. With their two cats and mellow, beautiful dog, Kevin and Sheri welcome you into their home with a smile and an encyclopedic knowledge of the area with all the connections you'll need to find whatever activities you're interested in, whether it's hiking the Appalaichan Trail or enjoying a massage at a spa.

Most of all, we look forward to the breakfasts at Hopkins Ordinary. If you talk to Kevin and Sherri about the food, you'll learn that most of the food and beverages they serve come from their gardens or nearby farms. Everything is fresh, much of it organic. Off the top of my head I recall: french toast made from bread freshly bake by Sherri, omelettes cooked to order with fresh asparagus and cheese made right there in the inn by Kevin, the best bacon I've ever had in my life, zucchini muffins, scones, fruit salad with seasonal fruits, the Hopkins Ordinary coffee blend from the local coffee roaster, fresh cream... Whether you care about the politics of food or take a completely hedonistic approach to food (or both) you will savor the abundant delights of the season.

It's no accident that every time we visit we leave wishing we could move there and set up our own antiques store, wine and cheese shop, or art gallery and join the close knit, friendly community in Sperryville, VA. We look forward to future visits.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank teejayaich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2010

Top notch in all aspects, Hopkins Ordinary is without a doubt the nicest B&B we've experienced. The rooms are exceptionally clean and very comfortable, the beds are made up with nicest linens and rooms are quiet. The breakfasts are gourmet, filling, and yummy! What gives Hopkins Ordinary the fifth of five stars is the level of personal touch the owners go to to make your stay so pleasant; to name just a few - welcoming you with warm friendly smiles, fresh warm delicious cookies in the lobby, and the inner-circle list of the best places to dine, hike, shop, or wine taste. Their level of attentiveness is without compare! Great place to end your day after playing in the Shenandoah or perfect place to relax to recover from the DC grind. You won't be disappointed!!

Worth noting: Walk across the street for excellent dinning (Thornton River Grill) or great pizza (Rudy's), and last minute food items at the country grocer. Near by pottery shop and coffee roaster just down the road. High speed internet access in the rooms is available but you're there to relax so turn off the lap top and take a walk in the herb and flower garden and enjoy the smell.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rail_Hiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2010

We spent the night here after hiking Old Rag and loved it! We ordered the wine and cheese package and it was a great way to end the day. The owners make homemade bread and cheese and so it was a real treat! The homemade cookies that are available in the afternoon are a real plus too! Our room was cozy and had a nice semi-private porch. The breakfast the next day was delcious. Highly recommended and we will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marathon_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2010

This was our third stay with Kevin and Sherri at Hopkins Ordinary. We had a lovely room (the Thyme Room). Kevin served us a bottle of wine, excellent local cheeses and crackers upon arrival. We enjoyed them on our private balcony. Breakfasts each day were wonderful: they are cooked by Kevin and Sherri. The first day we had cinnamon flavored waffles, the second three types of quiche. Kevin and Sherri were most helpful in the suggestions they made for our hikes and for the local wineries. The room was extremely comfortable and immaculate. We look forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sperryville
13.0 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
994 reviews
12.9 mi away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#3 of 9 in Luray
50 reviews
10.6 mi away
Days Inn Luray Shenandoah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Skyland
Skyland
#1 of 1 in Shenandoah National Park
2,287 reviews
14.6 mi away
Big Meadows Lodge
Big Meadows Lodge
#1 of 8 in Shenandoah National Park
1,146 reviews
12.9 mi away
South Court Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hopkins Ordinary Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hopkins Ordinary Bed & Breakfast

Address: 47 Main St, PO Box 437, Sperryville, VA 22740-2170
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Rappahannock County > Sperryville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Sperryville
Price Range: $130 - $285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hopkins Ordinary Bed and Breakfast is a historic inn located in the Sperryville, Virginia in the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains near Shenandoah National Park. The roooms have fireplaces and porches; a full breakfast focuses on local ingredients and homemade breads. A brewery is in the cellar, and beer is served on site. Several restaurants are within walking distance, and a dozen wineries are within a half-hour drive. Come for a day of hiking, antiquing, visiting art galleries and the local distillery. Then come back to your room, taste the oferings at our brewery and relax. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hopkins Ordinary Hotel Sperryville
Hopkins Ordinary Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing